Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 1100 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2010

As the parent of 2 CHS students I have been impressed with the hard work of the new administration. They certainly have worked hard to improve the quality of the education our students receive. Most of the teachers care about the students and do a good job. Central has it's share of issues just like any school but I am happy to see that these issues are being addressed and changes made as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

As a current student at CHS I do have a few things to say. The new office administration really has no idea how to handle a high school. Ms. Jackson talks and acts as if she was pulled straight out of a Jay Z music video. There are many great teachers at Central but the amount of bad ones is almost the same. And as much as I hate to say it, race also plays a big role in the Central community. Depending on the teacher whether you're african american or not can completely depend on the way that teacher treats you. They will either be scared to discipline the child or will write them up and send them outside at the snap of a finger. Even if a student of a different race is doing the exact same thing. Central can be a very unfair school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2009

At Central High School, you will find a wide variety of students. Students coming from all walks of life. Just like the students will find once they graduate from high school. The classes have teachers who care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I graduated from Central two years ago and found it to be a perfectly acceptable school. I do think the guidence department and a few teachers are extremely subparr but other than that, I plan on making sure my children are educated at Central.


Posted January 27, 2009

Chorus Dept is absolutely wonderful! Other than that we are looking for another school for our younger child when she attends high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I am a teacher at CHS. I am an experienced teacher who has taught at many schools. Central High School is an excellent school. The teachers sincerely care about their students. We want all of our students to succeed. Many of us spend our own money to further our education even when we already have Master's degrees and higher. Despite the bad publicity our school has faced due to the recent tragedy at our school, we still love our school and our students. Our job does not end at 3:30. We plan for our students at home, in our cars, while we are trying to rest, and sometimes even at church.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2008

My son and daughter graduated from central and I think it is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

As a parent with two daughters at Central I can say that we have been very satisfied with the school overall. Communicating with the teachers has been a problem at times. They don't seem to understand that there are parents that want, and demand, to know about their child's performance before it gets out of hand. The 'clicks' don't seem to be bad and very few fights. Not too small and not too large. Good cross section of Knoxville here. Again, it's what the student and parents make of it. All schools have their problems. Some may just have more funds to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I graduated from Central in 2005, and as a student, I think Central was a great school. I was satisfied with teachers, grades, and extra curricular activities, but as with any school you have to work hard to do well, and many students just don't seem to care or try.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2006

We have just completed our first year at Central High School. Overall as a parent, I have been very satisfied. Very satisfied with teachers. Guidance is nice, but you must go to them, they do not make any effort in being proactive with the students. The school itself is in very good condition. We have been very satisfied with grades and test results. There does not seem to be the student 'clicks' like so many schools. Overall, I would highly recommend Central High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

I attended central high and graduated in 1998.. it was a great school and I am very proud to say I was and always will be a bobcat..I do currently have family there and am so proud that they also are bobcats
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

I think this school is very low in safety, teachers seem as if they don't care, there are too many fights. The restroom rule is unfair, especially for young women for personal reasons. If Central is so worried about smoking and fights in the rest room, they should have monitors. As a student, I speak for most who feel this way. There should be something done to make this school a better place.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
29%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
39%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
41%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students52%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students47%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
White53%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students62%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learners8%

English I

All Students72%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students61%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students39%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
White47%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 67%
Black 19% 24%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Asian 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 689-1403

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5321 Jacksboro Pk
Knoxville, TN 37918
Phone: (865) 689-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Fulton High School
Knoxville, TN


Halls High School
Knoxville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT