Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,005 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Christian Academy Of Knoxville 5

Posted June 28, 2016
- a parent
My children have attend CAK for three years (one who previously attended public school). I see amazing challenges in their academics, but also their spiritual walk has matured way beyond what I or even our church could offer them. They are both CAK "super-fans" and love to share their testimony of how CAK has changed them (academically and spiritually). What's even more amazing - they are still in elementary school! We cannot say enough great things about CAK!

Christian Academy Of Knoxville 3

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
We have had 3 children at CAK since 2003 and are generally unhappy with the direction of the school. More secular, climbing tuition and a focus on growth over excellence in academics and Christian values. ACT math scores are lower than local public school systems and new Headmaster is a weak administrative and academic leader. His wife is inappropriately involved with the High School and is creating tension between some of the girls there. We will not be returning next Fall as are several other families. Enrollment is falling for many of these reasons. I would really like to see tuition increases stop, spending come in check and a return to a focus on families. There is a higher percentage of non-Christian student families and an increase in focus to drift toward a status prep school that caters to higher income demographics.


Christian Academy Of Knoxville
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Prine (retired) was the best kindergarten teacher ever! Mr. Bradley (Sr.) is awesome with High School Students.

Christian Academy Of Knoxville
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
too much in 5th-8th grades. Not enough in upper HS. My biggest frustration in the middle school is the lack of direction and communication on homework. This was a very difficult transition for my children. Learning lab is almost a must but seems silly to have to pay MORE for help with homework that teachers should provide. Leadership may need a change here.

Christian Academy Of Knoxville
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
no. This school coddles kids too much. As an employer I've worked with several young men who were too weak in work ethic and soft in terms of grit. As a parent I am put off by the lack of masculine leaders at the school.


Christian Academy Of Knoxville
Develops respect: Agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Yes. Would like to see more emphasis on manners in terms of traditional yes ma'am no ma'am

Christian Academy Of Knoxville
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Yes my children show care for each other and high tolerance for differences with class mates

Christian Academy Of Knoxville
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Most teachers really care and show no favoritism. Sports and Administrative leaders are a different story.


Christian Academy Of Knoxville 4

Posted June 29, 2014
- a parent
My child attended CAK from K-12,and received a superior education.They worked very, very hard and it has all paid off. Overall the teachers were very good. A few were worthless, which is unacceptable, but I think you would find that anywhere. The middle school and high school principals were both very good. Both concerned and accessible.Over time the school became very sports oriented. It did not feel any different than a secular private school. The winning athletes were given preferential treatment. Also, children of families that were big contributors were also shown partiality. I am very thankful that my child could attend CAK , so many of staff members were outstanding Christians and wonderful role models. The juvenile competition among the parents grew tiresome. Who has the best house, vehicle, vacation, plastic surgeon and the list goes on. As a result the children were very competitive and cliques were very much in evidence. The school is very good academically, but it's Christian standards deteriorated significantly over our time there.

Christian Academy Of Knoxville 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a community member
A larger private school, that is centrally located in Knoxville. Class sizes average about twenty students per class, with about one hundred students per grade. Grades range from preschool (age 3) to twelfth grade. Throughout all the grades, bible is taught as another subject, and their is weekly chapels. The chapels are led by local worship bands and preachers. Extra curricular activities include math-counts, spelling bees, marching band, and amazing art programs and athletics. The athletic department is in the AA division in most of their sports, and often win the state championships. I love the marching band program.

Nearby schools

Christian Academy Of Knoxville
529 Academy Way, Knoxville, TN  37923
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (865) 690-4721
Last modified Christian Academy Of Knoxville is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top