Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Academy Of Knoxville

Private | PK-12 | 104 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Knoxville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2014

My child attended CAK from K-12,and received a superior education.They worked very, very hard and it has all paid off. Overall the teachers were very good. A few were worthless, which is unacceptable, but I think you would find that anywhere. The middle school and high school principals were both very good. Both concerned and accessible.Over time the school became very sports oriented. It did not feel any different than a secular private school. The winning athletes were given preferential treatment. Also, children of families that were big contributors were also shown partiality. I am very thankful that my child could attend CAK , so many of staff members were outstanding Christians and wonderful role models. The juvenile competition among the parents grew tiresome. Who has the best house, vehicle, vacation, plastic surgeon and the list goes on. As a result the children were very competitive and cliques were very much in evidence. The school is very good academically, but it's Christian standards deteriorated significantly over our time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

A larger private school, that is centrally located in Knoxville. Class sizes average about twenty students per class, with about one hundred students per grade. Grades range from preschool (age 3) to twelfth grade. Throughout all the grades, bible is taught as another subject, and their is weekly chapels. The chapels are led by local worship bands and preachers. Extra curricular activities include math-counts, spelling bees, marching band, and amazing art programs and athletics. The athletic department is in the AA division in most of their sports, and often win the state championships. I love the marching band program.


Posted January 13, 2014

My 4 kids have been at CAK since kindergarten each. We love this school. Elementary and middle are great and really teach scripture and a biblical world view in every subject. Can't speak too much about high school yet as only a few months of experience but it has academically challenged my kids. Teachers and administration have been approachable. Some teachers much better than others of course (as with any school) but overall excellent. I feel like they have cared for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

My two daughters attended this school in elementary for 3 years. They had no complaints but from a parents point of view I felt constantly hit up from more money (aside from high tuition) and if I didn't donate extra money I felt like I had a check by my name. I began getting concerned academically when I saw a teacher hired that was fired from another school. She is a sweet person but not organized, horrible communicator and when my daughter had her in first grade in public school she was behind others in other first grade classes in comparison. She got A's but when compared to kids in other classes her and her classmates were at a disadvantage. Due to financial restraints we went back to public after three years of CAK and we are very happy. I wouldn't say we hated CAK, it has its benefit with smaller classes but with what you pay you would expect to feel appreciated regardless of "additional" donations made. I also heard in middle school and high school grades athletic placements are often determined by which parents donate the most. Amazing how kids with the most play time have the biggest donations. Hmmm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

CAK is second-rate academically and may as well be secular with regard to Christianity. The administrators are clueless and pander to the rich families for donations. Those families rule the school. One principal in particular is a complete relic. She's cold and controlling and she's in charge of the elementary school! THey do not partner with parents and instead shove stuff down our throats. The board is a rubber stamp organization and vote each other in to stay. There were a few caring teachers and that's the best I have to say. Any good reviews on here were probably written by the administration in desperate attempt to fill the vacancies left by those who leave in droves. My kids hate this school and so do I. Run away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

I graduated this past year after being at CAK since 6th grade. Let me tell you, I am so happy I am done with that school! I was always a straight A student and I am attending Stanford now. I hated CAK so much! All of the teacher act like they do not care about you and I would not recommend this school to ANYONE!


Posted February 12, 2010

I am a former student and now parent of students at CAK. I started attending the first year it opened in 1977 and graduated in 1986. I now have an elementary and middle schooler. I am very pleased with the education I received, and the education my children are now receiving. It is a strong school academically, spiritually, and socially. Although it has changed dramatically over the years, the change has been for the good. It still maintains the 'small school' feel with wonderful, Godly teachers, but has many 'big school' opportunities. I would HIGHLY recommend CAK to anyone looking for a quality Christian education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

Sadly my experience at CAK has made the Bible a text book and extremely boring to read. I feel as if I get a bad grade on a test i am not only a bad student but a bad christian. I have recently transfered to a public school and I have had the best teachers I have ever had. It is sad that my parents money went to waste on a Christian education when they really turn me away from the Bible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

My grandchildren have been in CAK for the last 6-7 years. They are getting a quality education in the things that matter most to our family; i.e., instilling Christian values, encouraging a desire to follow God, caring about and helping others. All children have different educational needs, and CAK teachers are dedicated to helping children overcome their weaknesses as well encouraging the development of their strengths. I'm so very grateful that my children are able to send my grandchildrren to CAK. Grateful Grandma


Posted July 8, 2009

I cannot recommend CAK to anyone. It was a good school at one time, but it has become sort of a dark place. All of the money seems to go to athletics, and there is a huge emphasis on class (money, cars and street address). Our daughter went there for the Christian part of CAK, but we have been so dissappointed. Much of what CAK promised us with regard to having a Christian educational experience turned out not to be true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2009

CAK is an excellent school and the principal was wonderful to work with. The academics were challenging for my child and I found the environment to be nurturing and stimulating academically for him. I would highly recommend it for others considering a great middle school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

Christian Academy of Knoxville provides an excellent education for students k-12. The 77-acre campus is conviently located, and the newly remodeled buildings are first-class. Teachers and administrators have a true passion for what they do and consider teaching Christian principals to be their mission. I have found that the school is very loving to children from all Christian denominations. And they are very accomodating when a family needs financial assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

I absolutely would not recommend the middle school to anyone. Males receive unfair treatment, notably from a certain principal who shall remain nameless. However, I'm having the time of my life in high school and the education is fantastic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2007

I am a student at CAK and I feel that the weakest courses CAK has to offer is Bible and Math which really upsets me because the reason I am going to CAK is because of the Bible classes
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2005

My son is a 7th grader for 2005-06 school year. The academic standards are high and are challenging for most students. The teachers are great, many offering additional assistance after school for students who need it. There is a huge caring atmosphere amongst the staff. All types of extracurricular activites are available. I strongly recommend it for parents who want a great Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

As a former student, I want to awknoledge this school as being one of the best influences in my life. We were always pushed to excel, and the teachers formed personal, supportive relationships with us, which left lasting impressions.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 67%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

529 Academy Way
Knoxville, TN 37923
Phone: (865) 690-4721

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT