Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dogwood Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
The art teacher is the best ever!!!! I love this art show and all the interactive activities.

Dogwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
ms rudder, our 3rd grade teacher! you are awesome ! we really appreciated the time you took with jonathan


Dogwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
Grace Taylor is the best art teacher. Thanks for all of the amazing hard work you do.

Dogwood Elementary School 4

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
up until this year, they did not say they pledge in the mornings. We had spoken with the teachers an dthey agreed that it should be done ,

Dogwood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 01, 2016
- a community member
Teachers are considerate of family time yet aim to master the skills.s and objectives set forth by KCS


Dogwood Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2016
- a community member
As a PTO member I can share that Dogwood has a highly professional and caring staff that goes above and beyond to ensure high quality educational experiences and great successes are possible for all students. This is a TAP a school which means that teaching staff is constantly being enriched by and exposed to team of experts that help guide and tailor instruction so that students and teachers get the most out of each lesson. Dogwood Elementary is also partnered with the community in effort to improve the way school meets the needs of staff, students, their families, and the community as a whole. This particular school has many unique features which make it so spectacular and this is why I enjoy collaborating with a team that is always looking to lead the way in Knox County.

Dogwood Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a community member
Dogwood staff shows respect to students and encourage them to reciprocate to peers and staff. Students give one another feedback via accountable talk during academics, they encourage one another too. The use language such as expectations instead of rules.

Dogwood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a community member
Again this school uses guidance counselor led lessons that aim to foster comparison, respect, caring attitudes, fairness and safety for all. The school offers incentives to reward kind words and actions. Many teachers have kind act incentives in addition in the classrooms.


Dogwood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a community member
Yes, this school strives to create models and rewards for citizenship. The opportunities and consequences are fairly enforced in accordance with the liberties taken by each student. The have had a year round kindness revolution, and SOARabrations to reward well behaved students. They offer continuous models for behavior and support for those who needed additional support to meet expectations and according to the latest PTO office refferals are down too!

Dogwood Elementary School 3

Posted July 31, 2013
- a community member
I attended this school for 3 years, and in all of my years I had one absolutely horrid year... Which occurred awhile back I had a total of 4 teachers, which was absolutely ridiculous. However one year I had the best teacher ever!!! I really think it depends on which teacher you get.

Nearby schools

Dogwood Elementary School
705 Tipton Avenue Southeast, Knoxville, TN  37920
(865) 579-5677
Last modified Dogwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top