Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Farragut Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1318 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

My child has excelled at FMS. It has been a good experience for her as well as for my husband and I. Several of the teachers tutor before or after school without asking for anything in return. Mr. Underwood(6th) was the best math teacher ever. Ms.Rheder gives her time around the clock for her Cspan students. Many teachers come to watch students outside of school at their local CBFO sports events. I am very thankful to the teachers at this school and would recommend it to all who want to see their child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

Used to think this school was great..... the intermediate school is rude, cold, and heartless now. The principal and staff could care less about the kids anymore. It's all about making nothing less than A's on their report card. If you have a problem or concern, be prepared to have the door slammed in your face. They simply don't care about you or your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

Amazing. Absolutely spectacular. One of the top schools in Tennessee. This is where you should send your children to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

This is an incredible school, with astonishing teachers, parents, and students. I love this place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

As mentioned by another parent who reviewed FMS, I think that the resource services are terrible. Your student will do fine at this school if they are self starters and need no modifications to the standard teaching practices. The IEP meetings are a nightmare every year. I have found that the vast majority of teachers at the school are not willing to work with special needs students to improve the learning experience if it takes any effort on their part. The school has a reputation for very poor IEP compliance throughout the community - and we all compare notes! Up until very recently, I have scratched my head when people talk about how bad the schools are in TN. I am now NO longer confused. I am giving it 2 stars because not all the teachers are uncaring and the office staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

Farragut Middle has over 1500 students, the school is very over crowded, one year my kids classroom used to be a storage closet and it still smelled moldy.FMS claimes to be a blue ribbon school, they strive for academic excellence, but many kids that are slow learners or emotionally challenged are going to fall through the cracks. You can't have that many kids and be able to guarrantee every one of them is getting the best education possible. I think the school is lacking greatly in their resource and special education areas. The special ed kids are kept away from the regular ed ones to the point that many of the students don't even realize they have learning disabled children at their school. What kind of real life experience is that? How can these kids grow up in life with no empathy for different from themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

Farragut is a good school to go to with good teachers. there are clubs for every student to join and it is very safe. This school may not be the best because it has a clique problem. You are part of that group and on;y that group and joining another clique isn't the easiest. I know it sounds bad but to some its horrible. The school is very large though. YOu may have a hard time adjusting if your child was in asmall private school. Other wise ir is great!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2008

I just finished up my three years at Farragut Middle, and am proud to say I made it alive. FMS has a high repuatation to live up to, but what you see on the outside may not always be the same on the inside. There was so much overcrowding at FMS. The classes were huge and sometimes I found it hard to concentrate. The teachers most definitely do not take crap from anyone about anything. They have little respect for students, but there are a small handful of them who I respected greatly because they loved and were great at what they did. The class I suffered most with all three years was Science. I'm not exactly sure what it was, but I just know that I had a lot of trouble with it. All in all, I thought Farragut was great, but it's just not for everybody. Hence CLIQUES.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

I go to school here and it's a great emviorment the teachers are over all friendly. I was wondering about classes next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2008

I also have a son who just started the middle school. He went from loving school when he started the primary school. But once he got to the intermediate school he hated school and begged not to go back. He then began to have trouble in school and they brought in a black vice principle from another grade to sit into the meeting. I asked who she was and why was she there and she did not know. He often got critized for not wanting to be friends with those who wanted to be his friend. They just don't respect differences. In the middle school I see the same things as one of the aids called my son a punk. My son went from being in talented and gifted with all A's & being in a grade level higher in math; to bring home a few F's and not caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I like Farragut a lot, just takes time to get used to. My child was made straight A's his whole life and is now failing the seventh grade. I'm so worried. I email teachers and study with him every night, but I just don't understand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

Strong academics, however, poor extracurricular science and math opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

The two assistant principals are phenomenal. It is time for the head principal to move on. The discipline problems are getting out of control. My third child is currently in 8th grade, and all of his teachers the past three years have been wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

Farragut middle school is to big! There is over one thousand kids in the school. Some teachers don't even know my child's name! I would not recommend Farragut Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

Farragut Middle School has very strong academic programs. The test scores in all subject are above state and national average. The related arts program include Art, Physical Education, Health, Guidance, Chorus, Band, Orchestra, General Music and Technology. The band has 489 members in 6th, 7th, and 8th grade. The chorus has 500 plus including band and orchestra students. If you are looking for a total educational experience FMS is for you. Farragut is in an upper level community and is a very safe area to live.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2005

Farragut Middle School offers many excellent programs. The principal during the 2003-2004 school year was one of the best principals I've seen. Any child who doesn't meet their requirements isn't accepted as one of the crowd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2004

Farragut Middle School is a great school and is a lot of fun. There are many activities and clubs to join. It is very safe because they have many drills for many occasions.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
African American56%
Asian86%
Hispanic54%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners20%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students80%
African American83%
Asian89%
Hispanic50%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
African American83%
Asian93%
Hispanic62%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learners29%

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asian93%
Hispanic92%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities74%
English language learners76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
African American48%
Asian92%
Hispanic76%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners46%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students78%
African American66%
Asian78%
Hispanic67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
African American86%
Asian92%
Hispanic81%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners46%

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Hispanic91%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities84%
English language learners64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African American68%
Asian70%
Hispanic57%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students83%
African American67%
Asian79%
Hispanic61%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learners10%

Science

All Students87%
African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learners30%

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities92%
English language learners50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Black 5% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 West End Av
Knoxville, TN 37922
Phone: (865) 966-9756

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Greenway School
Knoxville, TN





Annoor Academy
Knoxville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT