Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public
Hermitage, TN
Students enrolled: 644
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dupont Tyler Middle School 1

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
The teachers at this school dont care about student safety at all. My son has been picked on all year and nothing has been done at all. Finally these kids that have called him racial names such as white boy and cracker decided to beat him up at school and my son did not fight back and still got suspended. When the children sat in the office they spoke about how they were going to knock my child out and still nothing has been done. Keep your kids away from here i am following up with a lawyer to take legal action since no authority figure can step up and do their job at that school.

Dupont Tyler Middle School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
My son is in his 4th year now, and I have grown very fond of this school. There are some really great teachers there, and the new Principal has really turned things around.


Dupont Tyler Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
The school is like the Military without education. If they would give the children challening work these kids would not have some much idle time to get into trouble.

Dupont Tyler Middle School 1

Posted September 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Dupont Tyler Middle School 4

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
My son is just starting Dupont-Tyler as a fifth grader this year. From what I have seen so far, the school seems pretty nice. He and I are both excited that they offer both a band and orchestra program. His teachers seem to be just the right balance of compassionate, yet firm. Unlike other posts, my son has been bringing home homework pretty much every night (except Wed, which his teacher doesn't give that night). One of his teachers even gave the parents her personal cell phone number to call if any problems or questions. There also seems to be a good deal of parental involvement. They try to offer fun rewards for the students, such as school dances. The building/facilities leave something to be desired, but it is my belief that you can learn anywhere as long as the student is willing to do the work required.


Dupont Tyler Middle School 5

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
My son is in the sixth grade. He has homework, sometimes a lot, sometimes a little. My son is in the band and loves it! The teachers give him a lot of individual help and are great with communication. We are thrilled to be at this school and find everyone to be great!

Dupont Tyler Middle School 2

Posted August 09, 2008
- a parent
My son will be going into 6th grade this year and I have to agree with the other to parents about homework, education..., I do agree that Ms. Cutsinger is wonderful and the few members of the staff that I have met our great too.

Dupont Tyler Middle School 1

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Dupont Tyler Middle School 1

Posted June 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Dupont Tyler Middle School 5

Posted November 16, 2005
- a student
Dupont Tyler has been a great chance for me to get a great education. Our teachers are the best you can get. Right now I am taking 3 highschool credit classes and I have already passed algebra for a highschool credit last year in the 7th grade.Thats how great my teachers are. They help me learn. Thanks to them, I had some of the highest TCAP scores in the state last year. I truley think it is the best school in the McGavock cluster. We have one of the best band progams in the state, which I am also in. I played football last year and this year and i know we have a great athletic program. They also let kids be leaders. I have been on student council since I came to 5th grade. Our school is just wonderful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dupont Tyler Middle School
431 Tyler Dr, Hermitage, TN  37076
(615) 885-8827
Last modified Dupont Tyler Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dupont Tyler Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top