Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Greenway School

Private | 6-8

 
 

Living in Knoxville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $292,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

The previous comment must have been posted in error, and perhaps is in reference to a different school. Greenway School has had the same director (not "administrator") for 4 years, and the change from the retiring superintendent (not "administrator") brought seamless change several years ago. Anyone posting on this site in January, 2014, would not have experienced any change in the school's administration. We have an extremely high rate of satisfaction among our parents and students this year. We continue to be a nurturing, friendly place where students enjoy school and can advance to their highest level.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 21, 2014

Wow, for a school whose approach SEEMS very accepting and open-minded, I am astonished that they keep administrators who are as difficult to deal with as Greenway's are. The founder is wonderful, but retiring. The main administrator is neither patient nor friendly. This is unfortunate, because the experience otherwise has been great, but she has ruined the experience for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

My child has had a wonderful experience at Greenway. This is the way school should be. The curriculum is connected across all subjects. Field trips are incorporated on a regular basis and enhance the curriculum. Problem based learning is an integral part of the curriculum. Testing does NOT drive the curriculum - very refreshing. Teachers and staff nurture students. Truly just one fee - no extra hidden costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

I have 2 children who have attended Greenway School who are very different. The teachers take the time to get to know each child so they can enhance the educational experience for each individual. Both have done so well, both academically and socially, due to their experiences at Greenway. I would have no hesitation to recommend this middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

I have had the privilege of working at Greenway School since it opened in 1998. It is a joy to work at a school where middle schoolers are really excited about learning. Our teachers are experienced, nurturing and creative. Because classes are never larger than 10 to 14 students, the teachers can and do give each child the attention needed. They teach hands-on lessons in every subject. We provide each student with a personal laptop computer and teach them to be fully computer literate. Greenway excels in communication with parents, providing frequent updates on class work and student progress, responding quickly to parent queries, and holding conferences whenever requested. These dedicated teachers always go the extra mile to help students learn. Each student is allowed to advance to his/her highest level. Almost all of our graduates qualify for honors classes when they enroll in high school.


Posted November 18, 2009

This is our child's second year at Greenway School and her experience has been fabulous! The decision to enroll our daughter at Greenway School is one of the best we have ever made because of the wonderful impact it is having on her self-esteem, her social skills and her academics. She has learned so much about herself and her abilities thanks to the terrific teachers at Greenway. The teachers help the students with real life situations and they bring creativity and fun into the classroom. Our child loves school now that she is at Greenway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

I cannot agree that Greenway School does not leave children behind. We chose Greenway because our child has ADHD, with a very high tested IQ, and a small school was recommended for him. We met with with the teaching staff prior to his first day and not once did they indicate an unwillingness to work with us. However, within the first few weeks teachers stated to us in public that our child was 'lazy' and 'slow' - perceptions that those who understand ADHD have tried hard to disspell. Additionally, we tried to get the teachers to communicate with us the assignments and when they were due - they refused, saying that it was our child's choice whether or not to tell us. How ridiculous to expect that of any 6th grader! The bright 'normal' child with money is the only child this school won't leave behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

Greenway is an educational breath of fresh air. Teachers who love to teach and are allowed to teach their subjects with enthusiasm and creativity. A school size that creates a sense of community where 'no child is left behind'. For those middle schoolers who are bright, but not able to get the attention they need in a large public school setting, this is the best Knoxville has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Our family is truly appreciating this school. The small number of students means that they don't fall through the cracks. The teachers believe in teaching the information AT SCHOOL rather than sending the middle schooler home with rafts of homework. I feel like we can breathe and enjoy our evenings at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

Greenway is an excellent middle school. They provide individual help for the kids and challenge them so that they will be ready for high school. The teachers at Greenway are absolutely some of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

Unique in its' approach, Greenway School is a little known treasure. It combines challenging academics with opportunities for creative expression and independent thinking---all in a nurturing community. Middle school is typically a difficult transition, but Greenway has been our best school experience yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

544 Canton Hollow Road
Knoxville, TN 37934
Phone: (865) 777-0197

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Annoor Academy
Knoxville, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT