Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Private
Knoxville, TN
Students enrolled: 28

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenway School 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a teacher
The previous comment must have been posted in error, and perhaps is in reference to a different school. Greenway School has had the same director (not "administrator") for 4 years, and the change from the retiring superintendent (not "administrator") brought seamless change several years ago. Anyone posting on this site in January, 2014, would not have experienced any change in the school's administration. We have an extremely high rate of satisfaction among our parents and students this year. We continue to be a nurturing, friendly place where students enjoy school and can advance to their highest level.

Greenway School 2

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
Wow, for a school whose approach SEEMS very accepting and open-minded, I am astonished that they keep administrators who are as difficult to deal with as Greenway's are. The founder is wonderful, but retiring. The main administrator is neither patient nor friendly. This is unfortunate, because the experience otherwise has been great, but she has ruined the experience for us.


Greenway School 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
My child has had a wonderful experience at Greenway. This is the way school should be. The curriculum is connected across all subjects. Field trips are incorporated on a regular basis and enhance the curriculum. Problem based learning is an integral part of the curriculum. Testing does NOT drive the curriculum - very refreshing. Teachers and staff nurture students. Truly just one fee - no extra hidden costs.

Greenway School 5

Posted November 19, 2010
- a parent
I have 2 children who have attended Greenway School who are very different. The teachers take the time to get to know each child so they can enhance the educational experience for each individual. Both have done so well, both academically and socially, due to their experiences at Greenway. I would have no hesitation to recommend this middle school.

Greenway School 0
no rating

Posted November 20, 2009
- a community member
I have had the privilege of working at Greenway School since it opened in 1998. It is a joy to work at a school where middle schoolers are really excited about learning. Our teachers are experienced, nurturing and creative. Because classes are never larger than 10 to 14 students, the teachers can and do give each child the attention needed. They teach hands-on lessons in every subject. We provide each student with a personal laptop computer and teach them to be fully computer literate. Greenway excels in communication with parents, providing frequent updates on class work and student progress, responding quickly to parent queries, and holding conferences whenever requested. These dedicated teachers always go the extra mile to help students learn. Each student is allowed to advance to his/her highest level. Almost all of our graduates qualify for honors classes when they enroll in high school.


Greenway School 0
no rating

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
This is our child's second year at Greenway School and her experience has been fabulous! The decision to enroll our daughter at Greenway School is one of the best we have ever made because of the wonderful impact it is having on her self-esteem, her social skills and her academics. She has learned so much about herself and her abilities thanks to the terrific teachers at Greenway. The teachers help the students with real life situations and they bring creativity and fun into the classroom. Our child loves school now that she is at Greenway.

Greenway School 0
no rating

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
I cannot agree that Greenway School does not leave children behind. We chose Greenway because our child has ADHD, with a very high tested IQ, and a small school was recommended for him. We met with with the teaching staff prior to his first day and not once did they indicate an unwillingness to work with us. However, within the first few weeks teachers stated to us in public that our child was 'lazy' and 'slow' - perceptions that those who understand ADHD have tried hard to disspell. Additionally, we tried to get the teachers to communicate with us the assignments and when they were due - they refused, saying that it was our child's choice whether or not to tell us. How ridiculous to expect that of any 6th grader! The bright 'normal' child with money is the only child this school won't leave behind.

Greenway School 5

Posted March 16, 2009
- a parent
Greenway is an educational breath of fresh air. Teachers who love to teach and are allowed to teach their subjects with enthusiasm and creativity. A school size that creates a sense of community where 'no child is left behind'. For those middle schoolers who are bright, but not able to get the attention they need in a large public school setting, this is the best Knoxville has to offer.


Greenway School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
Our family is truly appreciating this school. The small number of students means that they don't fall through the cracks. The teachers believe in teaching the information AT SCHOOL rather than sending the middle schooler home with rafts of homework. I feel like we can breathe and enjoy our evenings at home.

Greenway School 5

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
Greenway is an excellent middle school. They provide individual help for the kids and challenge them so that they will be ready for high school. The teachers at Greenway are absolutely some of the best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenway School
544 Canton Hollow Road, Knoxville, TN  37934
(865) 777-0197
Last modified Greenway School is a Private school that serves grades 6-8
Greenway School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top