Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miller Perry Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 476 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

My son is in the second grade at Miller Perry and has excelled with each passing year. I find his teachers to be supportive, attentive to their student s needs and the curriculum to be exceptional. I do wish, however, that they would return the report cards to the traditional A, B, C, D, F s grading method. This is much more informative as to one s child s progress, as well as aiding the parent as to where the child needs improvement as far as subject. I work with my child every day, writing out homework for him as well that goes beyond what is being studied in the class at present time. Otherwise I have been quite pleased with his experience with the school and thank the teachers for their continual efforts in providing the best educational environment as possible for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

Miller Perry is great school. Very friendly all around and are always their for the students if needed. Very happy I chose this school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

Miller Perry Very disappointed with web pages.Some teachers have a great one. Some have the same one all year! It would be very helpful for parents and grandparents with broken families.We have missed a number of events because of this. I am trying to see if their is a Valentine Party. Nothing about time or day! My big problem is knowing what is going on each week in the classroom.


Posted January 24, 2011

My sons have gone to Miller Perry for 3 years now and they love it! My husband and I do as well. The teachers are wonderful. It's obvious they love the kids. They offer some really neat programs, including All Pro Dads, and Parent's Night In. It's also a great school academically. We looked at area schools, purposely moved where we did specifically for this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

Let me tell you something. If you have a child at this school and you DO happen to have a problem with one of the teachers look out ! Dr. Gene Johnson was a wonderful principal and person. Mrs. Broyles is nice but if you have a complaint about a teacher,she gets really cold, fast. Nobody at the school would take my problem seriously , all I got was support for the teacher and no consideration of my thoughts. Each time I asked to speak to Mrs. Broyles she was busy or gone. At least that is what I was told. The teachers at the school are first to blame the parents and the principal supports the teachers. I have learned, have a problem with 1 teacher and you will be ostracised forever. Even if you are nice as can be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2010

I love Miller Perry. My son started there in kindergarten and had some issues. He is now in Third grade and makes (A's). I credit the Teachers and staff for helping him through his developmental issues. I like Mrs. Broyles, because she wants parents to get involved and encourages them to be involved. One of these comments takes issue with her being the Principal, yes you might take issue with her, if you don't desire to get involved with your childs education. I think Mrs. Broyles see's the teachers and parents as being a team and encourages this in the school as a whole. I don't mind and love the idea of working with my son's teacher to see my son succeed. My son went from develpmental issues in Kindergarten to an (A) average 3rd grader, let that be the judge! The credit goes to the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Very disappointed in the leadership, especially the Principal, Karen Broyles. Volunteered many hours at this school when my children attended & saw things from the Principal & few staff members that was highly unprofeesional... actually they were bully's! Not with me personally, but with other parents- expecially after the parents left!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

have two children enrolled there and i feel the teachers and staff do a fantastic job and are very driven
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

My children and I love Miller Perry! The staff, as a whole, are encouraging, supportive, and continue to challenge my children to be the best they can be! As a parent, I feel encouraged to visit and volunteer. The principal, Mrs. Karen Broyles, has always welcomed me into her office and is willing to consider any concerns I may have. Super teachers, super safe, super learning environment! What more can you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

An excellent school. I went there, my parents, and now my own children. They are truely there for the best in your childs interest and learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

Kindness and a welcome smile toward parents and children alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

This is my childs first time in a public school and she is in 4th grade this year. Miller Perry is an excellent school with a high curriculum and caring staff. The security of the school is the best I have seen. The only negative is too much homework, otherwise I am glad I decided to my child in Miller Perry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

While Miller Perry is an excellent school with high marks, and I am extremely pleased with the education my child has received, there are a couple of teachers that you have to weary of. I would say that 98% of the teachers are either above average or excellent; however, it is really the other 2% that you need to watch out for. Sullivan County is an excellent school district, but it would be helpful if they would weed out the poor teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

My children attend Miller Perry and it is an excellent school with dedicated teachers and staff. The PTA works very hard to make school improvements and the related arts teachers are are a real asset to the school and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 67%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

904 Fordtown Rd
Kingsport, TN 37663
Phone: (423) 354-1760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Tri City Sda School
Johnson City, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT