Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hardin Valley Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1138 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2014

Fantastic school. Teachers, PTA, and principal are terrific. My son is in first grade. He absolutely loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

We moved to this school from South Knoxville and are considering a change to private school. Our son's teacher seems very caring, but the administration is all about test scores. It seems the teachers' hands are tied by the government's liberal agenda. Why does a third grader need to learn about "Unions and Guest Workers?"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

Good PTA,and involved parents but unfortunately, as with all public schools, due to govt intervention, the kids have to be taught to take a test. Really wish they were able to just teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2011

We just moved from out of state, and my first grader started at Hardin Valley Elementary. His teacher, Miss Watkins, is teaching the class sign language, Spanish, and many things I wouldn't have thought to be part of the curriculum. I don't know if this is the teacher or the school, but we have been pleased with his progress this year. He looks forward to going to school and has had no bullying or interpersonal issues that some other parents have referenced here. We haven't had a need to interface with the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

We have had nothing but regret after enrolling our child at Hardin Valley Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

I have four children and have had at least one child at HVES since 2002, and will be there until 2014! So I will span twelve years at the Elementary School. I have nothing but good things to say about the teachers, staff and the PTA. We are so fortunate to have such an awesome school, and I would do anything to stay in the school district if a move should arise. Everyone is very welcoming at the school, and the strong PTA involvement continues to grow by leaps and bounds. I am proud to be a member!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2009

My child has been going to Hardin Valley Elementary ever since Kindergarten. I am very unimpressed with the whole school for a matter of fact. The children tackle eachother on the playground , and they are bullying like crazy , this is a result of unaware teachers and staff. The staff and PTA are the snobbiest people you could meet . The teachers are a wide variety though. Some are very kind and caring , while others ca'nt get their heads out of their mirror.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

We moved to Hardin Valley from out of state last summer. Hardin Valley Elementary made the transition for my daughters to a new state, school, and home smooth and positive. The teacher's are amazing and the administration encourages parent involvement. In the back of my mind, I thought we would end up sending our girls to private school since the reputation for the public schools were so low. Luckily, I was pleasantly surprised and will not move out of this school zone until my girls are out of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

I'm surprised that the Great Schools score for Hardin Valley isn't higher. I'm a parent of a rising 2nd grader at HVES. My child has a learning disability that we've been in therapy for since he was 3 1/2 years old. While we had planned to send our child to a private school, but the economy changed those plans. We have had the most amazing two years at Hardin Valley. Our child has flourished there. As an example, he was reading at a 2nd grade level half way through the 1st grade. While a parent that is involved in my child's learning, I have to give credit to his first two teachers. Both were attentive, flexible with teaching styles, firm where it was needed, positive, and caring. They were simply amazing. Honestly, the weakest link in HVES is the administration. The principal tends to be impulsive and inconstant with decisions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

We are very happy with this school. This is the first year for my two children. We moved from another state and I was concerned about finding a good school. The school environment is very positive and safe. The academics seem slightly behind the state we are coming from, but we are still happy to be here. I think this is a state thing, not a school thing. I have taught in some schools that had higher academic standards, but the pressure and environment were horrible. Teachers are able to teach at Hardin Valley because discipline is strict and fair. There is lots of parental involvement as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

Excellent teachers. Strict, but fair principal. Very involved and supportive PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Excellent Staff, leadership, students,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

I absolutely LOVE this school. The teachers have been more than accommodating to the needs of my children. I have 2 children there. One is more advanced than the other. The one that struggles has been taken under the wing of a wonderful caring teacher. My children both were in the Farragut school system before coming to HVES and believe me, HVES is better in every aspect of the word. As for Mr. Evans, the principal-He ROCKS!!! He knows how to interact with the kids but still is an authority figure. The new Assistant Prin.-Hats off to her too. She is kind and polite. HVES has made a complete difference in the lives of my children and our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

We have been unhappy with this school. They have been unwilling to work with us on on important health issues involving our son and our concerns have been met with an arrogance that I do not understand. If you are expecting open communication between parents teachers and administrative staff, this is probably not the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Some of the teachers are horrible and the staff have a holier than thou mind frame
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

A wonderful school with caring and hard working teachers, a beautiful campus and a very effective PTA group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

Hardin Valley is a wonderful school! My two oldest children have had great teachers and excellent learning experiences. I look forward to my third child starting this fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

The bad reviews on HVES are from the past principal. Mr. Evans is incredible and works very well with the kids. He does so many things to get the kids interested and let them have fun at the same time. For those that sold a certain number of coupon books they were able to line up in front of the school and throw water balloons at him while he rode by on a tricycle. My daughter thinks he's very funny and very nice. He's also very fair and takes the time to really listen to the kids and parents about their concerns. I've had several issues as we lucked out w/ a not so great teacher this year and he always had time for us to come in and speak with him. We are zoned Farragut now and honestly would much rather stay at HVES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

Aweosme Principle, and awesome Teachers. Our kids don't want to ever move
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

HVES has so much to offer for all academic levels. There are wonderful after-school enrichment programs, as well as many resources within the school for advanced students. There is also a great effort by the teachers to make sure that every student has their needs met. The level of commitment by the principals and teachers to make sure students who are below their grade level academically get the intervention they need is to be commended. Also, the parent envolvment is fabulous! The PTA rasies an incredible amount of money each year, which goes right back to the students on many different levels. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students67%
African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students66%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students68%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Black 4% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 560-1480

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11445 Hardin Valley Rd
Knoxville, TN 37932
Phone: (865) 470-2088

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Paideia Academy
Knoxville, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT