Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Bluff Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Cedar Bluff Elementary School has a rating of 5 stars from the moment you enter the building as the office staff is friendly and helpful as well as the staff of the cafeteria and a great job is done by both areas that help make up a great school. Next the library is a well run also. The big highlight of Cedar Bluff Elementary are the teachers and the administrative staff. I am proud to say we have a family member attending Cedar Bluff Elementary School and the success that has come to our sons who attended Cedar Bluff Elementary during the 70. Teachers are dedicated to educating the children and that is the key to success. Let's not forget the ones ho get all of us out of the parking lots every afternoon. The traffic guards do a great job. Betty Gross


Posted March 5, 2014

Our daughter is studying in this school from kindergarten. Now she is in 3rd grade. She loves her school. We are totally satisfied with the school and our daughter's progress. Thanks to all the teachers and other staff. We are going to join our son also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Our daughter switched to this school mid-year in Kindergarten and suddenly soared. The teachers are wonderful and attentive and engaging and the advantages of a large school were everywhere, from countless new computers in the library to countless extra-curricular activities and arts and music and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

I love Cedar Bluff Elementary. All 3 of my children have attend, the teachers have always been so helpful and I feel really care about my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

Not impressed at all with the school. We will not be sending our back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

My experience with Cedar Bluff elementary has been great both socially and with the quality of education. Both my children have been in attendance since K and are now in 4th and 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2011

My experience at Cedar Bluff has been extremely positive with my son, who will be entering 3rd grade in the fall. I was less impressed with his 1st grade teacher than K or 2, but he still progressed well and seemed to enjoy school. CBS deserves parent and community support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

I really love this school. The teachers are so nice and helpful. My daughter is somewhat shy and reserved, but the teacher and staff have made such a huge difference in her. She is more vocal and confident and social. It is great to see her so happy. My daughter loves her teacher and has made great friends. I get emails from her teacher about how she is doing and I love the website! The PTSA is the best! They really are very hands on. I really do believe that this is the very best primary school in the city, hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

My children have had nothing but extremely positive experiences at CBP. A brand new facility should only add to its great staff and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

My son completed kindergarten here at Cedar Bluff Primary. I felt that the atmosphere of learning and encouragement in this school was a priority with teachers, staff and the principal. He had a great year and has exceled in reading and math thanks to the support of his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

My experience with KPS has been very positive. The teachers and facilities are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American41%
Asian60%
Hispanic50%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learners36%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African American41%
Asian40%
Hispanic42%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners7%

Science

All Students74%
African American62%
Asian50%
Hispanic58%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learners29%

Social Studies

All Students88%
African American85%
Asian90%
Hispanic85%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learners79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
White52%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners16%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students53%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners8%

Science

All Students60%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
White70%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners20%

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities86%
English language learners84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students64%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 67%
Hispanic 12% 7%
Black 9% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

705 North Cedar Bluff Rd
Knoxville, TN 37923
Phone: (865) 539-7721

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT