Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Trail Middle School

Public | 6-7 | 1139 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2012

We are not impressed with this school. It is ok if you are athletic but administration refuses to deal with the constant and unrelenting bullying. I am afraid for my son's well being. We are very sorry we moved here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

I am a parent of a child attending this school. I was disappointed by the strict goverence, boot camp atmosphere. They may excel at academics in some areas, but, not all children are at the level of their expectations. Hugely disappointed. On another note the campus is lovely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I am a former student of ITMS and I absolutly loved it. I was exceling in all subjects in both of my years there. There is a teacher in my mind that is the best teacher in the entire world. Her name is Mrs. Redman-Gray. I enjoyed my sixth grade year with her so much! Go Mustang and Bobcat hall!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

ITMS is the top rated middle school in the state of TN. It has a large number of excellent programs, in particular its music programs are outstanding. Susan Lambert, the orchestra instructor for ITMS and Science Hill High School, is very gifted and her students win national orchestra competitions. ITMSstudents score highly on TCAPs, win math bowls, etc, all of which reflect the quality of education they receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

indian trail is the best school EVER! i would totally reccommend this school to any middle schooler. 10 stars
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

Being a former student of Indian Trail, I have come to find that it is lacking in programs for gifted children. I now go to Happy Valley High School, a Carter County School, and surprisingly, my mom and I found out that it has a better gifted program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2008

i think this is a niece scool and has lots to over but they are very rude in some cases.the school overs lots of good courses.and have good teachers buti think some of the counslers do things they should let parents know about before they do it but in all they are a cool school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

The administration is very unfair and rude to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

Being a family of 5 with 3 school age children, I have to focus more on helping my youngest still in elementary school. I was concerned how I would be able to help my son who entered Indian Trail middle school last year. After the first few weeks of school my concerns went away. He quickly got into the routine and stayed on honor roll all year long. His teachers made him proud of how well he was doing and he kept going to prove to himself he could do it. All of the teachers are very encouraging and quick to hand out praises. I look forward to sending my younger children to Indian Trail when they become of age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

Indian Trail is a wonderful school. We moved to Johnson City from New Jersey and I was nervous about sending my son to middle school. This school has helped my son excel in all of his subjects. He was failing in Jersey and he has improved so much. The teachers really care and there is zero tolerance for failure. My son is so happy here and he looks forward in going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

I was nervous also about my son attending Middle School. However, he has flourished in this schools environment. He has never been happier about school. He likes that the staff treats the students as young adults instead of children constantly needing correction and supervision. The academic programs are Fantastic. I am dissappointed however in the lack of orgaqnized sports for the 6th graders. No team sports what so ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2005

As a parent, I was nervous about sending my child to such a LARGE school. My fears proved to be unwarranted. WOW....what control! Each hall is extremely well monitored. Students are not allowed to roam to other halls unnecessarily. The teachers and principals are awesome. Mr. Duty knows each child's name right away....unbeliveable! As a teacher in another system, I was very pleased with how well the curriculum is followed and the teamwork between teachers. I would absolutely recommend this school to anyone considering moving to this area with their sixth/seventh grader!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

I am a former student of itms. The school has a great staff. they establish fun games to help the learning of student as well as giving one-on-one time to who needs it. No school that i have ever been to has compared with this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 1, 2004

Indian Trail has been really fun. The teachers and students there are such a variety. We do so many fun things while learning. I really enjoyed the independence and responsibilty we are given. As a student we can travel around the campus with out a teacher as long as we have a hall pass and we have the responsibility to be at our classes on time. ITMS has prepared me very well for highschool next year at SHHS.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

562 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

562 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

561 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

561 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
African American61%
Asian93%
Hispanic51%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students74%
African American61%
Asian80%
Hispanic56%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African American70%
Asian80%
Hispanic51%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American92%
Asian93%
Hispanic95%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 67%
Black 11% 23%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

307 Car Mol Dr
Johnson City, TN 37601
Phone: (423) 610-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Providence Academy
Johnson City, TN


St Mary School
Johnson City, TN


Ashley Academy
Johnson City, TN


Science Hill High School
Johnson City, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT