Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Episcopal School Of Knoxville 1

Posted December 14, 2014
- a parent
The kids of parents that donate the most get special treatment and can act as they please. They have issues with bullying at ESK and I have heard other families that have moved their kids due to this. They will not call the high donor parents if their kids are bullies. They just watch those kids while your child is bullied. They even allow other kids from other schools that have threatened your child on social media to come in and bully because they have a sibling there. The headmaster knows of the issues and walks around and warmly handshakes the bully! The head master is nice to his high donors, but is not in anyway interested in socializing with the lower end donors. The teachers are so-so. You'll need tutors if your child struggles in an area. I have been told by our tutor that my child is bright, but just needs to slow down cause he is so bright, but they can not see that and work with him. High turnover in teachers and leaders. Communication is awful unless they want $.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
Our children have had a wonderful experience at ESK. The class sizes are small so teaching is more tailored to the individual child's need. One of the best student teacher ratios in Knoxville! Academics are strong and children excelling are challenged to grow and learn more. Hands on learning is excellent....dissecting cow's eyeball in 2nd grade, projects, Mandarin, Spanish, fabulous art education and fabulous PE! So far, each teacher we've had has had a sincere interest in our child's academic and personal development. Chapel and the inclusive values of the school are a strong draw as well as the focus on giving back to the community and helping others. Families are friendly and real. Children are encouraged to think out of the box and learn various ways to solve problems. ESK is a great school!


Episcopal School Of Knoxville 2

Posted January 02, 2013
- a parent
This is our third year at ESK. Overall, it has been unimpressive academically and I do a lot of extra schooling at home. They are constantly asking for money and they give special treatment to those who donate largely. The elementary school prinicipal is inexperienced, she was previously a 2nd grade teacher at ESK. She has little social skills and appears nice until you have a complaint. She will then tell you that you are the only person that has ever complained about that issue. She must not realize that parents actually talk to each other. There is not much parent involvement, most PTA meetings have about 10 parents in attendance on a good day and it is so difficult to get any parents to volunteer. About 50% of the teachers are excellent. The other 50% do not belong at a $12,000/year school. 4th and 5th grade are challenging in a good way, but the kids are so academically unprepared for those years-it makes it very difficult for them. The middle school principal is excellent, so that is a positive. We will be going to St John Neuman next year. I would look for another school if you want strong academics and good leadership, it's not at ESK.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville 3

Posted May 06, 2012
- a parent
Academics are great and seem to really engage the kids. Also, it is a beautiful campus. There are lots of opportunities for sports in middle school--tennis, basketball, football, soccer, cross county, golf, track, trap shooting (and I am sure I have left something out). However, the school aggressively is trying to raise money and the parents who donate certain amounts of money get to name classrooms (and even streets) in honor of their children. I really cannot imagine how it is healthy for a young child to have a street named afar him or her. Also, if you are a family who is really struggling to pay tuition, be aware of the fact that the rich kids seem to rule and be ready to deal with those issues/questions at home. Also, be aware of the fact that many of the kids continue into private high schools. And so, you might have a concern about whether your child is prepared for a public high school. Also, the guidance department does not really seem set up for gifted children. If your kids' test scores are low, you will be required to pay for tutoring. If your kid is gifted, there is not support for that at all.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville 5

Posted July 16, 2011
- a parent
It could not be better. Great academics, caring teachers, daily chapel, sports. Only 12 years old--it gets better and better.


Episcopal School Of Knoxville 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a community member
This is a wonderful school. We have many wonderful opportunities for enrichment, and have never had a complaint about the academics. I would highly recomend this school for any of your children.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
We love ESK. It's a wonderful school. Our daughter has been a student there for 3 years, and we couldn't be happier with where she is academically. She is routinely challenged, but also nurtured. The only real complaint I have is that there is no athletic opportunities for team sports in the lower school, we have had to seek those elsewhere in the community. Other than that, ESK is still a great school and I would whole heartedly recommend it.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville 5

Posted July 29, 2010
- a parent
We toured most of the private schools in West Knoxville and ESK was the one that felt most like home. ESK has one of the lowest student/teacher ratio of any in Knox. The school uses a unique, self governing system called "Tribe Rules". We like it so much that we use it at home.


Episcopal School Of Knoxville 5

Posted July 02, 2010
- a parent
ESK is unlike any school we have ever experienced. The low student-to-teacher ratio means your children are not treated as a mass of faces but individually with curriculum dynamically tailored to both their individual strengths and weaknesses.The child's classwork is based on his or her abilities/potential, not the classroom's abilities.ESK openly displays the school's/children's "mission statement" throughout the school and is taught from day one.This system quickly becomes self-governing reducing negative behavior and teaching a child how to resolve issues when they do arise both at school and at home.We especially like the way the classes work together.Arts classes' projects (and even athletics) deal with what is being learned in the core classes such as science and math. For instance, if the environment is the focus in science, art projects will also focus on the environment.Visit the campus and you will understand.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville 5

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
What we love best about ESK is the focus on whole child development. The math, reading and science curiculums are all interelated and focus on learning independent analysis, not pure memorization of facts. The environment, while not sterile, is more wholesome than we've seen in the public schools. Love and respect for each other is taught daily. No school can be perfect and there may be a couple of kids needing extra discipline, but the number is such that the teachers can focus on teaching and not on keeping the class in line. If you're looking for a school that will develop an independent, creative, self-thinking child, then ESK is for you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Episcopal School Of Knoxville
950 Episcopal School Way, Knoxville, TN  37932
(865) 777-9032
Last modified Episcopal School Of Knoxville is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Episcopal School Of Knoxville Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top