Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ball Camp Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 461 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

Ball Camp is a wonderful school, with many nurturing, hard-working teachers and staff. We have loved our school experiences there. The principal, assistant principal, and support staff are very accessible and really get to know their students as individuals. I have found teacher communication to be excellent, and the classrooms all very inviting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

We have had the most amazing experience with our son in Kindergarten this year. He participated in the Cedar Bluff preK program last year, and we had some issues with it, but our experience here has been beyond great! Mrs. Bishop is our son's teacher, and we really feel like she takes her time to know each child and make sure they are getting what they need. She is very energetic, and our son just LOVES her! I have seen an amazing change in his self-discipline and obedience in general, and I know I can attribute it to the way she manages her classroom. Also, we have nothing but great things to say about the staff. The ladies in the office are super sweet, and know our son by name. They are always very gracious when I have to bring my younger two with me because I forgot to give medicine or need to bring lunch for my oldest. The principal is always out and socializing with families during school events. We were planning to send our son to a private school this year, but I am so glad we didn't! It has been a great experience. We love the neighborhood feel of this school, and the staff couldn't be more welcoming!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

My ladies go to school at Ball Camp Elementary. My youngest is hyperactive and almost everywhere we have been all the teachers just want to put her on meds because of her grade issues. Until this year! She has the most amazing second grade teacher! My oldest daughter adores her third grade teacher as well! It is hard to find a school where two kids can be happy with their teachers and classmates. The school has worked with my girls so much. Before Ball Camp I was looking at having to put my daughter on ADHD meds! Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Our family has had a wonderful experience at Ball Camp Elementary so far. We have two boys, grades Kindergarten and 3rd, and can say that our time at Ball Camp Elementary has been great. The community is small, with a close and family-oriented feel to it... similar to what my husband and I experienced as children. We love being a part of the Ball Camp family and look forward to more great years ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

We love Ball Camp! We moved into this school zone before we had children with plans of moving by the time we had school age children. Boy, am I glad we didn't! With all the over-crowding in the schools around us, this school is a hidden treasure and the teachers and administration are top-notch. Parental involvement is appreciated and encouraged and they put the students first in everything they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

Ball Camp is Knox County's best kept secret. Our TN report card scores are just as high as some of the larger and more popular public schools, but the great thing about BC is it is SMALL. My third grader has 17 kids in her class, 4th grader has 21 in his class. What other wrote is true, the principal is top notch and knows every child, every parent. She even knows my dog! This is like going back in time, in a good way. Very community oriented school and we LOVE it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

We just love Ball Camp Elementary. The fifth grade teachers are awesome, especially Mrs. Sullivan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

Have had a lot of issues with the leadership at this school. We have asked that our child be transfered to another school. Knox County and Ball Camp will not allow the student to transfer since it is "Outside the normal transfer period". If you send your child, do not expect anything special. I have had several kids go throught his school, nieces, nephews older child, but have never had a problem with the school until now. Now we must move to get away from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

We have loved Ball Camp for the last 3 years. Our children perform at higher than grade level, and we found that their teachers look for opportunities to continue to develop and push them to acheive more. The office staff is caring and the principal is in it to win it. One day last year in the midst of a huge downpour it was the principal who was standing in the rain helping to direct traffic. We feel like Ball Camp is family and couldn't be prouder of this hidden treasure in Knoxville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

Ball Camp is one of the best kept secrets in Knoxville. The school is small and has a very friendly feel to it. Because of it's size, all of the teachers know the names of almost all of the children. Educationally my child has done very well. She has always scored high on her TCAPS. I know this is because of the wonderful teachers at Ball Camp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Principle is trying hard not to let any child behind anywere. My child received after school reading classes. Reading improved and she is now reading is at grade level and is improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

It is the smallest school and one of the oldest in the knox county school district and in the age when we want everything to be bigger, and newer, this school reminds those of us with kids that go there that it isn't the size of the school or how new it looks that makes a school great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

My daughter started 3rd grade there at Ball Camp. When I registered Alexa the office staff treated us like we belonged there and was very helpful. When classes started it was a little rocky in the begging. The teacher and assistant principal was more then happy to hear our issues and find away to resolve them. The rest of the year was just wonderful. Alexa is now looking forward to the new year and her new teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I absolutley love Ball Camp It is the best school everyone is so friendly.You never walk in the door that someone doesn't smile at you.Both of my girls have loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

I am actually not a parent or a student. I am a Former Student. I loved Ball Camp so much, but i only went there in Kindergarden and 1st grade. I had Mrs. Frazier and Mrs. Dean. I am now in 7th grade. I then moved and went to Cedar Bluff. I HATE IT!!!!!!! (they didn't even have a cafateria till they built the new Elementry. I just want to say that i loved it and would love to be back but i'm to old. Say hi to Mrs.Tatem. I started out with her as a teacher and transferred to mrs.frazier's class in kindergarden.(hope she still remembers me.) sincerely, Elena C.


Posted October 27, 2006

My son attended Ball Camp and we loved the friendly, small-town atmosphere. We feel that he got a good start on his education. While it is an older building, it was always clean and well maintained. The office staff was always helpful. The only bad experience we ever had was with his 2nd grade teacher the last 6 weeks of school. She was a bully and treated me like a 5 year old when I tried to work with her to solve a problem. Again, though, this was a one-person problem and if we had this to do over, would have involved the principal (we tried to handle it on our own).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

I am very grateful that my children have had the opportunity to attend Ball Camp Elementary School. We actually moved back in to the Ball Camp school district in order for our kids to return to this excellent school. The staff are very involved with the kids, and the overall atmosphere of the school is that of a small community or support. It is so easy to get lost in the larger schools and for children to be treated as a number instead of an individual. I would recommend Ball Camp Elementary to anyone and I am glad that my children still have several more years in this unique and above-average learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

I have 2 children in Ball Camp. The school itself is in great condition and is highly maintained. They are upgrading the outdoor equipment this summer to get ready for the fall. The teachers are very caring and we have had success twice in kindergarten and once in first grade. The office staff is very nice and approachable. The principal is usually outside every morning to great the children as they are dropped off for school. The principal is also almost there on a daily basis and is always happy to talk with the parents. The education seems to be just fine but I feel that my children should have more homework for all the different subjects they are learning. The only thing that needs to be implemented is more parent volunteer opportunites in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

'We are sorry for those who had a terrible time at Ball Camp. Both of our children had wonderful experiences there. We found the teachers and staff to be very dedicated and very knowledgeable. Our children were well-educated and well-treated by all of the teachers. There are many opportunities for children to learn and grow in academics and the arts. We always felt welcomed at the school. The playground is not large, but it is adequate. When something breaks on the playground or in the school, the Schools' Maintenance Dept. must fix the broken item(s). As far as the misspelled words in the school yearbook, please note that no teachers were involved with the making of the yearbook. It was a PTA project which has reflected poorly upon the school and the teachers. Otherwise, the PTA is great. And Ball Camp is a wonderful school! From Happy Parents'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

Ball Camp Primary School was a terrible experience for our daughter. The playground was in horrible shape and no efforts were made to repair broken equipment. Beyond this, the quality of education was dismal. Every day, my daughter brought home papers from the school with misspelled words on them. There is little effort to administer to the needs of advanced students. We found the senior staff to be condescending at best - uninterested at worst. Parental involvement at first was encouraged, but later in the year it was discouraged, The most telling example of this school's poor quality for us was the school yearbook. In the front of the book, the school principal's picture was shown with the title 'Principle' underneath. Unbelievable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students57%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 67%
Black 7% 23%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 539-3042

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9801 Middlebrook Pk
Knoxville, TN 37931
Phone: (865) 539-7888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT