Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ritta Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2014

My daughter is starting second grade this year and has been in RITTA since kindergarten. We have nothing but positive feedback about this school. The teachers are enthusiastic and caring, the leadership is strong and the PTO is very active. We are looking forward to another school year:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

This is a good school, if you happen to get a teacher that is not burned out. A friend of mine had one at Ritta last year and I have one this year. Please, teachers if you are not enthusiastic about teaching anymore and are going to chose to be lazy, leave please. Do the parents a favor! Also, other schools in Knox County seem to have more fun activities for the classes than Ritta does. Some of us parents still don't understand this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

My daughter transferred to ritta this year. We love it. It is a great school with a great staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Seems as though only the good reviews make it on the survey, instead of everyone just being honest. This is not a good school and Knox County as a whole has a horrible school district. I'm relocating my child so that he can have a 'real' education. Whatever happened to 'No Child Left Behind' ? I guess the teachers were too busy being snooty. The teachers work together in groups to focus on the negative.This school in particular needs a total makeover. (Has a great principal though) Not sure what happened when it came to hiring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

I have two children who attend Ritta--a first-grader and third-grader. Both of my children have attended since Kindergarten, and I cannot say enough about the quality of their education to-date. Ritta provides a warm, caring, supportive environment for all of their students. The teachers are enthusiastic and engaged, and the support staff and volunteers are kind and attentive. From the outstanding organization and involvement of the PTO, to the phenomenal volunteer efforts related to extra-curricular activities, Ritta really is an ideal elementary school. I am consistently amazed at their ability to retain a small-town charm, while fostering an atmosphere geared toward tolerance, respect, and open-mindedness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

My son just completed Kindergarten at Ritta and will be entering first grade in the fall. So far, we have had a wonderful experience. I have worked at other schools, and I have never seen a more caring, more involved principal than Mrs. Dowell. It means a lot to me as a parent that she knows the children and even knows their names. I love how attractive and clean the school always is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

Ritta is a wonderful school with experienced teachers and staff. It has wonderful students who are supported by their parents and community. Mrs. Dowell is knowledgable and cares immensely about everyone's welfare.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 22, 2008

My child goes to Ritta and I've been very pleased with the school. The PTO is very active and work hard to raise much-needed funds for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

I have taught at Ritta for 3 years, and I think it's a great place to work and learn. We strive to give all our children the best education and equal attention for all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2004

My child started this fall in Kindergarten and really seems to enjoy it. He says it is 'great.' The teacher really seems to enjoy the children also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Both my children attend Ritta and I could not ask for a better School. It is a loving and nurturing place for our children to learn and develop in to the future leaders of our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2003

I grew up at Ritta and in the Ritta community. It does my heart good to see familiar faces in this fine institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students48%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students63%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students81%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students42%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students54%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students68%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 67%
Black 21% 23%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Christy Dowell
Fax number
  • (865) 689-0801

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6228 Washington Pk
Knoxville, TN 37918
Phone: (865) 689-1496

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT