Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 552 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2012

Great school, wonderful teachers and staff who genuinely care about your child. Highly recommended school.


Posted September 1, 2008

I found the facilty very nice and the staff friendly. The level of education being taught to the children does not compete with other states. I was very shocked when we left and moved to Georgia how behind Lake Ridge was . I was told my children where at level . One of children is a year behind . I was never told there was any problems . I do not recommend Lake Ridge at all !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

Great school! I have two children in the multiage program and my wife and I (and both kids) adore all the teachers. They really view teaching as a calling, not just a job. The principal is very friendly and professional. My company wanted me to move to another city and I turned the promotion down in part because we wanted to keep our kids at Lake Ridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

I want to say thank you to mr. Phillips and his wonderfully staffed school. My children will be leaving lrs this year and it will be hard for the next elementary to compare. The faculty and the pta are an awesome blend of talented and caring individuals, that we will miss. If you have the opportunity for your children to attend this school, you will be pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

John Phillips is a caring and dedicated principal. The K/1/2 multiage program is truly excellent - each child is individually assessed for his skill level in each subject and placed accordingly. Our experience with both our children there has been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2005

I believe Lakeridge is a wonderful school. When my son first started i was worried that because it was in such a fancy neighborhood that the other kids would treat my son diffrently because we don't have as much money but they never have! They treated him just as all the other kids he has many great teachers and friends at lakeridge any child would be fortunate to go there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2004

My son attends Lake Ridge Elementary which is a fantastic school. The teachers and staff are giving, caring, nurturing and foremost dedicated to providing the children with a quality education. The school provides just the right mixture of collaboration enabling the students, parents, and community to benefit from a total educational experience. We are thrilled to have our son in this school and when time time comes will welcome having our daughter attend as well. We couldn't conceive of having our children attend another school. Thank you to all the teachers in this school who care about children and strive to insure our children grow into academically strong life-long learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

My son transfer to this school a week after school started I was worried about his adjustment since he had been at his previous school for pre-k and kindergarden. Moving him was the best thing we ever did Lake Ridge class room has challenged my son and hasd really pushed him in the direction that I feel he is capable of going, thank you Ms. Bryant, Ms Gurly, and all the teacher who work with my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Black 4% 23%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Lake Ridge Square
Johnson City, TN 37601
Phone: (423) 610-6030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Mary School
Johnson City, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT