Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dobyns - Bennett High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2014

This school has some great teachers! But they could get better math teachers and also the school is just way overcrowded I am a senior and struggled with getting into an English class for five weeks because I had to wait on them to hire another teacher! In my opinion after going to DB I don't consider it as great as everyone says!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2013

I attended this High School, and my experience was Great, I really had some fun memories being here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2012

I am a current senior at Dobyns Bennett and I am extremely pleased with my education. I have been lucky enough to be able to take advantage of some of the more advanced classes in the school, including some of the many AP classes that DB offers. It is one of (if not) the best education systems in the Tri-cities area. It has helped me to increase my knowledge and ready myself for college. The education that a student receives from the school is really dependent on what classes they decide to take, because, like many other schools, it does have to offer some of the basic remedial classes. However, all the teachers at the school are supportive and helpful no matter what classes you take.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2011

I am an alumna of DBHS, having graduated in the famous class of 1961. The education I graduated with was superior to that of most people with advanced degrees today. I can read, speak, and write the English language correctly, I was well-grounded in languages, math, sciences, and history. I am very proud of the band and orchestra programs today, and I feel confident that today's students are receiving the same top quality education I did. My class had an extremely high graduation rate by any standards, most of us went to college, and and most of them attained Masters' and Doctors" degrees, We are very proud to be DBHS slumni!


Posted October 13, 2010

Oh wow! What is there not to like? One of the top public schools in the state, region, and nation with numerous educational offerings including AP courses, a vocational wing, a music building, and an arts complex; an highly decorated and award winning band with multiple performances at events such as the Macy's and Rose Parades, the best high orchestra in the state of Tennessee, and athletic tradition and excellence. The boys basketball program has more all time wins (over 2,000) than any school in the nation. The football team is the winningest program in the state. The volleyball team is the state defending champion. Famous alums include: Bobby Dodd, former Georgia Tech football coach and athletic director; John Palmer, former White House correspondent and Today show anchor for NBC, eight former or current professional football players including current Dallas Cowboy safety, Gerald Sensabaugh; former All American Wake Forest point guard and WFU Sports Hall of Fame, Sklp Brown; and current Clemson University President, Jim Barker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

I am currently a sophomore at DB, and I must say it is quite an experience. I am in all honors classes, and my teachers really push me to excel in my classes. I am a tuition student and zoned for a county school, but I am so thankful that my family is willing to pay for me to attend Dobyns Bennett. I'm involved in sports and I absolutely love the support from my classmates I get. The facilities here are fantastic, the curriculum is TOUGH and the relationships you build are going to last me my whole life. DB is a wonderful school and its athetics are especially great. From the football team to the swim team to the Spirit Shakers, each organization strives in its atmosphere. I'm so lucky to be able to go to DB, Go Indians!:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

I taught at this modern, up-to-date high school twenty years during which time I saw the school win state and national awards for academics, music, and athletics. A DB graduate has received a broad liberal arts experience which studies show prepares one to do well in college and in our increasingly global world. Two of my grandchildren are students there at this time although I am retired. One of the awards received by Dobyns-Bennett High School during my tenure was being named one of the top three high schools in the state in the state of Tennessee which, unfortunately, ranks near the bottom for funds spent on education.


Posted January 17, 2009

D-B is a really great school. With awesome teachers and coaches. The music department is great. I like how the teachers put alot of pressure on me because they want me to be the best i can be. There is no reason why your son or daughter should not attend D-B. The best school in the world!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

As a parent of two students that graduated from DB I feel as if to much is placed on their sports/band activity and not enough on studies as can be proven in the number of students having to take remedial classes in college. If this happens the price of these classes should be paid by the school that they graduated from and not the parents since most paid their taxes for the education. More on studies and less on growth of the school. I think it is a Black Hole in Kingsport.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

D-B is a great school. Their is alot of pressure because they expect their students to strive for the best. My son had a lot of pressure his freshman year but he adjusted. This is life and I want my son to be ready for it. All across the board, D-B surpasses the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

DB really prepared me for college and life after HS. Though I didn't like all the bullying from social club members (not all of them, just some...) it was a great overall academic experience. Bullying happens everywhere, but some of the fault of that was the local parents who wanted their children to have an aggressive edge. To a degree, the teachers and staff could do nothing about it because of the political structure of all schools. Any ending of the social clubs or coming down too hard on one of these children could result in losing their jobs. So they controlled it as much as possible. Overall, I felt safe and was happy though there was much peer pressure and some favoritism based on parental wealth and sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2008

I am a current student and the teachers and the wide selection of classes to take is extraordinary. It makes me feel good to be a Dobyns-Bennett Indian! GO TRIBE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2008

I also retired from the military after 26 years and was making the relocation decision that hopefully would be my last. Usually I would not place something on a website such as this, but I truly feel it is my obligation to report my findings so others have this available during their research. Although, at first, I truly did like what I saw of the school, faculty and staff, but as I looked further... the actual system itself caters toward the more privileged of the students and I do agree the welfare of the students is not the primary objective. Some of the smaller schools in this area were no doubt a much better choice. I'm glad I made the decision I made and decided to retire to the triangle area of North Carolina... a much more diverse and responsible public school system... a decision made for the kids not me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

I am a Dobyns-Bennett graduate, and feel fortunate that I was able to have such an excellent high school experience. Every close friend that I had while there went on to complete a four-year education in an excellent college or university, and many continued on to graduate or medical school. DB prepared me very well for my college experience at a top-25 liberal arts university, and I felt that I was as prepared for the curriculum as many of my friends who were educated at expensive private or preparatory schools. I would recommend this school without reservation in regards to academics, extra curricular activites, and sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2006

I retired from the United States Army in 2002 and moved to Kingsport from Upstate New York. I knew I wanted to relocate to this area, but was not sure where. I researched all the school systems and found Dobyns-Bennett to be superior to other area schools. Since then, my daughter has graduated and is a sophomore in college. The education she received at DB helped her to obtain offers from several colleges. She was also in several extracurricular activities including the show choir. My son is a freshman this year and absolutely loves it. He is active in sports and the band. The faculty and staff seem to care a great deal about the students and all strive to be the best whether it be in academics, sports, or music. In short, I am extremely happy with our decision to move to Kingsport and have our children attend Dobyns-Bennett.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

Do not be dissuaded by one poor review. Dobyns-Bennett is the finest high school in the region. No other public institution, except perhaps Oak Ridge, is so superior athletically, extracurricullarly, and academically. One would have to go to a private school to receive a better secondary education, but many private schools in the area are lacking when compared to Dobyns-Bennett and the rest of the Kingsport City School system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2003

I love this school it is the most outstanding school I have ever seen. It has great facilities, faculty, and students. If given a chance visit the school. People are very kind and all other schools in the country admire Dobyns-Bennett for its outstanding academics and even being the 2nd winningest high school in the nation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2003

I have traveled to schools all over the east and this school isnt efficient with there resources. The teachers dont care for the students welfare.


Posted August 15, 2003

Dobyns-Bennett is great it has the best student body, teachers, pride, and overall learning environment I have ever attended


Posted August 10, 2003

Great School, above average teachers who show care and concern toward individual students both academically as well as socially. Above average curriculum. Super community support. Respect and admiration from School Systems from across the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
67%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

484 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
73%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students78%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students77%
African American52%
Asian83%
Hispanic57%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students79%
African American61%
Asian93%
Hispanic65%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students77%
African American57%
Asian86%
Hispanic63%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students71%
African American56%
Asian82%
Hispanic50%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students57%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Black 7% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Legion Dr
Kingsport, TN 37664
Phone: (423) 378-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palmer Center
Kingsport, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT