Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Halls Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2012

I am the grandmother that just wrote a review, sadly I could not cover all area's in my first review.To continue...going into to office you can come accoss what I believe is the main secretary, this is a very unpleasant woman. She is not friendly nor is she kind. Guess you have to be in the P.T.A. or a Mother that gives a lot of free time to this school to get any kind of kindness. Sadly this is a money school, they spend more time on advertising & promoting than on education. And do nothing about bullying.


Posted July 29, 2008

I have two children at Halls Elementary School. My son just finished the 5th Grade and will be starting Halls Middle School in the fall. I have been VERY pleased with this school, the teachers, and the principals. The teachers make reading very important part of learning at this school and it shows in our grades and TCAP test results for my son. He has been in the TAG program every year he has been at Halls and I have been very pleased with the teachers and the activities he has been involved with. Parent involvement---I have always been welcome in the classroom, with ideas, and been involved with both of my children in their classrooms. I have been very happy with Halls and fill as though it is an excellent stepping stone for my children's education. Thank you to the teacher's and staff--Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2007

My children have been going to Halls Elementary since Kingergarden..The staff are wonderful..Great community to raise your children...I couldn't ask for a better school. Mother of Two
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

We moved from another Knox county school in which direct parental involvement with each class was strongly encouraged. We were able to easily keep track of what our children were learning and of any difficulties they may be having. At the previous school, we were not only made feel like our presence was accepted, but also appreciated as well. The teachers there really seemed to pay attention to the needs of the individual child. Never once did I feel like my child's abilities and good behaviors were overlooked. Unfortunately, our experience with Halls Elementary has been the polar opposite, and we are deeply disappointed so far. The principal at Halls seems distant and unwilling to interact directly with parents,and my children's teachers seem to be completely unconcerned with the children as individuals. Since I am writing this review six weeks into the year, I have hopes that my opinions will change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

My daughter is in first grade now at HES and I would not have her go anywhere else. The teachers are wonderful. They really put in the effort to make sure no child is left behind. I think it is just awesome how the principal really enforces reading and makes it fun to learn. There is also extracurricular activities that all students get involved in. WOW... that is great. Thanks HES for all your hard work!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

As a former student of HES I can tell by personal experience that this school is wonderful for learning. They always try to keep the community involved with the school, and it gives that home-like feeling. My first few years of school were rough because of panic attacks, but the entire staff at the school helped me through my problems. When I'm old enough I would definately consider my children attending HES. Read, Read, Read, and Read some more!


Posted March 27, 2006

Both of my children go to Halls Elementary and love it. The teachers there are wonderful to work with each child individually and send examples of work home if they are stuggling in a certain area to let the parents know the child needs help. They make it fun for the kids to learn. They welcome parents to come to school to help in classrooms, eat lunch with their children, help in the library, etc.--as long as you check in the office first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

The teachers at HES are great! They certainly put in the overtime to make lessons engaging for the kids. My son had a great experience in 3rd grade. All the teachers were very consistent with with their expectations for the students, and my son learned a lot about being independent and responsible for his own learning. I only wish there was a better discipline plan for some students. The teachers I know do the best they can, but they don't seem to have much back-up from administration. Overall, though, it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

Two of my sons attended Halls Elementary. The teachers are willing to take time and meet with parents. The principal knows each 'kiddo' by name. There is a real sense of family at Halls. We moved a year ago and although we've found good schools in another state, we still miss HES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

great school my kids go there. their leader mrs maland is in love w/ reading they read all the time so much reading invold w/ homework ect.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 23%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7502 Andersonville Pk
Knoxville, TN 37938
Phone: (865) 922-7445

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT