Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 466 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2014

My child goes to Lincoln and he hates to miss a day. One of the best teachers at this school is Mrs. Carr 3rd grade. She brings out the best in her students and has the most wonderful personality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

Lincoln elem is by far the best school any that my chidren have attended. The staff goes above and beyond for ALL students. Principal Dr. Clevinger and asistant principal, Family Liasion Mrs Musick, Counsler Mrs Marlow, the school nurse, and teachers have all been wonderful, caring and stern when needed. My child is not an easy one to deal with on a daily basis and these people really hang in there for my child and myself. This is why I chose Abe Lincoln Elem. We have been her 3 yrs and I haven't regretted my choice even once. Thank you staff. It does take a village to raise a child and Abraham Lincoln is our village.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

This is one of the very best elementary schools in Kingsport. Teachers and staff are very friendly. My children attend Lincoln. I was a student here as well when I was a child. I attended a couple elementary schools and Lincoln was by far my favorite. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else. Highly recommended!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

this is the worst school possible to send your child, especially if your child is a minority. it seems this school is determined to see minority children fail. my son is constantly trying to find reasons not to be involved with this school. his state assessment examinations are in the high grading level, but the school standardize testing...well, it seems with every one of those, he has a failing grade. why is that? one does not know. not even the principal can not understand the reasoning behind such hypocrisy. however, he will not be attending Lincoln in the future. i can not say this again, this is the worst school ever if you are a minority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

I have a 5th grader currently at Lincoln that has Asthma,and a peanut allergy. The staff, and clinic Nurse ,are aware, and take such care of her needs! We have been blessed! Her brother attended Lincoln as well and both children have excelled! Thank you teachers!! Also, Principal Clevinger is a great asset to Lincoln, Welcome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Lincoln Elementary is truly a great school. I am impressed with both the teaching staff and the support staff. They are the backbone of the school. My 3 children have all received exceptional instruction from their teachers, and are provided with many ways to be involved in extracurricular activities. My involvement as a parent is welcomed and valued. I am very proud to tell others my children are Lincoln lions and that I am a Lincoln parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

My children have attended since they started school. All was fine till the new principle started. Now my kids try to find a way to stay home. I dont like her or her ways. And I dont like my kids unhappy with school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

My daughter attends lincoln elementary school. I am very pleased with the teachers and staff at this school. My daughter enjoys attending lincoln elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students64%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students39%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students56%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students90%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 67%
Black 25% 24%
Hispanic 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 378-2375

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Summer St
Kingsport, TN 37664
Phone: (423) 378-2360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Dominic School
Kingsport, TN


Palmer Center
Kingsport, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT