Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherokee Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2011

I was also a single parent at this school. We supported the school as much as any other. They would have places like mcdonald's for raising money. When i went to them the principal would walk around and talk to everyone but single parents and my daughter won a lunch with her. You would think she could of noticed her. Her third grade teacher had told me that all she had to do was standard learning and there were other kids that needed to be brought up to speed while my daughter got no education. I switched to woodland and they are excellent with my daughter and they push her to do more than standard..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Wonderful principal, wonderful teachers and the best PTA around!! We have loved Cherokee! I am a high school teacher myself and I am very happy that we have gotten the opportunity to be at Cherokee. It is one great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

I love the family atmosphere and the willingness to always support each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Cherokee has awesome, caring, dedicated teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

The staff goes out of their way to make school fun as well as safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Atompshere it gives my children to learn in
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

Similar to other comments that have been posted I feel the principal and other staff members at Cherokee have no clue on how to create an environment that focuses on learning. I would recommend any parent to skip this school and look elsewhere because of the principal. I am glad to move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I was told this school was great, and being in JC you would think so. It's not, It's a joke. My daughter was months ahead when she came here and was never ever anything but bored,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

I also am a single parent with children at Cherokee Elementary School and I too feel that if you are a single parent with children you are automatically singled out. I have two children there and I feel that it depends on the teacher as well as their perspective of different cultures. My daughter has had two wonderful teachers and my son had a great teacher last year. However, this year his teacher hasn't been that great and I feel degraded because my child is biracial and I raise my children alone. I have been referred to by the counselors at Cherokee. I feel that my children can't be children without being singled out. My children have a right to happiness and well-being without feeling secluded and degraded. Hopefully next year he will get a teacher with compassion and nurturing skills who doesn't differentiate. My children deserve to be individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have had my child at Cherokee since Kindergarten. I hate to rate it an average as I have had some wonderful experiences with teachers and my son has learned so much from them. My problem is with the principal as well as some of the administrative and teaching staff. Several of the teacherswho have been there for a long time act as though teaching is a chore instead of the privelage that it is. I have also found that with the principal and administrative staff, if you are a single parent you are treated with much less respect than those in traditional families. Again, many of the teachers he has had (especially K, 3rd, & 4th grade) are unmatched in their love for children and their excellence in teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Cherokee Elementary has been an excellent experience for my son Jonathan. We are fortunate to have a school where ALL the administration cares so much about each and every child. My entire family is thankfull for every faculty member at Cherokee Elementary. We definitely know that Jonathan can be a challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

Cherokee Elementary is a wonderful school. We have been so fortunate for our daughter, Lindsey, to be able to attend a school where the teachers and principal care so much for the kids! Thank you Mr. Tolley! - Laura Wheeler
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

I am so grateful that my child is able to attend Cherokee Elementary, and I simple adore Mr. Tolley. My child was a new student, and started attending Cherokee part way through the year. All of my worries as a parent were quickly put to rest as soon as I met Mr. Tolley (the Principal) and the staff. Mr. Tolley is out front every morning greeting every student..and knows them all by name. He is out front every afternoon directing traffic, whether rain or shine or snow. He is so involved with the students as well as the parents. I have never known a more dedicated Principal. I honestly believe he and the entire staff truely love their jobs. My son is so happy and doing so well adjusting to a new school...what more could a parent want...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2003

all kids at this school love their principal Mr. Tolley. the school provides a family atmosphere and encourages parent interaction both in and out of the classroom. pta is very committed to the school and does several fund raisers each year. all teachers are wonderful and welcome any parent to drop in at any time. all students respect one another.Mr. Tolley is out front most every morning welcoming the students for the day and is in the lobby most afternoons to tell them by. His father just recently passed away and he was at school the next morning and I asked the secretary why he was there and she stated that he just wanted to be with his kids for a while that morning. He and teachers come to watch their kids play ball in the Parks and Rec leauges on a regular basis. This is why all parents and kids love this school so mutch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

Cherokee School is simply a gift from God, This school is more like aa family. The teachers, and Mr. Tolly are so wonderful! I will sing their praises forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 67%
Hispanic 13% 7%
Black 3% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 434-5591

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 Cherokee Rd
Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone: (423) 434-5281

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ashley Academy
Johnson City, TN


Central Baptist Church
Johnson City, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT