Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Madison Academic Magnet High School 3

Posted October 17, 2013
- a student
I am a student at Madison Academic Magnet High School. I have a 4.0 GPA and passing all of my classes with A's. in my opinion I don't think the school is all that great because some teachers are biased and they show favoritism. They seem to not care as much. The work is not as hard as people think or say it is. We do just as much as any other school in Jackson, Tennessee. Some students are rude and they judged you for no reason. the atmosphere is not that great and they always think that the school is the best of the best when it really isn't. I won't say that it is just terrible because I really do believe that I have had some good times and I hope to have more. I just feel like if makes some improvements it will be an incredible school but for now it's just AVERAGE.

Madison Academic Magnet High School 4

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Madison academic has pushed my child to reach her highest potential, it has a small home feel, each student is made to feel noticed and important. It has high goals and standards. I would not want my child anywhere but Madison. I have the greatest respect for Janice Epperson as their leader.


Madison Academic Magnet High School 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a community member
I am a junior at Madison and i love it! It is tuff and will cause you to put in a lot of hours for studying but in the end it is worth it! It gets you college ready but it isn't for everyone. I do believe, no matter what anyone else says, this school is great and anyone would be grateful for being able to experience it! Everyone is nice and respectable! I will miss the people, teachers, and the school its self when I graduate!

Madison Academic Magnet High School 5

Posted October 05, 2012
- a student
this school made college easy for me with all the challenging and time consuming work

Madison Academic Magnet High School 5

Posted November 30, 2010
- a student
I graduated from Madison in 2007. I was there for the first 4 years of its existence. From the start, Madison has been a success. I was challenged academically, and the teachers made the subjects enjoyable. For example, I loved biology and chemistry in high school yet disliked it in college. I honestly believe that my high school teachers' passion is what made the classes enjoyable. I am so happy to have had the school experience that Madison offered. The school is small (about 400-500 students), and the faculty is wonderful!


Madison Academic Magnet High School 5

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Madison Academic Magnet High School 2

Posted February 01, 2010
- a student
First of all, a CP class at a public school in Tennessee should not weight a student's GPA at all. There AP classes are a joke and there are not many of them. Actually the teachers don't really care either. This school is not and should not be considered a good school for college prep. i have been to MUCH better schools in Jackson, Tennessee.

Madison Academic Magnet High School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Madison Academic Magnet High School 0
no rating

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
In response to the previous post...Yes! We moved here from North Carolina when our girls were in elementary school, and found that we had to homeschool. They later went to private school, and that was also lacking academically. Both of them graduated from Madison Academic, and they enjoyed their time there, but they received all A's with very little effort. It is the best in west TN, but you are correct, many other states are far more advanced, but in academics and in the arts.

Madison Academic Magnet High School 3

Posted June 23, 2009
- a parent
Although the school offers advanced academics it doesn't compared in AP offerings in other states. There are only 6 AP classes even offered! The graduation requirements are weak compared to the rest of the US. The school is good in Tenn but mediocre in the nation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madison Academic Magnet High School
179 Allen Av, Jackson, TN  38301
(731) 427-3501
Last modified Madison Academic Magnet High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Madison Academic Magnet High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top