Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Life Academy

Private | 1-12 | 2 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kingsport

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

This school is amazing and has reached my child more than any other school. They have a great staff, curriculum, and their overall view on how to treat students is immaculate. All I have seen is smiles and laughter as the children go down the halls. No bullying, as you would see in many other schools,and every child is welcomed. I'm not sure who it was that posted the negative comments, but, "IF" your child actually went there, then you should've known, by checking out the school, it was Christian based school. So, I doubt those who reply negatively,such as the ones you've read,actually had kids that went there. They were probably rival schools trying to bring more parents/students to their school by bashing a perfectly great school. That's truly a shame, because Christian Life Academy promotes truth and respect along with their Christian values. They also do not hinder those who are not Apostolic or Pentecostal. Absurd. Also, I would like to address the dress code that was mentioned in one of the post. I would rather have my child learn modesty and respect for themselves than to barely wear anything at all thinking it's a fashion trend so they have to do it. GREAT SCHOOL! 5 Stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

I use to teach in the early childhood education branch of CLC Academy and saw alot of 'behind the scenes'. CLC Academy is a GREAT school and I can tell you first hand that 98% of the teachers are extremely dedicated to making a positive impact on the children, providing them with top quality education, and nurturing their spirits. These teachers LOVE these kids! They have my respect and admiration. This is truly a school where the best interests of the children, all of them, come first. I think they are the best Christian school in the area. If you want a top notch Christian school for your child, where the children really do come first, then this is it!


Posted December 8, 2009

I am a former teacher in the child care center that is closely involved with the Acadamey. I saw alot of 'behind the scenes'. I was extremely impressed by the dedication of the teachers and staff at CLC Acadamey. This group of people LOVE these kids! All of them. They are dedicated to making a positive impact upon the students, providing them with excellent academic education, and nourshing them spiritually. I don't think you could find a better Christian School in the tri-cities. I would highly recommend this school!


Posted November 24, 2008

This school is nice. It's not the greatest school ever - it has its flaws - but I think it's a decent school. The staff is very friendly and makes the students a priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

Wow. This school has done so much for my children academically & spiritually. The staff is amazing, & I, as a parent, would probably recommend this school to someone who's looking for a good Christian school in the Tri-Cities area. I HAVE noticed that there are a few issues here & there, but, really, what school doesn't? Overall, I would have to give them, a 4. I completely disagree with the poster that said this school was too 'strict.' This school has had many major changes since this post. As I mentioned previously, a couple problems are at this school, but I like this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

Great school, to say the least! This school is really amazing. The principal, Mrs. Lisa Fitzwater, is great at principal leadership. She enforces the rules, while being nice about it. She helps anyway she can. I think this school has a great curriculum as well. They're on ABEKA curriculum, which I have to say is amazing! Their graduates have been so successful. As one of the other reviewers commented previously, the school rules can be slightly strict sometimes, but the pros definitely outweight the cons! I recommend this school to any parent that wants their child(ren) to get a very good Biblical education. This school not only works hard, but has many really fun events that even the parents can participate in. If you're looking for a safe Christian school in the Kingsport area, this is the one, I'm sure of it. Check out their website for more info: http://www.christianlifecenter.com/academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

What a great school! This is great for parents that want to put their child in a Christian school. It's Kindergarten-12th and they also have a special daycare called the Little Christian Life Academy Learning Center, which prepares your child for the actual 'school' part. In this school, some policies can be a bit strict, but the good really outweighs the bad. This school has ABEKA curriculum, an excellent system. There are many more pros than cons. Although they work hard, this school plays hard, too! They have many events yearly such as Fall Festivals, Spring Flings, Field Days, and much more as well. If you do pick a school, pick this one! You will be satisfied, more than likely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

This school is amazing! I reccomend this school to anyone who wants their child to recieve a good education. They offer several extracurricular activities also such as basketball, volleyball, golf, flag football and many others. Everyone there is friendly and I love this school! I give it a 5!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2006

This school has a great program for learning I highly recomend the ABECA cirriculum. However this school is UPC Apostolic so they tend to be very strict with discipline and dress (Girls are only allowed to wear dresses even on no uniform days. They also push their religious standards and beliefs on others. They will tell you that they do not do this but on issues like Holidays and 'Jesus Only' you child will be taught their beliefs without your approval. They also tend to favor the Apostolic Children and are harder on those who are not. It is very good for Pre K and Lower grades but I would not recomend High or Middle School grades. They also do not have any extra cirricular except for basketball. The teacher quality is also lacking they only hire parents of Apostolic children. Overall I would rate them a 3.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This is a wonderful school with excellent curriculum. I would recommend to anyone looking for a decent alternative to public school. The leadership and staff put quality education and care for students as priority number one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 67%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Pentecostal
Associations
  • ACE
  • ACTS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 North John B Dennis Highway
Kingsport, TN 37660
Phone: (423) 288-2211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Palmer Center
Kingsport, TN


St Dominic School
Kingsport, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT