Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
360 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Episcopal School Of Knoxville 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
I am a parent at the Episcopal School, and I love it. The teachers are warm and wise with kids. The students learn to love learning through exploration and discovery. Teachers enjoy their very good student/teacher ratio, and they have the freedom to teach with passion. This inspires the love of learning in kids. On top of that, the Episcopal School of Knoxville might be the only place in town for families who want a top notch education with a patient, developmental approach to their child's spiritual formation. They truly welcome families and work to create a real community of nurture and learning that respects the worth of each child as beloved of God.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
My daughter wants homework. She is interested in what's she's learning, so she wants to come home and show us. I know not everyone experiences this, but I'm grateful for a little homework. It has never seemed unreasonable to us.


Episcopal School Of Knoxville
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
One day my daughter came home talking about how it must feel to be a refugee. On another she came home talking about how hard it must be for people in wheelchairs. To my delight, I have noticed her waking up to the plight of others. I think much of this is because of the service projects that are going on at ESK. Kids get to do all sorts of wonderful things for the community.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
In addition to the positive messages students receive in chapel every day, the school is one of the few to still support a full time guidance program. Students and teachers work to build a safe learning community by emphasizing mutual respect and honesty.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Tyler (2nd grade teacher) is the most attentive, nurturing and effective teacher the school has.


Episcopal School Of Knoxville
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Children are often given too much homework because there is little time in the classroom.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville 2

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
My children attended ESK for many years. The K-2 years were very sweet for my children. However, as they got older we realized they were not meeting the academic standards compared to children in other private and public schools. There is not a reading comprehension program in place, the children are not taught basic grammar concepts and the school lacks a writing program. Parents do not realize how far behind their children are until they leave the school. At first glance, the school appears warm, inviting and sweet. The school lacks discipline, leaving the classroom chaotic and little time to focus on academics. The school has continued to decrease the student enrollment, leaving them to add Pre-K programs to make up the deficit. The Lower School Director does not like for parents to come to her with any concerns regarding academics or the teachers. There are several teachers who have had complaints against them. Many of these complaints are serious and involve teachers mistreatment of students. I recommend anyone who is considering ESK to ask to see the ERB scores and ask specific questions about their academics.

Episcopal School Of Knoxville 1

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
I had children in the lower school at ESK for multiple years. This school has a solid enrichment program (daily chapel, gym 3x a wk, Spanish 3x a wk, Chinese 1x a wk, etc.).This enrichment program comes at an academic cost. The students spent more time in a day outside of the homeroom classroom where core learning should occur. There is no formal science program.The school fails to focus on strong academics as it purports. Each grade does hands-on projects which involve abstract concepts for children who tend to be concrete thinkers. The projects were cool and visually appealing for promotion, but they lacked the tie with a larger curriculum. There is a perception that the academics are rigorous because there is a lot of homework.However, since there is little time in the classroom for reading/math, kids are not taught what they need to learn & are not given time to repeat & practice the new skills. Often, my kids would be struggling with homework & tell me that it was not covered in class. My kids were easily frustrated by the lack of instruction & the multiple transitions that occurred during the day.I did not see academic progress, and I had questions regarding the individualized learning plans which were heavily promoted during the admissions process. I discovered that these individualized plans don’t exist at ESK. When I had discussions with teachers/administration regarding my concerns, I was treated disrespectfully & they reacted in very defensive manners on multiple occasions. In addition, I was reminded that I would be required to pay the full year tuition even if I chose to withdraw my children from the school early. It is quite a financial commitment when you are dissatisfied with the education that you are paying for & the school does nothing to improve the situation for your children.The school has other issues as well (enrollment is down, financial difficulties, inexperienced and unqualified teachers, liberal ideology in religion class, & poor discipline program focusing on negative consequences). I cannot recommend ESK to anyone who wants a strong academic environment. ESK’s curriculum & focus is not based on children's educational needs. Unfortunately, the children’s educational needs are being neglected at a cost of around $14,000 per child. There are better public and private school options in Knoxville that focus on what is best for kids!


Episcopal School Of Knoxville 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
Our children have had a wonderful experience at ESK. The class sizes are small so teaching is more tailored to the individual child's need. One of the best student teacher ratios in Knoxville! Academics are strong and children excelling are challenged to grow and learn more. Hands on learning is excellent....dissecting cow's eyeball in 2nd grade, projects, Mandarin, Spanish, fabulous art education and fabulous PE! So far, each teacher we've had has had a sincere interest in our child's academic and personal development. Chapel and the inclusive values of the school are a strong draw as well as the focus on giving back to the community and helping others. Families are friendly and real. Children are encouraged to think out of the box and learn various ways to solve problems. ESK is a great school!

Episcopal School Of Knoxville 2

Posted January 02, 2013
- a parent
This is our third year at ESK. Overall, it has been unimpressive academically and I do a lot of extra schooling at home. They are constantly asking for money and they give special treatment to those who donate largely. The elementary school prinicipal is inexperienced, she was previously a 2nd grade teacher at ESK. She has little social skills and appears nice until you have a complaint. She will then tell you that you are the only person that has ever complained about that issue. She must not realize that parents actually talk to each other. There is not much parent involvement, most PTA meetings have about 10 parents in attendance on a good day and it is so difficult to get any parents to volunteer. About 50% of the teachers are excellent. The other 50% do not belong at a $12,000/year school. 4th and 5th grade are challenging in a good way, but the kids are so academically unprepared for those years-it makes it very difficult for them. The middle school principal is excellent, so that is a positive. We will be going to St John Neuman next year. I would look for another school if you want strong academics and good leadership, it's not at ESK.

Nearby schools

Episcopal School Of Knoxville
950 Episcopal School Way, Knoxville, TN  37932
(865) 777-9032
Last modified Episcopal School Of Knoxville is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top