Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Academic Magnet High School

Public | 9-12 | 471 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

I am a student at Madison Academic Magnet High School. I have a 4.0 GPA and passing all of my classes with A's. in my opinion I don't think the school is all that great because some teachers are biased and they show favoritism. They seem to not care as much. The work is not as hard as people think or say it is. We do just as much as any other school in Jackson, Tennessee. Some students are rude and they judged you for no reason. the atmosphere is not that great and they always think that the school is the best of the best when it really isn't. I won't say that it is just terrible because I really do believe that I have had some good times and I hope to have more. I just feel like if makes some improvements it will be an incredible school but for now it's just AVERAGE.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2013

Madison academic has pushed my child to reach her highest potential, it has a small home feel, each student is made to feel noticed and important. It has high goals and standards. I would not want my child anywhere but Madison. I have the greatest respect for Janice Epperson as their leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

I am a junior at Madison and i love it! It is tuff and will cause you to put in a lot of hours for studying but in the end it is worth it! It gets you college ready but it isn't for everyone. I do believe, no matter what anyone else says, this school is great and anyone would be grateful for being able to experience it! Everyone is nice and respectable! I will miss the people, teachers, and the school its self when I graduate!


Posted October 5, 2012

this school made college easy for me with all the challenging and time consuming work
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2010

I graduated from Madison in 2007. I was there for the first 4 years of its existence. From the start, Madison has been a success. I was challenged academically, and the teachers made the subjects enjoyable. For example, I loved biology and chemistry in high school yet disliked it in college. I honestly believe that my high school teachers' passion is what made the classes enjoyable. I am so happy to have had the school experience that Madison offered. The school is small (about 400-500 students), and the faculty is wonderful!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2010

First of all, a CP class at a public school in Tennessee should not weight a student's GPA at all. There AP classes are a joke and there are not many of them. Actually the teachers don't really care either. This school is not and should not be considered a good school for college prep. i have been to MUCH better schools in Jackson, Tennessee.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2009

In response to the previous post...Yes! We moved here from North Carolina when our girls were in elementary school, and found that we had to homeschool. They later went to private school, and that was also lacking academically. Both of them graduated from Madison Academic, and they enjoyed their time there, but they received all A's with very little effort. It is the best in west TN, but you are correct, many other states are far more advanced, but in academics and in the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

Although the school offers advanced academics it doesn't compared in AP offerings in other states. There are only 6 AP classes even offered! The graduation requirements are weak compared to the rest of the US. The school is good in Tenn but mediocre in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Madison is a great school and it will prepare you to be elite and above average in college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2008

I've had two daughters graduate from Madison. We were very thankful when this Magnet School opened and we were able to leave the private school tuition behind. Arts and academics are strong, and the discipline and student's respect for teachers and each other are mojor reasons to attend Madison. It is a small school community in which they all know each other. Students work to do well, and there are virtually no discipline problems, so the teachers can teach and enjoy the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

Having attended both private and public schools in Madison County, I can safely say that Madison Academic ranks far above any other school in the area. The faculty are extremely knowledgeable and supportive, and the administration is the most involved I have ever seen; Mr. Allen, the principal, is present at almost every school event. As a student, the social atmosphere was refreshing; there were minimal social pressures because the students respect each other's talents and are very accepting. The sports teams and fine arts programs are top-notch state contenders every year, not to mention the multi-national champion Academic Decathlon team. This school is an extremely special place that is guaranteed to sufficiently prepare each student for the college curriculum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

Horrible superintendent but the greatest school in the Jackson Madison County School system by far.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2008

I have successfully earned a full scholarship to Harvard after attending Madison for 3 years. I believe this is an exceptional school. No pressures, no hardships. The teachers are amazing as well as the students. This is deffinetly the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

I have one daughter who has graduated from Madison and another one who is a Freshman this year. They both love this school and we are so happy they have the opportunity to attend there. The academics are wonderful and so are all the teachers. There is not a better school in Jackson. My younger daughter is doing well in her first year of highschool. No social pressures just great kids to be around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

Great school, I was exceptionally prepared for college after attending Madison for it's first three years of existance
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
76%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
75%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students93%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students95%
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students92%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students93%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
African American88%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students88%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 67%
Black 37% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

179 Allen Av
Jackson, TN 38301
Phone: (731) 427-3501

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT