Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Valley Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1163 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

The one year I got to go to this school was the best school year I have ever had. My teachers truly cared, and my education was excellent. One particular teacher, Mrs. Mosley of 6th grade, was simply outstanding. She gave college-style lessons and challenging tests while caring about the success of every one of her students and having a good attitude all the way through.


Posted October 21, 2013

This school cares about their students. The principals seem to be set on making it the best, most comprehensive educational experience possible. E.g., earlier this year (the first day of school, in fact), I sent an email to the principal regarding our bus driver's behavior. She called me within 5 minutes. She "took the bull by the horns", and the following week I was in a meeting with the assistant principal, the director of transportation of Knoxville, and the contractor for the school's bus drivers. The principals took care of the issue as if my child was their own. Complaint: Students' parents are supposed to sign "hold-up cards" every Thursday. These are to ensure parents know of any marks against the child that could result in disciplinary actions like detention. The problem is they have to be signed even if there are no marks against the child. And if they forget, then they get a mark against them. This is crazy. They should only have parents sign cards acknowledging when their child has received a mark of some sort. My child's complaints would be, 1) the pressure she feels from the teachers in her Honors classes, and 2) the pressure in Technology: the typing tests are timed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

If you don't like homework this is not the school for you. I appreciate the fact that they are preparing the children for high school, but this is craziness. This school functions like college. The teachers lecture during class time and work comes home. The children have a five subject notebook to keep up for every class and its checked and part of their grade. They have numerous test every week. My child missed a day of school and the next night we had 26 pages of homework and three test to try to study for. My child has no life now other than homework and school, he had to drop out of all extracurricular activities because of all the work. Principle is very nice and some of the teachers are caring, but be prepared to work and work hard every night.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

This school is AMAZING!!! Everybody is soooo nice!! (this includes the staff and the students) I will definitly miss it when I move! I never want to miss a day of school!


Posted March 15, 2011

My daughter is a 7th grader at Bearden but she always talks about how she would love to go to WVMS. Although, we are not zoned for this particular school, therefore she may not transfer. She often tells me how great of a school this is and how far she can go just by going here. I just wish I could transfer her here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

Fantastic school!!! I'm a parent of a 7th grader and we couldn't be more pleased. The new principal is refreshing. He and the teachers excel in their desire to educate the students and their overall success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

The teachers are incredible!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Great new principal...Jack Neely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

If you think having a conference with the teacher would help get your child into a better start, well think again!!! The teachers here in WV not only would not admit their fault but will make your child suffer with humiliation in class and a terrible year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

It's been a great school for our daughter and her friends
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

This school is full of caring and concerned teachers. The parent participation is abundant. I felt my children received a private school education at this wonderful public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

I'm currently an eight grader at West Valley and so far I have had some really bad and some pretty good teachers. They honestly do not give us any freedom to be kids; we have about three minutes to run around and grab our books before being shuffled into our classrooms. Teachers are very unaccepting of any late work, and they tend to blame every mistake on you. I understand that these teachers are trying to perpare us for high school, but my older brother is in high school, and he seems to be enjoying it a lot more than middle school. We may only be thirteen or fourteen, but I believe we can control ourselves to walk to lunch, go to the bathroom with out having to get a signature, etc. Other students in my grade are mainly holding onto their little cliques. West Valley can definitely improve though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

EVERY teacher is amazing! They give 150%. The administration cares about their children. We can access books online to save our kids' backs from heavy books. The school is CLEAN! And the parents are very involved in addressing needs and problems. PTA money goes toward great technology, etc. I LOVE West Valley Middle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I have a daughter with special needs and the staff has been very supportive. All of her teachers and the staff have been understanding and have taught my daughter so much. The Assistant Principal has helped not only with academic issues but also social skills. I only hope when my daughter moves on to high school she will receive this type of support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

Curriculum in 8th grade needs to change to mirror high school. Too many classes in one day. If you miss more than three days due to sickness its almost impossible to make up work School population is too large for teachers to remind students of past assignments. Students going on to Bearden will do well. Teachers have more time for students due to block scheduling. I'll be glad when my second child is finally out of this school. WVMS prides its self on organizational skills and homework. High and college are more geared to your test grades not how well you organize your class folders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

I think West Valley is a Great school! I have found the principals to be receptive to my input and have appreciated my participation at school. I have 2 kids there and have experienced over 15 teachers. Most of them are outstanding. They have too much paperwork and responsibilities from the county that have nothing to do with teaching kids....I think they do a great job considering. In response to the PTA Mom's have the kids that make the sports teams----- I haven't seen a team tryout that wasn't decided by an outside, impartial source with the kids usually just wearing a number so no one even knows names. I think these kids get on the teams because they are good at the sport. There is always room for improvement and the staff is human so mistakes happen but I think it's the best middle school in Knoxville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

West Valley is a bad school they are only a couple teachers who will listen to you and care.The only thing I like about this school is the band program.The teachers are so nice will help you if you have a question.Mr.Wells from 6-1 is an awsome teacher. Is the only on I like.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2008

they have alot of homework to hand out and the gym needs a good cleaning
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

west valley doesn't prepare it's middle schoolers very well for high school. the teachers there dont pay attention to the positive things the students do, they just bash them for what negitive things they do. my child hates the school, and i can see why, her teachers give the students little independece.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

It has very few extra-carricular activities for excelling students. It spends way too much time on failing students that need help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
African American60%
Asian86%
Hispanic69%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students88%
African American70%
Asian93%
Hispanic69%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
African American75%
Asian93%
Hispanic85%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African American43%
Asian92%
Hispanic72%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African American38%
Asian79%
Hispanic50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students92%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students74%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students83%
African American47%
Asian90%
Hispanic62%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Black 4% 23%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (865) 539-5155

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9118 George Williams Rd
Knoxville, TN 37922
Phone: (865) 539-5145

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Annoor Academy
Knoxville, TN



Oakmont School
Knoxville, TN




Greenway School
Knoxville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT