Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Christenberry Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 549 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

My school is awesome ! Constantly improving,and helping students learn through computer tech knowledge , and personal instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Christenberry is a great school with thoughtful, bright teachers. It's in a wonderful (and walk-able) historic and diverse neighborhood. I wish they had a better budget to afford digital tools as that is the future of society.


Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter's school is Chistenberry Elementary. The teachers and the principals make sure that the children are safe at all times. They have made great strides to make sure the children have protection each day with a new saftey officer and a phone outside the office doors to make sure no one enters that should not be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

The teachers all really care for the students and the kids are well disciplined and motivated. It is just a wonderful school and I wouldn't change a thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Christenberry has one of the best learning and working environments that I have ever seen in a school. The staff truly cares about their students, the community, and their colleagues. There is passion for educating and loving students at this school like I have never seen before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

My 5 year old has cerebral palsy and I have to say they have done an excellent job caring for her this year! Thank you Mrs. Glasheen you are a wonderful teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

As a parent coming from Virginia Beach my children were actually ahead of their classmates which was a bit concerning. The teachers are great I love the involvment of the arts and science and the communication is there. Just have to remember this is a Tennessee school but out of all of them I have seen I do belive this is the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

This school is exceptional in everyway. The kids and their learning is the number one priority for every teacher in this school.My daughter started out behind her class and by the end of the year was ahead of her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Christberry does an excellent job with the students.I do,how ever,think improvement could be made concerning any issues that may come up involving teachers and students.(I.E. The way the meeting is set up when there is a conflicting story between teacher and child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

K teacher Mrs. Turner is awesome! This is a great school. HOWEVER, when we moved and she attended another Knox County school for First grade, we were in for a rude awakening! We always knew this school is a 'Project Grad' school and never thought anything of it. A few weeks into the 1st grade the teacher said that she was 1/2 a year behind all of the other students in her class. Something to consider!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

Christenberry is a fantastic school for any child. The Teachers and other staff are superb. My son will have to move to Farragut this year because of relocation, but he has attended Christenberry since Kindergarten. All 3 of the teachers he had previously informed us of negative or positive feedback regarding our son. You will enjoy this school and be suprised how well the staff educates your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

I feel that Christenberry is a great school. My son will be going into third grade this year and we havent had any problems!My child has been above average in all subjects and I feel it is due to the excellent teachers. If you are involved in your childrens education, you can be there to make sure it is on track. Christenberry lets you be involved in your childs education and that is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

this school has been wonderful to our family in the years my kids have been going here. the teachers are super. everyone works as a team and its like a closeknit family. this community and the PTA is great on helping the school get the money for fund raisers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

I have two children attending Christenberry and I have nothing but praise to give the wonderful teachers.The teachers are very caring, and are willing to go the extra mile for the kids.Im not as involved as I would like to be and if parents have concerns about the teachers,the school or how their child is learning they should get involved....It takes team work....I have three more children to go to school in the next few years and I know the teachers and staff will give them their all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2004

My daughter was in kindergarten this past year and her teacher was just wonderful. You could not ask for any better. She had my daughter reading on a 1st grade level almost 2nd grade level. I am an involved parent and I seen what the teachers have to put up with. You can tell some of these students get no discipline at home so they think they do not have to listen to an authority figure and it keeps the other students from learning because the teachers are spending more valueable teaching time on the students who get out of order while they are trying to teach. Hats off to all the staff for doing a terrific job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

My neice has been having trouble with the staff of this school for 3 years. Her children have been treated unfairly, punished on another childs word, the teachers dont communicate with the office, they will let anyone off the street come in and pick up your child, they lose kids, and cant keep simple records, they lie about accidents, the list goes on. If I had children in this age bracket that were zoned for this school, I would sell my house and move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

I went to Christenberry Elem. I was in the fifth grade the year it opened. I am now a senior in high school and fifth grade was very favorite year in school because my teacher made learning fun. Christenberry is ver clean and the teachers are all very nice and put teaching their children before anything else.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
16%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
23%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
21%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students48%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students80%
African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students24%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students26%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students72%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 67%
Black 20% 23%
Hispanic 12% 7%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 594-8508

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

927 Oglewood
Knoxville, TN 37917
Phone: (865) 594-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


First Lutheran School
Knoxville, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT