Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bearden Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

I heard a lot about BMS. This is the first year for my son and I was really worry about this is school since a heard a lot of bad reviews about BMS , but I was really surprise not only for how much my son love this school , but also how much help full all the staff and teachers was. So I have no complains about BMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

My son is in all honors classes and also an ADHD student. Although there are times he has problems not completing his work on time, his education has not been an issue and his teachers have been very vigilant and helpful. He has had little or no issues with being bullied and he is a prime candidate being small in stature and has a tendency to tattle on his classmates. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

As a teacher at this school I can say the administrators do what is best for students not what is for their next promotion to impress their supervisor. Teachers are dedicated to their students as well as what will provide rigor to the curriculum. Please visit our school and ask opinions of those who currently attend. We scored a 5 (the best) in growth on TCAPS and continually rock the house especially in physical science, science, and algebra on honors exams. Give BMS a strong consideration. Do your research and not base your choice on one person's opinion from 3 years ago. We are an AVID and soon to be IB Middle School. In addition, we offer diversity that are real world skills that will be experienced in college and work force. I love where I work, the staff, and especially my students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 31, 2013

While going to this school, I found it quite good. All of the teachers were supportive, and the students that I associated with were very nice and relatively smart. After looking at the other comments, I can only disagree with what some people are saying.


Posted November 24, 2013

My child is currently attending Bearden and is in the second year here. I am working with the teachers and principal to give them feedback on what we see as working with our family. We also let them know personally when we see or recognize any problems and so far, I feel that I am getting the help that we need, by specifically asking for help and following up. The principal for the whole school contacts me by email and is accessible by phone if I persist. She and her staff seem to be working hard and I see her daily as the children arrive and depart from the school. She has a big job, but if we parents help, our children will continue to be blessed with a school in our community that prepares them for the rest of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

I am rating this school unsatisfactory because it deals with high level administration as well as teachers. If the issue only dealt with some teachers, I would give the school a higher rating. All teachers are not bad. There are just a few bad apples. If your child or student was placed in a closet or surrounded by a curtain in a n-team time out by Teacher Ms. Robin Morton please contact me@ chris 112 @ rocket mail . com
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

BMS has problems. My daughter was bullied there regularly and no one seemed to care. I spoke with the Vice Principal after my daughter was teased because she is half Mexican. She seemed uninterested. One child tormented my daughter in PE she followed her around calling her a lesbian and told other kids she has AIDS (which she does not). No one cared. My daughter is in gifted classes and has always gotten good grades. After one grading period here she dropped to a B average and hated going to school. Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

It is an "ok" school. My daughter does not like it though. She tells me something bad everyday that has happend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

I will not rate this school considering there is too much violence going on there. There's no day that there isn't a fight. I feel there is no order. The buses drop off and pick up children in inappropiate places such as stores. children being bullied on the bus and at school. Neither one wants to take on their responsibility for what is going on. When I say schoo I am talking about teachers and pricipals. Instead put the blame on the parents. Some parents want to be involved in everything that is going on. It seems they're not working together. Teachers, not all, talk to the students as if they're felons. I feel that some need training on how to handle children of all ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

After sending our daughter to a private school for 6th grade, we switched to BMS for 7th and 8th grades. She has had several excellent teachers and a couple of mediocre ones at both schools. Despite Bearden's size, which was one of our initial concerns, we have found the administration and teachers to be very attentive and approachable. My daughter is not just a number and has developed strong, supportive relationships with several teachers and with other students. The new principal is excellent, and makes an amazing effort to communicate with parents and students. Yes, the hallways are crowded: yes, there are some rowdy, rude kids--but that's typical of the real world, and the sooner kids adjust to a variety of different personalities and situations, the stronger and more adaptable they become. Thanks Bearden! Keep up the good work...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I have had children at this school for four years. Like many other parents we had heard 'Stories' We too were nervous about sending our GIRLS to Bearden. However,within a matter of weeks we were so pleased at how well our daughter had adjusted to her new school. The teachers for the most part have been exceptional. There will always be one or two you don't click with. That's reallity. Our kids have been involved in numerous activities throught the three years at Bearden. Being involved is the key. Both parents and children. Know what is going on and stay involved. We considered private school but four years later we are so glad we decided to send them to Bearden. I would highly recommend this school to anyone in the district. It's wonderful. Keep up the good work teachers. It's noticed and appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

This school has both good and not so good qualities. Much of the staff are great educators, communicators, and willing to go the mile in order to facilitate learning. However, there are a few staff members who demonstrate partiality to some students and almost even a disregard for others. Because of this, I advise any parent, who's child is not a straight A student and is unable to wear top-notch name-brand clothing every day, to make sure your child does not fall through the cracks of this prideful middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

This is my first year at Bearden. It is so amazing. When I first got there it was confusing. They took me step by step and I am now a proud member at Bearden Middle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2007

So far so good. I had concerns at first due to some of the previous information. I have not heard of any bad experiences and my child is a new 6th grader. She loves her new school and is a lot of AP classes and is doing well. I was a little concerned about the bathroom issue but I guess the school has to do what is needed to keep the bathrooms in good shape. Overall I am happy with BMS as a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

So far I am not happy with Bearden middle school.I dont like the fact that the bathrooms stay looked or the fact that i can bring my children to school 45 min early and they are not allowed to go the locker or eat breakfast till 8:15-8:25.They only have 10 minutes to eat and go to their locker when they are there 45 min early.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

With a current 8th grader and and upcoming 6th grader I am nothing but please with all my experiences at Bearden Middle. If you look to find fault you always will. Every school in the country has it's good and bad points. I think we should be thankful that our children have a good, safe school to attend in the West Hills Community. My son loves his school and has never had one problem there in 3 years. My daughter is looking forward to all the new experiences she will encounter next school year. Thanks to all Bearden Middle Staff and Faculty...we have a great school! The academics are excellent, the sports and those involved with them are wonderful, and the parent involvement compares to most schools. I think encouraging our children to get involved drastically help kids adjust and fit into school life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

I have been very happy with the education that my children have received at BMS. They are well prepared for high school honors and AP courses. They also were on various sports teams. The school did NOT pay for the extra 'supplies' needed for team sports. We as parents footed those bills. I find the staff in the front office to be friendly most of the time. Everyone has their moments though, right? If the staff and teachers seem stressed, it could be due to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

The teachers spend so much time disciplining the troublemakers, there's little time left for teaching. Fights and bullying are daily occurrences. Although there are some excellent teachers, the overall environment is not conducive to learning. I moved my son to a private school after a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

I don't know what the person who wrote in June 2005 is talking about. The parents have to pay for the uniforms, sport bags, accesories to the sport, and things like that. At the end of the day the principal does not tell you to get out of the school imediatly. She simply tells you to go where you need to go: if you ride a bus, go down to the commons, if your a car rider go to the parking lot. Even if you are one of those people you can still hang out in your classrooms and the computer lab, library, or really any room. The academic programs are very nice. There are many extracurricluar activities, and the parent involvment is ok. I would rate this school as very nice. Every school has its ups and downs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2006

BMS is a good school with plenty of activities for all interests. The TSA and Science Olympiad programs are open to everyone and have placed first in state and regional competitions. There is a large student body but the teachers are caring and the administration tries hard. I would recommend this school. Parents need to become more involved in all areas; the school tries to get them to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students61%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners21%

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learners63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learners15%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learners15%

Social Studies

All Students82%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learners31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
White51%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students53%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students62%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students82%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
97%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 67%
Black 23% 23%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 539-7851

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Francis Rd
Knoxville, TN 37909
Phone: (865) 539-7839

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Haslam Academy
Knoxville, TN


West End Academy
Knoxville, TN


Oakmont School
Knoxville, TN



Riverbend School
Knoxville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT