Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jasper Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

I have a child in the first grade who is struggling with reading and there is only so much I can do at home because I work full time. Many of the parents seem to be frustrated. My child is struggling and there just don't seem to be any resources available to help him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

The worst rated school in the valley,and for very good reason.The princapal will not even hear concerns from parents about short comings of staff.Lots of parents i have talked to feel the same way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2010

This school is excellent. The teachers and principal really try to improve the education of the students. They go above and beyond what is expected of a school. I am so glad that my children can go to this public school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

We moved here from another school in the county and we do not care for this school. The principal has not been helpful in making my daughter comfortable in her changed environment. He put her with a teacher who is not kid fiendly and not organized. We are very diappointed and saddened by our change in schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I have had two students attend JES and one that is currently attending. I must say that all of the teachers that I have dealt with were all very professional, friendly and seemed to care about my children. I feel like my children should be proud of their education from JES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

JES is a wonderful school....my daughter loves it. She looks forward to going to school everyday. I'm glad that she goes to a school that encourages all of the students to be the best that they can be everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2006

Jasper Elementary provides a quality education for the students. The school encourages parental involvement which is vital to a students education. JES has an excellent enrichment program for the students. They get to enjoy going to art, music, gym, guidance, and library throughout the week. Overall, the school excellent due to the great leadership of the principals and the quality of the teachers! I am glad my children attend such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

I enjoy my daughter(Kindergarten) being at JES. The faculty and staff are very helpful and energetic. They each search for new ways to keep the children interested. They try their best to focus one on one with each child under their supervision. The only problem I see is the lack of extracarricular activities for afterschool, i.e. reading tutors, math tudors, etc. Overall though this is a school with many academic achievments and overall satisfaction for students and parents alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Black 4% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

495 Warrior Dr
Jasper, TN 37347
Phone: (423) 942-2110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Valley of Praise Church
South Pittsburg, TN



Richard Hardy Memorial School
South Pittsburg, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT