Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Karns Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1216 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2012

My son had this same teacher in the fourth grade and we loved her. She was a lot of fun and she is a very good teacher. He learned a lot and did very well in the fith grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I have 3 children. All three attended this school and I have been pleased with every experience. I love this school. They have wonderful teachers who care about the students. The parents in this area are always so involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

Karns is great!! I have two children who attend Karns and I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. It has an administration that listens to parents and seems to really work at making it a great school. The teachers are dedicated and energetic. I have driven by many times after hours and seen many of them still there working!! Families....Wow! Parents are involved and interested in making the school great. Hope you will get the chance to experience Karns first hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

They build relationships between parent teacher, student and academics. They believe in building self esteem, promoting positive character traits and values. My grandaughter is the fith generation to attend this school, and although the staff and building has changed, the foundation still remains!


Posted September 18, 2009

My son is in the 3rd grade a t Karns and is in his 4th year there. We have had nothing but exceptional teachers - Mrs. Knight, Mrs. Berrier, Mrs. Wiley, Mrs. Byrd. We are relocating with a job change out of state and saying goodbye to this school and it's students and staff will be one of the saddest things we do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

Having held a position of employment that has allowed me the opportunity to have first hand knowlege and rapport with several Knox County schools and their faculty, I feel I have a unique point of view as to how Karns Elementary stacks up against the others in our county. Sadly, I beleive Karns is average at best. Certainly, there are some stand-out staff at Karns but as a whole Karns lacks the spirit and pride I have witnessed from other schools in our county and I beleive that spirit and pride either originates or fails to originate with the staff. Kudos to Mr. Grimac. I don't have a child in his class but when you drive by the playground its obvious who loves his job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

Both of my children have attended Karns Elementary.The teachers there are awesome and always ready to go that extra mile if a student needs help.And the best thing is parents are always welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

My daughters have all attended Karns Elementary, and we haven't had a bad teachers. The PTA program is very strong, and the teachers appear to have everything they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

my granddaughters have lived with me for 6 years and they both love Karns Elementary. The teachers that we have been involved with really seem great.


Posted August 9, 2008

My son is excited that school is getting ready to start! I believe it has alot to do with the staff at Karns Elementary! He will be a first grader at Karns. He loved his kindergarten teacher (Ms. Houser) and is looking forward to getting to know his new 1st grade teacher. I always feel welcome when I come to school to eat lunch with him or to help with activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

After moving from the eroded public schools of Georgia, I was blessed to find a Teacher Assistant position with Karns Elementary School. Though I only was able to know Cathy Summa for a year she always stopped to see if I was being taken care of and being Mentored by the other staff. I have never met a more dedicated staff of teachers and the Assistant Principal Susan Herald is a wonderful mentor. I am hoping to complete my student teaching next year at Karns and stay within the KES family. You can feel warmth when you walk through the door. My first grader thrived with Mrs. Collins as his teacher and she challenged him on a daily basis to go above and beyond. Its a school that I imgained for my son and we have been very pleased with the experience.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2008

I love Karns. I have always felt very secure leaving my children there. I am saddened that Mrs. Summa is leaving, because she was a wonderful principal. My son was lucky enough to have her at two different schools. She was so involved with her students. I think any child who goes to Karns is a lucky child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

The teachers and staff have always been a great help. I feel welcome everytime I come to the school and my children have learned so much while attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

This is my daughter's first year in school. She is a kindergardener. I must say that Karns Elementary has demonstrated to my daughter that school can be a fun place to learn. The teachers are caring and compassionate, they have a great open line of communication and are always there to answer any question that I may have concerning my child and her education. I am proud to have moved to the Karns Elementary school district. Ms. Bailey, Mrs. Harness , Mrs Smith, Mrs. Knight and the rest of the kindergarten teachers you are the best. My daughter loves getting up and going to school everyday. I am a proud parent of Karns elementary and would recommend it to anyone relocating to Knoxville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

I love Karns! It is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2007

the school karns is a great school and my kids love their teachers, mrs jones,mrs mcneeley , mrs,smith
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

Loved this school! They do so many activities with the children and the teachers are top notch. I wish my children still went there. They are in school in TX now are very ahead of their class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

I went to Karns and now my kids go there also. I love it, So do they!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

My daughter just completed kindergarten and I think her experience was great! At 5 years old she is reading at second grade level. The availability of extracurricular activities was a plus. I have never known a school that both welcomed and encouraged parental involvement the way Karns does. She will be back to attend next year. My only complaint is diversity. It is not very diverse, and I want my child to not only be well rounded intellectually, but culturally as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I have two children that attend and love the school. One is in the 1st grade, gifted and has been bored since she started school. I have requested that someone challege her but have been ignored. I'm looking to move because of it and hope I can find a school that will take some notice. Office staff is great. I don't know who the principal is. Lots of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students60%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students78%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students90%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students90%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students65%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 67%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Black 6% 23%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8108 Beaver Ridge Rd
Knoxville, TN 37931
Phone: (865) 539-7767

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT