Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hixson High School

Public | 9-12 | 702 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2013

Tardiness and attendance is a great problem for this school . That causing low test scores, disruption of the student that get there on time and somehow it slips through without know one knowing ? I know of one disable student that came up missing was found down the road. In general I think the school would do a lot better cracking down on parents that are always late getting there children to school on time and sticking with the policy on how many days a child allowed to miss school. Creaks in this school not only hurts the child that always late or absent , but teaches them once they left school it okay to be late or not show up for work :therefore causing a higher poverty rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

I think that teenage pregnancy can be a problem at any school! I have one daughter who will be starting her 3rd year at a private university,, the thought of kids is far from her mined, she knows getting pregnant would take her back ten steps from getting education. My son who has been blessed with a full ride to a private university,, who just graduated from Hixson High is determan to get an education before even thinking of staring a family. So what I'm saying is it the schools fault for any poor decision a child makes or does lessons and morals start at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

Please give more info about hixon high school heard there are high rate of teenage pregnancy any update.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

Hixson High provides excellent opportunities for learning for all HHS Students..... from tutoring programs, college seminars to opportunities for parental involvement.... HHS has it all! We have a freshman this year and have been impressed with the amount of communication from all teachers as well as being welcomed to come into the school. Love the opportunity to form educational partnerships that will help my child succeed! AWESOME SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Hixson has been a very positive experience for my son. I love the teachers and staff, communication is excellent, and they are always there when you need them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Great school. Excellent principals, teachers, and staff. The sports programs are improving every year also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

Poor. The principal Ms. Couch is bias and unfair to the students. She does not support her assistance pricipal's decisions and often makes comments to students about other students. Not a professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

It has an excellent faculty, high standards and happens to be the best high school in my area.


Posted September 16, 2009

Well for one I am a graduate of Hixson High School, and I have always admired the high values that are upheld by this school. Its staff, Teachers, and Student body Take a lot of pride in their school and many Area businessmen have come from Hixson High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

My Granddaughter just completed her Freshman year.It was a pleasure knowing her saftey was so important, as well her needs in education.She seemed to thrive this year. Thank you for this.


Posted June 10, 2009

Greatly improved administration and teacher commitment provide those students desiring a quality education, a great place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

Mrs. Couch is a strongh leader who now is supported by three new assistant principals. Consistency of leadership should help Hixson High befome stronger as the year goes by. There are many good programs, activities, students, along with parental support. Each student must be responsible for getting the best from their school. I believe that if a parent has a concern, Mrs. Couch or one of the assistants will hear their concerns and try to assist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

Hixson High is welcoming three new assistant principals and I am excited to see the problem kids deterred to other schools! Yea! Hixson is a great school. As all schools some instructors care more about students' grades than others as well as students. The students need to be proactive in striving for their best future and I believe the teachers and administrators play a large part in this. I am on the PTA committee and I am excited to see the changes taking place and we have much more in store to get more parents and students involved in their learning process! Hixson Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

Poor leadership & communication with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
28%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
18%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
58%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
53%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
26%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students51%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
White54%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students23%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Hispanic9%
White29%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students50%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students58%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students51%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students43%
African American25%
Asian42%
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Hispanic77%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 67%
Black 31% 24%
Asian 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5705 Middle Valley Rd
Hixson, TN 37343
Phone: (423) 847-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Berean Academy
Hixson, TN




Ivy Academy
Soddy Daisy, TN


Red Bank High School
Chattanooga, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT