Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Valley Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2008

Excellent teachers, wonderful environment, good homeowrk load, everything is awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2008

Our daughter has done beautifully in 7th grade due to an exceptional team of teachers. We moved into the zone and she was 1 of 4 from her elementary school. Her 6th grade was okay, but not exceptional. It takes a while to be accepted...at first not as welcoming as should have been. She now loves it and is so happy. Academically challanging, but she has thrived! They offer so many activities, and I believe she will have a jumpstart in high school because of her outstanding academic preparation. Teachers always responded immediately to any questions from parents or students. We just wish we could continue and have her attend West Valley High School!! Finally, the music program has to be the finest in the area....my musician father could not get over the quality of music at the band concerts. Let us build an auditorium to showcase all of these talents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

There was a change in principals a couple of years ago. We would have to say the change did not disrupt the good attitudes among the faculty from our perspective. Out daughter's team of teachers has a good web link for daily lesson plans and open communication. They will stay after school if there is a need. We have no complaints. The coaches are all quality people and great role models for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I have found West Valley Middle School to be very much a student oriented school. We have a child that has great difficulty reading with comprehension and the staff of teachers are working in many different avenues to get him to be successful. I rate them an A+ for their efforts. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

WVMS is approaching ten years and it couldn't be in better shape. All of their facilities are probably the best you will ever see in any public schools across knox county. Along with their 8 lane outdoor track there is the Wolves' basketball/volleyball arena seating well over 1250 people. Amazingly, sports aren't the only benefit students will enjoy. WV boasts orchestra, band, jazz band, chorus, and an advanced advanced choral program. The chorus class holds many concerts year round including advanced plays such as : 'Bye Bye Birdie', 'Oklahoma', and 'The Music Man'. Students will also be able to attend dances and school/grade celebrations throughout the year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2007

Well, i have two children in this school and they both dislike it immensely. Way too strict! middle school students do not need the teacher to walk them down the hall to get to class, or a teacher screaming at them to get to class while they're in-between classes, nor being forced to sit the entire lunch hour in the cafeteria, nor control every aspect of middle school life. There is minimal social time at this school because every minute is monitored. Student don't have an opportunity to be kids and enjoy this middle school experience. West valley does not prepare students to enter high school where rules are minimal and expectations are high and self discipline is a must!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

This is my son's 3rd year at West Valley and we could not be more pleased! The school has a wonderful Orchestra program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

The person who felt that West Valley is an incompetent school needs a wake up call. That person can not and should not expect for his/her child to be held by the hand all day. Of course at the beginning of the school year, there is going to be alot of confusion, especially for the teachers who do not have a certain student on their roster. The school is the best in the county in athletics, academics, music, and art.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 27, 2005

West Valley Middle School has been a great experience for both of my children. The administrative staff have been helpful and willing to work with my husband and me and my children in all aspects. For the most part, the teachers are great as well. As with all schools, there are teachers that should not be teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

This is the BEST school I have ever attended. The teachers are kind when teaching, and they also make the experience fun. Moving from elementary school to middle school, my percent of increase was over 1000%. The school is always kept clean. They have an amazing music department, which falls in the catagory of a top notch related arts program. If you are into sports, this school is for you; from basketball to golf, our teams are outstanding. If you attend this school you will learn many things while having a wonderful time. I MOST CERTAINLY recommend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2005

I have never been so disappointed. My child entered at the end of the year out of necessity, and has been treated horribly by teachers. As a teacher myself, I am totally disillusioned that professionals would act in such a manner. My child was actually told that there were no desks, so she could 'sit on the floor'. She carried all of her books all day after requesting a locker several times, and only received one at the end of the day when someone finally felt sorry for her. As of her fourth day, she still does not have a schedule, and I have been told that this is 'a busy time of year'. I have made a mistake by moving her, I only wish she did not have to pay for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2005

This the best school in the world. I am a student of this beatuiful new school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
African American60%
Asian86%
Hispanic69%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students88%
African American70%
Asian93%
Hispanic69%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
African American75%
Asian93%
Hispanic85%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African American43%
Asian92%
Hispanic72%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African American38%
Asian79%
Hispanic50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students92%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students74%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students83%
African American47%
Asian90%
Hispanic62%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Black 4% 23%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (865) 539-5155

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9118 George Williams Rd
Knoxville, TN 37922
Phone: (865) 539-5145

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Annoor Academy
Knoxville, TN



Oakmont School
Knoxville, TN




Greenway School
Knoxville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT