Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

First Lutheran School

Private | K-8 | 97 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Knoxville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $61,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2010

I have a daughter who attended FLS for middle school. She is down a freshman at Gibbs High School, she is 2 points away form "A" honor roll. She is the only freshman who made the dance team. FLS is a great school. I wish kids could leave FLS and go straight to college.Thank you FLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

Our daughter attended the ECE program last year and is now in Kindergarten at FLS. The ECE program is phenomenal and we have been more than pleased with her Kindergarten experience there. The education she is getting is excellent. She is already reading on a second grade level and the things she has learned about in geography, science, and history is amazing. Best of all she is in an environment of loving teachers and families, and she is getting a good foundation, not only in education but in learning about God's love for her and others. The teachers and staff are some of the best in Knoxville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

Both of my son's have attended First Lutheran School and received an excellent well rounded education. My oldest son has now moved on to high school and is at the top of his class. He was well prepared at First for contining his education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

My daughter has been at first Lutheran since she was 2 1/2 yrs. old. We love first Lutheran and couldn't ask for a better education for my daughter. She attended Kindergarten last year and learned so much at her age; she was only 4 when she started Kindergarten because she met the cut off date and I thought why not. Mrs. Bucher is an AMAZING teacher and we love her. We ar also members of First Lutheran Church and it is just as wonderful as the school!!! Everyone is very friendly and caring in the school and church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My son and daughter are both attending FLS in preschool and K-8. We have been very pleased with the school. The school provides a nurturing and challenging environment in small classes. I have worked in public schools and the discipline issue is pretty much non-existent in this school. My kids love it and so do we!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

My Daughter went there several years ago. I can't say enough good about First Lutheran. My Daughter had gone to Koxville city schools and what a nightmare! Even though we are not Lutheran the Pastor(Shultz) was respectful of other denominations. I do appreciate that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

This school is a treasure! My daughter loves it and never asks to stay home. I am the associate pastor for the church and school. In my eyes, the teachers and staff are wonderful. I so enjoy teaching religion and preaching Christ Jesus to the children throughout the year.


Posted January 18, 2005

Our children have been at First Lutheran for three years. We have been delighted with the experience. The Kindergarten, 2nd and 3rd grade teachers have been excellent. Our children love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

Our daughter has been a student with First Lutheran for 6 years and we couldn't be more pleased. The principal, teachers and staff all make the children and Christian values their priority for each day. We tested at an independent learning center and they reported that FLS students normally test a grade level ahead of other students they see. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 67%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Black 5% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1207 North Broadway Street
Knoxville, TN 37917
Phone: (865) 524-0308

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Vine Middle/Magnet
Knoxville, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT