Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Knoxville Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 163 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Knoxville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $227,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2013

After moving from Nashville, I sent my 3-year-old son here for a year of preschool. I was so unhappy with the school, I considered pulling him out after Christmas. The first day of school, we were told that parents are not allowed to speak to the teacher at drop-off time, because it might be upsetting to the children. So, I dropped him off in the mornings and picked him up in the car pick-up line in the afternoons. There were no progress notes sent home, and all communication with his teacher was through email. I never knew what was going on, unless I learned it from my son himself. I am not a helicopter parent by any means, but I do like to feel included in my child's life, and KCS made me feel unwelcome and unimportant. We have moved to Tate's this year, and even though school has barely started, I could not be more impressed with them. My husband and I were both raised in private schools, but I would send my children to public school before I ever set foot in that place again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

Our two teenage children transferred from public school to Knoxville Christian. Our youngest is in middle school, and very happy. The academic rigor and biblical teaching is refreshing. Our oldest is in high school and has struggled with the change. The academic rigor has increased dramatically compared to public school. He is being challenged and has homework. Both of our children are athletes and enjoy being a part of a growing sports program. The enrollment has doubled to 212 students. If you are looking for an alternative then check out KCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

This is a wonderful school for those who REALLY care about what their children are being taught. The teachers and staff are VERY concerned about each child's needs and treat parents well no matter how much they can pay or do for the school! We had children there for 8 years and look forward to another great year. This year there have been some administration changes and I feel the school will really benefit from them. The principal did a GREAT job last year and I hear they have some new technological advances and a new baseball field too. If you want a place where your child is taught about christain values in every academic subject this is the place to be!


Posted August 4, 2011

Our kids have been attending this school for the last 8 years and we look forward to another great year. Parents that REALLY care about their child's spiritual as well as academic growth will find a safe harbor here. The school is multiply accredited, family oriented, loving and fair. There have been some changes in the administration this year and we feel it is really going to benefit the school. The principal is FANTASTIC, the teachers really know their stuff and care about the children in their care and they also have a great school counselor! They have a new playground, high school bldg. and are putting in a new baseball field this summer. Come and check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

First and foremost, I would like to say, there are some folks currently on staff at KCS that are an exception to the statements below, However, At this point, I would have to respectfully decline to send my child for another year at KCS, If You have a preschool-8th grade student with little or limited interest in athletics, you may be Happy with this organization, However if High School is your need, I would have to decline to recommend this organization, on multiple levels, I was/am less than pleased with the academic resources employed by the school, the lack of experience and ability with many, but certainly not all, of the high school educational staff, the lack of guidance and clarity in academic issues, basically if you child is not already an A/B student the likelihood is he/she will be left to their own, the support was academic support is spotty at best. With the failed football program, and future of the athletic program now at a virtual standstill, unless your child s interest is solely academic in nature, and he/she, is a natural born student, I would have to recommend you search further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

My son loves his school because it help teaches him about loving god and loving people and doing your very best as a student. As a parent I love the fact that they emphasis it takes a village to raise a child. We are able to see how everyone comes together as a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

This school has seen some radical changes since a year ago with the arrival of a new principal and other office staff. We ended up pulling our son out this year due to the unfriendly atmosphere and the acceptance of some students with major behavior problems. It is not worth paying that much money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

My oldest son attended KCS over 20 years ago, as did yougest son, and my grandson. I love the school. This school is not for people who are willing to accept a mediocre educations for their children. I must dispute the school expects you to make it your life. I had almost no time to help, and they still were wonderful to my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

This school's staff is very nice and I was never treated poorly. The whole staff has Christian character and they love the students. This school is small but is growing steadily. It offers a great Preschool program and it also goes to the 12th grade not just the 11th. This school is teaching Christ in everthing they teach. The academics are on target and the school is accredited. Can't Lose! Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

This school has some very serious issues and we ended up pulling our children out very late in the year because we could not deal with the inconsistencies. The facutly and staff are not happy unless the school is your entire life and you are treated poorly if you don't let it consume your life. They are willing to work with you when it comes to finances but then they hold that over your head and use it to get you to do what they want you to do. They are not very excepting of other religions, other than Church of Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

This is a lovely school! Family like environment; good teacher; excellent academics. We had a wonderful experience with our son and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 69%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Black 6% 25%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • NCSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11549 Snyder Rd
Knoxville, TN 37932
Website: Click here
Phone: (865) 966-7060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





New Pathway Academy
Knoxville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT