Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mt Olive Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
My children are thriving here. I really appreciate feeling welcome at the school every time I walk through the door.

Mt Olive Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to Mrs. Miller for the amazing growth and love of learning I am seeing in Lyla. Thanks to Mrs. Pennell for helping Avery continue to succeed. Thanks to Mrs. Hodges for the great atmosphere and education Avery received last year. And thanks to Ms. Donna for all of your hard work. You all are GREAT!!!


Mt Olive Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I have a kindergartener and a 2nd grader. The amount of growth I have seen in the first few months of kindergarten has wowed me. My 2nd grader continues to excel. She is now reading above 3rd grade level (into 5th grade content). I am extremely pleased with our teachers at MOES!!!

Mt Olive Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in second grade. Her homework for the week is sent home on Monday and due on Friday. She can pick which two assignments she wants from the packet (at least 1 math) daily. It never takes her more than 20 min to complete. MOES is very active with the Accelerated Reader program. The amount of homework given allows her plenty of time for reading as well.

Mt Olive Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
The students educational and personal needs are met based on individuality. I see genuine care for each student from the teachers and staff at MOES.


Mt Olive Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I volunteer often at the school and have seen firsthand that ALL beliefs are honored and respected. The students mission statement is: I will be responsible for making good choices, learning all I can, and being a good citizen today. The school also teaches the children all aspects of character and integrity with their "Character Counts" awards.

Mt Olive Elementary School 1

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
I recently moved and had my children zoned to this school. I know people that went there as children and had heard nothing bad about it when they were enrolled. My problem is that I am an atheist and I bring my children up with a mindset of "Everyone has an opinion on religion and no one is wrong. Religion is just that, an opinion". But they both get ridiculed for it. It is mostly by students but I feel Mt. Olive nurtures this environment. I see the evidence in the songs the make them sing in music and they way they approach hard to answer questions. I am in the processes of putting a stop to this even though my children are being removed form the school upon my request.

Mt Olive Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
it is a great school everyone there really cares about the kids and are ready to help in any way.


Mt Olive Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2010
- a parent
Absolutely a wonder ful school! Don't let the 'great schools' score fool you. I have one child who has completed Mt. Olive and another one just getting started. This school is a hidden gem! The teachers love the kids, motivate them to learn, and enjoy getting to know them. By the 2nd grade, all of the teachers knew my child's name. Can't say enough good things about Mt. Olive!

Mt Olive Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
There staff are caring for the children even after they have moved on to middle, and high school. They encourage their children to excel in life.

Nearby schools

Mt Olive Elementary School
2507 Maryville Pike, Knoxville, TN  37920
(865) 579-2170
Last modified Mt Olive Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top