Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


97 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hardin Valley Academy 3

Posted December 11, 2014
- a student
PART 1 As a student that attends Hardin Valley let me give you some advice. Firstly, all over the walls and floors of HVA there are stains from several unknown substances. In the gym I have seen what appears to be snot smeared on the walls, in the bathroom something brown around the toilets, and many other things including a variety of drink stains. There are dust bunnies everywhere covering every corner, dead bugs scattered about, and one time I found blood all over one of the water fountains. Classrooms seem to be kept reasonably nice, but bathroom and other areas of the school are not. Secondly, bullying is a huge problem at HVA. As a student I hear numerous ocassions of people being bullied, and it's not just any bullying. On a daily basis people get followed to their class, told to kill themselves, pushed, shoved, provoked, ridiculed, and shamed for their body type, skin color, and much more. Yet the teachers do nothing. Everyone who has talked to me about their cases of bullying has also gone to the office. They have had proof of bullying like text messages, they have broke down crying, and even been scared to go class.

Hardin Valley Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Just six years ago, Hardin Valley Academy is Knox County's largest high school with just over 2,000 students, with its students divided into four academies- Business/Law/Public Affairs, Liberal Arts, Health Sciences, and STEM. HVA enables staff and students to collaborate on educational projects in all academic areas. The school offers multiple AP and Honors track courses plus dual enrollment opportunities at the nearby community college. Its 2014 grads were awarded $22 million in scholarships last year. The school boasts nationally recognized a first rate band, orchestra, arts, and theatre program plus TSA, FIRST Robotics team 3824, an award-winning yearbook, DECA, HOSA, and diverse extra-curricular programs. The sports department features several state champions and numerous opportunities for student participation. Challenging academics, caring staff, and amazing students foster a terrific atmosphere. Administrators know your kids and support them in so many ways.


Hardin Valley Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
our Academy is wonderful community of students- all shapes, sizes, & smarts- and teachers- also all shapes, sizes, smarts and empathetic- , along with an administration ( both at HVA and in the county school system) who see the bigger picture in their planning of courses, advanced opportunities and academy endorsements. And the athletics and arts opportunities are awesome too!

Hardin Valley Academy 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a community member
Dear the parent that made a comment in August, You have to realize that in August, the staff are overwhelmed with many schedule conflicts due to the school year starting, it happens in every school. The staff do not mock the students, they may joke around with the kids because it relieves tension and creates a more friendly bond that makes kids comfortable with being around them and confronting them with issues, like your child did. Also, HVA has a wonderful academic program and even if your child's class doesn't go to their preferred field of study, there is room for extra classes in the schedule that don't have to be part of the focus, that's what block scheduling is for. Furthermore, every school has overcrowding. It comes with the growing human population and even if you had stayed in the Farragut district, you would have the same issues there. Even though HVA isn't the most perfect school, it's still in a lot better conditon than others, and the staff is trying to figure out the best way to run things but the school is still considered new if compared to surrounding schools, so it still has some flaws.

Hardin Valley Academy 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
HVA is absolutely the most progressive high school in the county. Moving into the zone to send our kids there is the best move ever. The administration has defined goals and an outstanding staff; the teacher, teaching methods, Academy approach are all focused toward the student excelling in a particular area before graduating. The advanced level of certain classes, AP level courses, and outstanding extra curricular clubs and events are all top notch. The athletics programs and facilities are first rate, as are my kids coaches. All 5 stars for our family.


Hardin Valley Academy 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
We moved from the Farrugut school district with the hopes this school would be just as great. But it has been nothing but problems. First of all, the school is over crowded. They have to make multiple bus trips for the same route. The staff is less than stellar. They literally mocked my child because she was upset they screwed up her schedule and she has to take throw away classes that do NOT count towards her desired course of study because of crowding issues. The guidance office does not contact the parents to help work out these issues. I would talk about the attitude of the children who attend this school, but I do not want to offend other parents. Lets just say this school sucks and I regret EVER buying a home in its district.

Hardin Valley Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
We moved to Knoxville from out of state, and have two daughters at Hardin Valley Academy. They have felt comfortable there from the first day. The kids have been nice to them, and even invited them to eat lunch the first day so they were not uncomfortable. It is a large school, but my girls do not feel like they are a number. They are taking many challenging and interesting classes like Orchestra, French, AP, etc. We are very pleased with our decision to purchase a home in this school's district so that my kids can attend the Hardin Valley schools.

Hardin Valley Academy 0
no rating

Posted November 13, 2010
- a parent
Hardin Valley is communicating with parents, encouraging students to acheive, and working the academy program to it's fullest. Parents, this is a chance of a lifetime for your students and if each student took this seriously, there would be some great accomplishments come from this program. Keep up the good work teachers and staff and support people. Thanks for your dedication


Hardin Valley Academy 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2010
- a parent
I love this school to the their efforts in trying to give every student the opportunity to achieve a goal. A way to sucessed in graduate and get a scholarship for future education to college. The try to allow each student to leave their school with the idea they can and will go on the better themselves. The staff from principle all the way down to drivers education teachers have made my children feel they are important in their views as long as they try.

Hardin Valley Academy 0
no rating

Posted November 11, 2010
- a parent
It's great school with a caring administration and teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hardin Valley Academy
11345 Hardin Valley Rd, Knoxville, TN  37932
(865) 690-9690
Last modified Hardin Valley Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hardin Valley Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. Top