Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cherokee Elementary School 1

Posted April 29, 2011
- a parent
I was also a single parent at this school. We supported the school as much as any other. They would have places like mcdonald's for raising money. When i went to them the principal would walk around and talk to everyone but single parents and my daughter won a lunch with her. You would think she could of noticed her. Her third grade teacher had told me that all she had to do was standard learning and there were other kids that needed to be brought up to speed while my daughter got no education. I switched to woodland and they are excellent with my daughter and they push her to do more than standard..

Cherokee Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful principal, wonderful teachers and the best PTA around!! We have loved Cherokee! I am a high school teacher myself and I am very happy that we have gotten the opportunity to be at Cherokee. It is one great school.


Cherokee Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2010
- a parent
I love the family atmosphere and the willingness to always support each other.

Cherokee Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
Cherokee has awesome, caring, dedicated teachers and staff!

Cherokee Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
The staff goes out of their way to make school fun as well as safe.


Cherokee Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Atompshere it gives my children to learn in

Cherokee Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
Similar to other comments that have been posted I feel the principal and other staff members at Cherokee have no clue on how to create an environment that focuses on learning. I would recommend any parent to skip this school and look elsewhere because of the principal. I am glad to move on.

Cherokee Elementary School 3

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
I was told this school was great, and being in JC you would think so. It's not, It's a joke. My daughter was months ahead when she came here and was never ever anything but bored,


Cherokee Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 21, 2010
- a parent
I also am a single parent with children at Cherokee Elementary School and I too feel that if you are a single parent with children you are automatically singled out. I have two children there and I feel that it depends on the teacher as well as their perspective of different cultures. My daughter has had two wonderful teachers and my son had a great teacher last year. However, this year his teacher hasn't been that great and I feel degraded because my child is biracial and I raise my children alone. I have been referred to by the counselors at Cherokee. I feel that my children can't be children without being singled out. My children have a right to happiness and well-being without feeling secluded and degraded. Hopefully next year he will get a teacher with compassion and nurturing skills who doesn't differentiate. My children deserve to be individuals.

Cherokee Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cherokee Elementary School
2100 Cherokee Rd, Johnson City, TN  37604
(423) 434-5281
Last modified Cherokee Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cherokee Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top