Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Doyle High School 1

Posted August 28, 2014
- a student
i go to this school and I'm bullied daily because of my sexuality by the teachers and students and nothing is ever done about it, also i saw a teacher dealing drugs to some of the students here and during a lifetime wellness they actually showed pornography on the projector.

South Doyle High School 1

Posted August 28, 2014
- a community member
Im a Sophomore at South Doyle at the moment and words can not express how much I despise this school. Its full of racist, homophobic, and bigoted people. Not only are the students here but so are the teachers. I've been made fun for my sexuality and my religion at this school and when I try to tell an administrator about my problems they shoo me off and act as if I don't really have any problems. They say to report bullying if you see and or experience it when in reality they could care less about your problems. However most of the teachers are not to blame; its the principals and other administrators at the school. They couldn't run a chicken coop correctly let alone a high school. But there are some teachers that shouldn't be teachers at all. I've had teachers that barely taught at all. They say open thebbook, read it, and do a worksheet. They don't explain anything; just tell us to read out of the bus. This school is more than unsatisfactory to me. It's flat out unacceptable.


South Doyle High School 3

Posted February 09, 2014
- a student
Whenever I attended this school (My Freshman year) I felt as if the teachers were marvelous and fully dedicated to improve the school. With that being said, the downside to this school are the students. I feel as if half of them actually care about learning while the other half could care less. This school needs to improve the structure upon the students and help them to value education. This is my community school and I wish the best to this school and their improvement.

South Doyle High School 1

Posted December 10, 2013
- a community member
My freshman year I attended South Doyle. Throughout the year I was bullied because of my religion and the fact that I was weaker/smaller than other kids. When my parents took this to the administration, they (the administration) punished me and not the people bullying me. Also, many of the teachers did not care about the students, and only cared about keeping their jobs. South Doyle is truly a horrible school, and I would not reccomend it to anyone. I now attend the L&N STEM Academy, and it is a much better and safer school. The teachers actually care about the students, and the classes are a healthy challenge. Not to mention the use of iPads, which aid with classes. STEM is definitely one of the best schools in Knoxville (and they accept students from counties surrounding Knox).

South Doyle High School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a student
well we got our computers and there are some students and even teachers that need money for supplies because they are some students who don't have what they need and the teachers have to take time out of their selves and out of their money so we need the money for us to be the best we can be and we are south doyle.


South Doyle High School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
Great school! Great leadership by Mr. Berry and his staff! Great things happening at South-Doyle High School! Plenty of honors and AP classes to choose from. I can't stress enough, if you want your student to succeed, YOU, THE PARENT MUST BE INVOLVED! My son attends SDHS and it has been an awesome experience.

South Doyle High School 4

Posted February 12, 2011
- a parent
Most of the children at SDHS are wonderful regardless of what Mr Davis and Ms Eaton think or say. According to several friends that teach there, all they hear from Davis and his follower Eaton is negative things about the school, students, and teachers as well as comments how they can fire anyone at any time. With a new administration that truly cares about the children of South Knoxville and bring a positive attitude, the sky is the limit. Unless the current administration is changed, we are going to lose some great teachers and counselors at the end of the year like Karns almost did last year.

South Doyle High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
I graduated from this school, my son graduated from this school and now my grandson goes there.


South Doyle High School 4

Posted September 16, 2010
- a student
I am a student in South Doyle High School right now, and have had nothing but positive experiences here. I am a straight-A student, primarily due to the teachers actually understanding their subject matter, and particularly like the way the school administration handles their duties. This school is farther away from the center of Knox County, and as such, policy changes tend to be somewhat slow. As such, the rules tend to be very relaxed. I also went to Karns High School during my Freshman year, so I have a comparison point - The students are much happier here and are only barely falling behind Karns. The theory that "Working hard at all times of every day of the week makes a good student" is absolute junk. Students do better when not in therapy from unnecessary stress.

South Doyle High School 1

Posted April 14, 2010
- a student
Im a Current Student at this School it's horrible The teachers can't teach and the prinicpals aren't good authority figures. The only thing that is positive about this school is the College and Career advisor, Mrs. Jackson.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Doyle High School
2020 Tipton Station Rd, Knoxville, TN  37920
(865) 577-4475
Last modified South Doyle High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Doyle High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews.