Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Marys School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jackson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

My wife and I are so blessed that St. Mary's continues the strong educational heritage of the Catholic church. As parents of two current students, we have found St. Mary's to be an open, friendly, engaging and wholly professional school with excellent teachers, staff, facilities and curriculum. We look forward to many great years at St. Mary's and plan on enrolling our youngest there soon. Thank you St. Mary's for all you do to educate our children, body, mind and spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

This is a great school. The new principal provides a loving environment for the children and does not tolerate misbehavior. It is a privilege to attend St. Mary's not a right, and several children have been removed for inappropriate behavior as a means to live up to their mission of providing a loving, learning enviroment filled with Christ's love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

St. Mary's continues to be the best choice for the education of our child. Our child is challenged to perform at the highest level while being embraced and made to feel special and proud of the association with SMS. On the occassions where there is an opportunity to compare the level of education with those attending public schools, we have found that our child exceeds in all academic subjects and is also exposed to proper behavior and moral judgments. We strongly believe in SMS and would recommend this school and its staff to anyone who is considering private school for their child. We have always found the administrators, teachers and staff to be very approachable and invested in doing the best for the student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

St Mary's School puts the children first. The academics are excellent. The sisters provide a Christ centered education in cooperation with the church and the priests. I highly recommend this school. I have two children there and would not send them anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

St. Mary's academics are far below that of other perocial/private schools. The tuition is relativley low but you get what you pay for. We moved out of town and my daughter now attends a very good Catholic school that honestly makes St. Mary's appear to be day care. I have heard similar comments from other families that have moved also. Some of the kids are very mean and this is allowed by the principal/staff. At her current school this is not tolerated. The after school care is terrible. Some terrible occurences were swept under the rug as mentioned by another rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Both of my children have attended St. Mary's School for the last 7 years. We have had nothing but positive experiences with teachers, academics, and extra-curricular activities. Both my children love going to school each day and, in my opinion, that says alot! We highly recommend St. Mary's to anyone wanting an excellent, Christian based school with a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I attended St. Mary's for nine years and am now a senior at a Catholic university. St. Mary's gave me the foundation I need to succeed with my higher education. I learned everything from excellent study habits to how to be a good Christian. I stop by to visit my favorite teachers whenever I'm home, and I plan on sending my children there when they come along.


Posted September 18, 2009

My daughter loves St. Mary's. I notice she is more looking forward to going to school and she is very involved with extra cirrcular activities with this school. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I totally agree with the first comment here. Bullying is not addressed by the principal. I removed my daughter from the school after being told by the principal that if i could not accept that my child should 'deal' with the everyday harassment that i should find another school. The principal told my child that if she complained again that she would be kicked out of the school. By placing your child here you may risk dealing with the bullying on your own. I do not recommend this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

St. Mary's has been our school for the past 7 years. Our children love the school and are very happy there. We have recommended the school to many of our friends. St. Marys is the best kept secret in Jackson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

St. Mary's is an excellent school. I have two children attending St. Mary's and one that can't wait to start. We feel like St. Mary's is our second home. The principal and vice principal are always willing to listen and have outstanding leadership skills and are constantly striving to improve our school. The teachers are outstanding. The children are courteous and respectfull. I can't think of any other place I would want to send my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

Highly recommend. They have great teachers and my daughter got a great education. I love that they learned more about God and went to church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Not enough teaching and guidance. Too much teacher/ parent favoritism. Bullying is not addressed by Principal. Problem students are not dealt with appropriately. Parental involvement is only ACCEPTED, by a select few.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 69%
Hispanic 10% 5%
Black 8% 25%
Asian 6% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Memphis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1665 Hwy 45 By Pass
Jackson, TN 38305
Phone: (731) 668-2525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT