Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Doyle High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, August 28, 2014

i go to this school and I'm bullied daily because of my sexuality by the teachers and students and nothing is ever done about it, also i saw a teacher dealing drugs to some of the students here and during a lifetime wellness they actually showed pornography on the projector.
—Submitted by a student


Posted Thursday, August 28, 2014

Im a Sophomore at South Doyle at the moment and words can not express how much I despise this school. Its full of racist, homophobic, and bigoted people. Not only are the students here but so are the teachers. I've been made fun for my sexuality and my religion at this school and when I try to tell an administrator about my problems they shoo me off and act as if I don't really have any problems. They say to report bullying if you see and or experience it when in reality they could care less about your problems. However most of the teachers are not to blame; its the principals and other administrators at the school. They couldn't run a chicken coop correctly let alone a high school. But there are some teachers that shouldn't be teachers at all. I've had teachers that barely taught at all. They say open thebbook, read it, and do a worksheet. They don't explain anything; just tell us to read out of the bus. This school is more than unsatisfactory to me. It's flat out unacceptable.


Posted February 9, 2014

Whenever I attended this school (My Freshman year) I felt as if the teachers were marvelous and fully dedicated to improve the school. With that being said, the downside to this school are the students. I feel as if half of them actually care about learning while the other half could care less. This school needs to improve the structure upon the students and help them to value education. This is my community school and I wish the best to this school and their improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2013

My freshman year I attended South Doyle. Throughout the year I was bullied because of my religion and the fact that I was weaker/smaller than other kids. When my parents took this to the administration, they (the administration) punished me and not the people bullying me. Also, many of the teachers did not care about the students, and only cared about keeping their jobs. South Doyle is truly a horrible school, and I would not reccomend it to anyone. I now attend the L&N STEM Academy, and it is a much better and safer school. The teachers actually care about the students, and the classes are a healthy challenge. Not to mention the use of iPads, which aid with classes. STEM is definitely one of the best schools in Knoxville (and they accept students from counties surrounding Knox).


Posted October 25, 2013

well we got our computers and there are some students and even teachers that need money for supplies because they are some students who don't have what they need and the teachers have to take time out of their selves and out of their money so we need the money for us to be the best we can be and we are south doyle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2013

Great school! Great leadership by Mr. Berry and his staff! Great things happening at South-Doyle High School! Plenty of honors and AP classes to choose from. I can't stress enough, if you want your student to succeed, YOU, THE PARENT MUST BE INVOLVED! My son attends SDHS and it has been an awesome experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2011

Most of the children at SDHS are wonderful regardless of what Mr Davis and Ms Eaton think or say. According to several friends that teach there, all they hear from Davis and his follower Eaton is negative things about the school, students, and teachers as well as comments how they can fire anyone at any time. With a new administration that truly cares about the children of South Knoxville and bring a positive attitude, the sky is the limit. Unless the current administration is changed, we are going to lose some great teachers and counselors at the end of the year like Karns almost did last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I graduated from this school, my son graduated from this school and now my grandson goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

I am a student in South Doyle High School right now, and have had nothing but positive experiences here. I am a straight-A student, primarily due to the teachers actually understanding their subject matter, and particularly like the way the school administration handles their duties. This school is farther away from the center of Knox County, and as such, policy changes tend to be somewhat slow. As such, the rules tend to be very relaxed. I also went to Karns High School during my Freshman year, so I have a comparison point - The students are much happier here and are only barely falling behind Karns. The theory that "Working hard at all times of every day of the week makes a good student" is absolute junk. Students do better when not in therapy from unnecessary stress.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2010

Im a Current Student at this School it's horrible The teachers can't teach and the prinicpals aren't good authority figures. The only thing that is positive about this school is the College and Career advisor, Mrs. Jackson.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

When my honor student child transferred to South Doyle the very first day i was worried, walking to the office I saw kids making out in front of the school doors. South Doyle offers many opportunities for kids to go several different pathways after they graduate but the educational experience itself is dismal. Instead of kids earning their grades through hard work and study and actually learning, extra credit is almost a given in every class. If you cant make the grade many of the teachers offer so much extra credit work that a child can turn a F into a B easily even if they fail every test. The extra credit work in many cases has no relation to the subject being taught. My honor students main lesson from S. Doyle w was she didn't have to learn anything, all she had to do was turn in the extra credit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

I hate my school. Bullying is such a problem. It seems the troublemakers never get in trouble and the good kids do! The work is a joke and they have basically no exrtracurricular activities. There's no theatre/drama classes or a drama club. I hate it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

In order to change the directions of this school, there needs to be more participation from the parents! School board meeting tonight. I will be there. This school needs changes as a whole. Teachers would be able to do alot more if parents would get behind them instead of on them. I have went w/ my child for weeks and surprised her and them on serveral days. Most of you would not believe how our kids act. I am ready for the community to get active instead of sitting around doing nothing. Remember these kids are the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

My oppinion this school is great my only problem with it is that they have 'Freshman Acadamy' and they are getting rid of that next year. The classes are amazing and they have great electives to choose from. The only thing that any parent would be concerned with at this school is the learning style. If the student doesn't want to learn the teachers won't put in an effort to teach them. In my oppinon, thats not a bad thing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2008

I have two daughters at SDHS, a senior and a freshman. Both were homeschooled from kindergarten through 8th grade. We put them in public school because they had a desire to interact with other kids on a daily basis. We had heard many negative comments about SDHS, but we decided to give it a fair chance. We have not been disappointed. Our oldest has taken all the honors and AP classes that are offered. She has a 4.0 GPA and has scored a 29 on the ACT. Her coursework has been challenging, and her teachers have been excellent. They have inspired her and encouraged her desire for knowledge. The principals have been quick to respond every time I've brought an issue to them; I can't say enough good things about them. They are sincere in their desire to see students succeed. I recommend SDHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I totally agree with the comments about the administration being more concerned with keeping their jobs. If you have any concerns they dismiss you and will not listen to the children or the parents. If a parent brings up a issue it it pushed or shoved under the rug. I will eventually have to speak to the school board about concerns for anyone to even listen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

This school is totally unorganized, too many chiefs, and they do not care about the students, all they care about is their numbers, and keeping their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2005

I graduated S-D in '03. Like many others have said, the major drawback to the school is the amount of apathy among the student body. I think much of this is due in part to the middle school experience. I am not alone when I say it felt as though actual education was suspended during the three years at S-DMS. When freshmen arrive, it's as if the majority have forgotten how to learn. Also, there was the feeling that the curriculum was being catered more toward the fundamental and basic level students as opposed to the college-prep and AP. It was as if administrators felt the C-P and AP students could pretty much fend for themselves. Still, I received quite an education from SD. I currently attend UTK and many of the classes I've taken here so far aren't nearly as challenging as a few I took at S-D.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 11, 2005

South Doyle is a school that lags because the students expect so. Honor and AP students get something out it because they are motivated. Unfortuantly, there is a mass of students who are in fundamental and basic class and nothing is done to help them raise their levels. It's not just that South Doyle is a bad school, it's that parents don't care, teachers are frustrated.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 19, 2005

I think that SDHS is a great school and i would tell anyone to go there.The teachers are really nice and its mostly the students that are bad. The teachers can't do anything about that i think that it is the parents fault.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
38%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
29%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
45%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
53%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
26%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students62%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students46%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students62%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students69%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students53%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students33%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 67%
Black 11% 23%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 577-4540

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2020 Tipton Station Rd
Knoxville, TN 37920
Phone: (865) 577-4475

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Laurel High School
Knoxville, TN


L & N Stem Academy
Knoxville, TN




West High School
Knoxville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT