Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Johnson City, TN

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Providence Academy 2

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended Providence Academy for several years. I have know of a bullying incident where the school turned their heads and pretended nothing was going on. The administration doesn't live in reality neither do the teachers. They also allow parents on campus ALL day every day distracting from the children learning. The students are also treated like small toddlers. There are not many opportunities for your child if you want them to play sports. It's my experience that some administration in the school are hypocrites. They allow some students to show up late to school every day without receiving a tardy slip and others receive slips, depending on who your parents are and how much money they donate to the school. It's no wonder their graduating class is less than 15 students. The children have homework on the weekends in Kindergarten and 4-5 hours of homework in middle school. I won't even mention how many hours a night we spend on homework in high-school. If you want your child to grow not only spiritually but SOCIALLY, CREATIVELY, & have a sense of 'the real world' when they graduate, send them to the Johnson City School System. Believe me, they will be better off!

Providence Academy 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a community member
If you are seeking a strong Christian foundation as well as superior college preparatory academics in a school, look no further than Providence Academy. After spending all of middle and high school as a student here, I can most certainly say that Providence stands out among all other schools, both public and private. With a focus on Classical Education, Providence teaches students how to think critically, rather than what to think, and provides a thorough background for logic and rhetoric skills that any successful intellectual must possess. Providence's most important advantage, however, is its commitment towards providing students a quality education in Christian doctrine, theology, and principle. A school full of God-fearing faculty dedicated to their students, Providence will provide a willing learner with all the necessary tools for a success, both spiritually and intellectually. I cannot express enough how much this school has done for me and my classmates in helping us grow and mature as youth should, not distracted by the petty, fleeting things of this world, but focused on what God's greater plan is for His children.


Providence Academy 3

Posted May 23, 2013
- a community member
Providence Academy is a great Christian school. They really incorporate Biblical lessons all throughout the classes. So I appreciate PA for that, but their are downsides. At PA the teachers have much trouble controlling the class. The students are very rowdy and EXTREMELY rude and mean to one another. The students treat each other like siblings, I guess you could say. Their is much bullying which there is no punishment for. The kids are always yelling and talking when the teachers are trying to teach, so it's hard to learn. No punishment is dealt for anything, which is a giant problem. Also, there is so much homework it's absolutely horrifying (hours of HW and studying per night). PA is a very hard school to make good grades at. The kids are either making all A's or literally failing. PA teaches through a classical education which includes grammar, logic, and rhetoric. This involves memorizing speeches, Bible verses, writing debates, and reports constantly. Basically, PA is just for a certain type of people. SOO GOOD THINGS: Biblical School Small school (no drugs!) BAD THINGS: Bullying No Punishment Lots of HW Disruptive Classmates

Providence Academy 5

Posted September 07, 2010
- a parent
Providence Academy is a super school with superb leadership! Students receive an a top-notch education.

Providence Academy 3

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
Providence Academy has some phenomenal teachers. That is the strong point of this school. Their art and music programs are tops. They do have a lot of cliques, and do not deal with bullying. The new elementary principal lacks a discerning spirit, and is out of touch with the problems of lewd behavior and constant bullying in the 5th grade. The children at this school are not being prepared for the world, and will have much difficulty when the world shows it's ugly head. The enrollment is dropping, and I don't believe it is all economically driven. PA needs to take a good hard look at itself. My 5th grader, a sensitive, kind and good boy will not return. I can get bullying, cliques and lack of language programs in public school for free.


Providence Academy 4

Posted May 09, 2010
- a student
Please understand when sending your student to Providence Academy, PA will either strengthen you and drive you academically and spiritually or it will push you away. In all my years here, I have seen some class sizes double and some decline by half, I have seen brotherhood and friendship and I have seen separation and cliques, I have seen students grow and teachers reach out, and I have seen poor judgment calls and hypocrisy. Some students thrive here, and some resent it. What I think is very important is that the child has a choice in being there. Please consult your child before sending them to a place like this. It absolutely undebatedly provides them with an excellent education, and it DOES provide very scientific research for it's belief system and it does teach both sides--but I have noticed the forced students struggle intensely. Please present choices fairly.

Providence Academy 2

Posted December 26, 2009
- a parent
This school does not teach a standard science curriculum. If you wish to have you child to have a medieval education that focuses on the bible as science then this is your school. If you wish to have your child taught the fundamentals of science inquiry including BIOLOGY then run the opposite way. This is home-schooling at best.

Providence Academy 5

Posted July 30, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school that teaches children how to think instead of what to think...


Providence Academy 5

Posted June 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Providence Academy 4

Posted March 21, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Providence Academy
2788 Carroll Creek Road, Johnson City, TN  37615
(423) 854-9819
Last modified Providence Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Providence Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top