Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bearden High School

Public | 9-12 | 1978 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

Our daughter, after transferring from another state, says she loves this school. Says the 'cliques' are minimal, drugs aren't in your face like her previous school, teen pregnancies are non-existant and the principal is outstanding. She's only had one extremely left-winged teacher who went on and on about gun control but that the students just ignored her rants. She loves all her other teachers who are supportive and helpful and don't push political agendas. The big downfalls are the football field-almost dangerous its so uneven. Also, a school this big ought to be awesome in football/basketball yet they didn't get far (in football). A+ in academics though Bearden High!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Bearden High School has a great reputation of strong leadership among the administration, faculty and student body. Strong academics, sports and parent involvement make Bearden a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

BHS is the a nationally ranked High School and is amazing. I love going to school there everyday. They have so many clubs and organizations that everyone has a chance to be involved. The Principal really cares about the students and has taken time out to talk to me about where I want to go to college and offering me feedback. He loves the students and their opinions. There are tons of amazing teachers and a lot of unique classes are offered. The only complaint I have is the pot holes around the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2012

Bearden has several challenging academic classes that many students enjoy taking. The teachers go beyond expectations when helping students in class or out of class with tutoring. The school has several student leadership groups that lead the student body to excel. The principal tries and succeeds at connecting to the students, acting as a friend and mentor to all. It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2012

The classes and teachers are great, but the administration is terrible. They have no idea what is going on and do not communicate with the parents. The principal will not respond to emails and will only give you generic responses. His email signature says "It's about the students". He didn't show one bit of interest or concern for my students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

We came frrom West Tn. Our attended one of the top rated high schools in the country, and hated it. He loves Bearden and so do we. Great students and teachers and the kids grade are now all a's and the odd b....Great work Bearden H.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

I went to Bearden. Wonderful teachers and fellow students-!


Posted April 7, 2010

I attend Bearden and can personaly say it is one of the most student friendly schools in the nation!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2010

I am not satisified with Bearden High School at all. My husband and I have tried to communicate with the Principal via Email never will he respond to our emails reguarding my husbands children. Bearden High Schools allow children to miss almost 40 days in 3/4 of a school year and do nothing about it. Teachers tell the children if they pass the 'Gateway' exam that they will pass them the entire year. Even though they have a 30 something average in Algebra and the child does not know how many days are in a year or months in a year. Yes that does back to the elementary and middle schools. The high school allows children with 'records' and are failing in their ROTC class and they also allow children who are failing play sports. Something does not add up at that school, I would not recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

We came from a small town in Alabama. We were looking for a school with kids that looked and had the same values as our family. We looked at Farragut and West, but Bearden was just what we were looking for. My 10th grader loves it, and has fit in well socially and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

I have 4 kids - one has graduated from Bearden and the other three are currently attending Bearden. We have 1 with a Learning Disabiblity. The staff are wonderful to work with and truly want each child to succeed. There are multiple opportunities for parents to get involved. There is a good balance between sports and academics. I feel our oldest child was totally prepared for college classwork. The school has many AP and honors classes and offers 6-7 languages as well as many vocational classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

I was a student at BHS for four very long years. The teachers try too hard to be chummy with students, the athletic department is very poorly managed, and some of the rules and regulations are ludacris. I had several teachers that were really good at what they did. However, they were also run off by the ridiculous policies. I hate this school, and will do everything in my power to let the public know exactly how bad it is. --Class of 2005
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

This is one of the best high schools in the country, dedicated staff, a really cool new principal, and the greatest arts dept in the world. My children have become so involved in the school that they want to be there when the school doors open(and that is really early) and leave when the school doors are locked. This shows that the committment of the faculty and staff and the respect of the culture of education is number one at Bearden and the children will forever appreciate this learning experience! 'Go Bulldogs'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

It's a very good school and everything is amazing; the teachers, classes, sports. Hey I should know; I go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2007

I am a 2003 graduate of Bearden. The curriculum of the school helped me move on to an incredible future at a prestigious University and I still believe I learned a host of things about life and education from my time there. I met people at college who had gone to very expensive private schools, and many felt I was better prepared than they were. The motivated staff was there for me in every facet of my life. Outstanding choral program and drama. One of the few public schools I know of that treat the arts with as much respect as core programs. I would not have traded my time there for any other school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 6, 2007

BHS is an outstanding school with a school spirited student body. And my Sophomore daughter would not leave Bearden for a million dollars. The Administrators are tuely devoted to the students success in and out of the classroom. Each Principal has their own style of discipline but they all have a common goal of providing incentives for students to go by the rules that are in place. The new addition to Guidance, Mrs. Lori Boudreaux-Renfro, is very approachable and professional-truely dedicated to assist all students. The speech program is wonderful but older students should have an opportunity to study the course. This would help the student who is entering college soon as well as give them a chance to earn an elective credit that will provide a useful skill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

I am an English 10 CP and Speech/Public Speaking teacher at Bearden High School. Currently I am completing my third year at BHS and my sixth year overall. I am most impressed with the caliber of students I have had in my classroom. Clearly they have been well taught in previous grades but it also speaks to the Family support each child has. The parents I have communicated with, whether for good or poor student behavior or grades, have always met me with support and willingness to teamwork. My Speech program is solid and has proven to be of value to students as they continue through school. Bearden boast various teachers who have entered the profession after serving in the military, science, or even law! The Navy ROTC program is led by two highly motivated retired Marines and they provide structure and enrichment through physical and intellectual means. Great Schhol!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 30, 2006

We are satisfied with the education our child is recieving at this school. However, we are very disappointed with the management of the athletic department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

English department is exceptional. Curriculum adequately prepares students for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2006

BHS is the school for everyone. I have 1 child who attends and he's doing excellent. I love the teachers, principals, and the faculty period. The education department is great to. He helps my son out alot, with him having a transfer from east Knoxville. He has correct tutors, and role models, edgeing him to stay on task and do the right thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
61%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
62%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

543 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

493 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students85%
African American64%
Asian91%
Hispanic63%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students72%
African American38%
Asian89%
Hispanic70%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students84%
African American58%
Asian94%
Hispanic63%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learners10%

English I

All Students85%
African American49%
Asian82%
Hispanic75%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students85%
African American55%
Asian91%
Hispanic73%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students63%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
White70%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 67%
Black 9% 24%
Asian 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 539-7805

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8352 Kingston Pk
Knoxville, TN 37919
Phone: (865) 539-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakmont School
Knoxville, TN



Haslam Academy
Knoxville, TN



West End Academy
Knoxville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT