Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Farragut Intermediate School

Public | 3-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

ALL they care about is the TCAP score and fundraising. That is it. They don't care about the student, they don't care about the teachers etc. Most of the teachers are very nice.


Posted November 25, 2012

I don't know what the parents below are talking about! We just moved here this school year and my son is thriving here...He has met lots of new friends and has an awesome teacher. He said it is easy to make friends here being the new guy. He says--FIS has nice teachers and good, challenging work...He also said the no bullying policy is always emphasized and he has seen NO bullying problems. He also said the principal is very involved. Let's see...the same parent has two children that are being "bullied" at this school....hmmmm. Sounds strange to me...Kids are kids wherever you go...public or private schools...now and when I went to school...I DO NOT believe the principal or teachers at this school would take bullying lightly...My son loves this school and the teachers and staff are wonderful...Kids need to learn how to handle "bullying...which is a word too widely used" and parents can't rely on the schools to solve all their problems if they have a kid who stands out for whatever reason...Kids will be kids...So please don't listen to this negative ranting...This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

This school is one of the worst! I agree with the previous post about not enforcing the no bullying policy! Nothing is ever done! They tell that they cannot tell you what punishment was given because they know they aren't giving one! Then the situation gets worse and worse and worse! I had to call cops in to get anything done! The principal is incompetent and likes to try to smooth things over to get you to stop pursuing the issue! KEEP PURSUING IT AND KEEP PUSHING! I took my child out put her in private school and know I have another going through the same problems at this school and still nothing being done! This school needs new principals and staff completely! If the bulky tells them they didn't do it then "they must not have done it"! Don't move to this area because you heard it was a good school because believe the cover does not always mean its a good book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

I would not recommend this school. Not only is the school overcrowded but having a no bullying policy and not enforcing it is a big problem. The principles talk a good game but do not follow thru with any punishment for those that bully. Not being from this area has made it difficult for my child to fit in. I don't know what it is about this area but they are not the kind of people we want to be associated with. This unfortunately trickles down to the kids. They are rude and somewhat backward in their way of thinking. Very unfortunate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

I think this schools offers overall a good education. The teachers are very involved and their skills are well utilized. For example, my son has his regular teacher for most of the curriculum, but goes with others kids to a different teacher for math and science. I really cannot see the shortcomings other parents mention here. Having grown up in 30 kids classroom and having thrived, I do not think that is the main issue. Also, there is a lot of homework to the point that sometimes it is very difficult to coordinate that with everyday activities. I see this as a very positive habit to tech. Life is indeed hard for most and better be ready for it right away. Sure, there are things that tick me off from time to time, but nothing is perfect. Overall this school gets my highest ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

I don't feel like the kids get to play outside very often in chilly weather. This is not every class, but several have this problem. Kids need to be able to get energy out even when it's 45 degreees. I love their art, music and pe. I don't like that there are so many kids. Students will never be with their friends again and it's hard to make lasting relationships. The teachers see so many students everyday they don't recognize ones from their class only a year ago which really makes a child feel small in a huge school. I am trying to get my child into a school that cares about the student more than a score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

This school is crowded and has no homework unless your child does not complete classwork,but the teachers do encourage and give the students a whole lot of homework. My child has completed almost 1 hour of homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2008

If you have a child that needs any extra attention at all in order to be successful, you should reconsider puting him/her in FIS. Upon making any request, the standard response from administrators is that they cannot comply due to the large number of students they have to deal with. The curriculum is good, however, and if your child is a good student without any special needs, the school is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

the teachers are the best in the world
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2007

Farragut has great schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

Wonderful place - great staff- family friendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

FIS is a wonderful school. This is my second child to attend and we have had wonderful teachers every year! Very academically challenging and teachers have been very nurturing. Even with current cutbacks the school still offers music, art and p.e. to all grade levels. Parent involvement is unbelievable. Great support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

We moved to the Farragut area in July of 2006. As far as academically, Farragut Intermediate is at the level where my children left off in Upstate New York. I feared they may be way ahead of the other students, but this is not the case. The availability of extracurricular activities like learning to play an instrument, or band or chorus are non-existent in this school, but my daughter did participate in afterschool art this past year that we had to pay extra for. There is huge parent involvement in participating in the classrooms, as well as helping with fundraising. The PTA is a big part of that success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
African American70%
Asian88%
Hispanic80%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students76%
African American50%
Asian92%
Hispanic80%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students89%
African American70%
Asian92%
Hispanic90%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American90%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners36%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students80%
African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learners36%

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities74%
English language learners55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
African American46%
Asian95%
Hispanic78%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students86%
African American55%
Asian92%
Hispanic67%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
African American73%
Asian95%
Hispanic72%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Black 2% 23%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

208 West End Av
Knoxville, TN 37922
Phone: (865) 966-6703

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT