Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Karns High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2013

As a former student and parent of students. I feel Karns has went down hill at a rapid rate. Located in an ideal area for commuting one would think that the community would thrive however that is not the case. Karns has never had a tight knit community feel due to socio economic status but with the horrible zoning and the addition of two new schools. The soul of the community is nonexistent. A few of the above average students will keep the test scores higher but all in all Karns should be a 5. I do believe if politics were removed from the school it could thrive. Go Beavers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2011

I would highly recommend all the Karns schools. Both of my children attended from K-12. Karns High School is the best kept secret in Knox County. KHS offered classes which were appropriate for my daughter who was an average student, an athlete and heavily involved in social/club activities as well as numerous AP and Honors classes for my son who graduated in the top ten of his class. My daughter has graduated from private college and my son is attending college now. THANK YOU TEACHERS!!! Even though the demographic of KHS changed during the rezoning, it is an excellent school. The teachers are AMAZING. I can only recall two teachers I was not happy with out of 8 years of high school and I can't count all the teachers who went above and beyond to help students (mine included) if they needed a little extra help, support or just a friendly ear. For example, the golf coach/teacher sets an example for his athletes and encourages and helps athletes learn from mistakes. I have seen many coaches yell at a student athlete rather than try to turn it into a learning experience. The new administration has been smart to solicit input from the community and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Because both of my children graduated from Karns High School and my oldest son teaches there now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

A few years ago I would have given Karns HS 5 stars. However, things have changed. Ever since Hardin Valley opened and Knox county changed the zoning , Karns is headed down hill. The biggest problem exsists due to the lack of discipline. The administrators are always threatening the problem students, but do not follow through. In the last 2 years, I have seen 3 teachers get 'shoved' by students. One of those teachers suffered brain damage. There are frequent fights among the students and many of these students treat the teachers and administrators with no respect. It's not unusual to see students swearing at their teachers.The administrators do not back their teachers. To make matters worse, the Karns administrators pressure the teachers to pass their failing students, just to bring up the graduation rate. Most important the school is not safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

I am a graduated of the 'Elite' Farragut High School and my children were zoned there until recently. I was not sure of what kind of experience my children would receive at Karns. Now that my oldest son is a Junior and my middle one is a Sophmore, I am very pleased with their experience. I was impressed by the dual credit classes they offer. Which means they can take a class that gets them both a high schhol and college credit. They have every AP class my son needs to take. He is a Duke TIP student and everything he needs is offered at Karns. The sports program need more support, and they seem to be improving on that. Any sport your child would want to be a part of seems to be offer there, including Rugby. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

I think the elementary was good, the junior high was ok, but the high school is terrible.Their are some teachers that care but cannot do much due to poor leadership. Never any help if a parent has a concern, way overcrowded and nobody cares, drive-thru education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

I attended Karns all 4 years of high school. I was involved in Sports, Leadership, HOSA, CDC Peer Tutoring and Newspaper. I LOVED Karns!! This school is very family oriented! You do however get the education that is expected from a public school but the teachers take their time and go out of their way to help you in what ever is needed. The only thing I didn t like was the overcrowding but the school system has taken over and is building a new school to help out! The faculty and staff is very school spirited, not to mention the parents and definitely the students! I recommend this school to everyone!GO BEAVERS!


Posted July 27, 2007

I was a Karns beaver from kindergarten to graduation! Karns needs to offer more challenging classes, and less 'joke' classes. Most teachers do not challenge their students. Like any high school, cliques unfortunately exsist. Most people are easy going. The football team is under-rated. We have got great players, but need more support and better leadership. Parent involvement is attempted by the staff, but it is rarely carried out by the student. Despite its problems, I would highly recommend Karns.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 3, 2007

All and all Karns is a good school it could be better but it is one of the top 3 Public Schools in Knox County but the people at Karns are either really nice or really mean there is no in between many of the students are snobbier and more stuck up than your average school but there also down to earth people there, the sports programs are either at or above average. I would recommend if you live in Knox County and want a good education for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

I am a junior, soon to be senior at karns high school. im am involved in SPIF, FBLA, and DECA. I also video tape the football games for karns every year. my opinion on Karns is that it's about average. There are definatly worse and better schools than Karns. All the rumors about fights everyday and people getting caught doin drugs everyday are just what they are, rumors. Unless the student puts himself into a bad situation, nothing really happens. Some teachers are good and then some arent. Ive found out that if u dont like the teacher u dont do very well in that class. But sometimes its the students that make the teacher bad. I think where Karns can improve is: enforcing dress code, more parent involvement, and maybe a little bit better quality teachers in certain areas. But all in all, Ive enjoyed my time here at Karns.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2004

I love Karns! The people there are wonderful!The teachers are incredibly helpful and kind! The school is always so clean and beautiful. And even though we dont win all of our sport games there are always tons of fans cheering them on the whole way! Thanx Karns, for such a wonderful experience!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 25, 2004

I think Karns is a joke. All the school is, is a popularity contest. I know most schools are but almost everyone there is mean and extremely rude so if you want your students getting hurt then send them to Karns. If not I recommend them to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

I used to go karns. they tauht me very good and i love the school because what i learnd there. the education is good and the sports program is hard beat. go beavers! anyone who says karns isnt a good school neds to look at the students to see why its so great. people there are nice and have lots of school spirit and cheer on the football team. any school that cheers so much for the team has got to be a good school. i suport karns and im shamed of the parents and kids who complain abot our fine instition. shame on you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2004

I was told there is a dress code at the Karns High School. How surprised I was when I visited several times during 2003 & saw naked belly buttons, jeans half-way down boys behinds,etc. When I inquired about this and the 'dress code' I was informed the teachers/administration ignore it and when there is a check day for the dress code the students already know in advance. I know that schools have more on their 'plate' than checking daily wear by students but please, if you have a dress code enforce it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

I have attended Karns now for 2 years. I am appalled at the lack of respect the teachers offer the students. I have even been taught the wrong things! It's obvious to me that some of the teachers are teaching the wrong things for the wrong reasons. But, there are a few amazing teachers who have helped me understand things the right way..the easy way. I would never recomend Karns to anyone who values respect,truth, or civility among teachers and students alike.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2003

My child went to this school for a good 2 years, and there were the best 2 of her high school career! Thank you Teachers, friends and Karns community! You are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
33%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
64%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
43%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students61%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students53%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students83%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students69%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students64%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students41%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White47%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 67%
Black 11% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 539-8679

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2710 Byington Solway Rd
Knoxville, TN 37931
Phone: (865) 539-8670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Paideia Academy
Knoxville, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT