Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holston Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 893 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2011

I love this school! I am sad to be leaving it, but I am prepared, thanks to my wonderful teachers! The thing i like most about the Holston staff is that they're not afraid to laugh along with us! They have a sense of humor (at least, most of them do)! The counselors also have aided me greatly in planning for my future. They look after me, and they protect me (I have first-hand experience). I couldn't feel safer at another Middle School! :)


Posted January 31, 2011

We have had a great first semester at Holston. The honor's classes are challenging, and the teachers do a wonderful job of staying in touch with parents. The kids seem to all combine well from the various elementary schools. My son loves his school - and that is saying something in middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

This school is the absolute worst in Knox county, and the county schools are not that good to begin with. My child went to this school for 3 weeks. the first week he was there he was beaten up by two 8th graders. The principle did hardly anything about it. the second week he was pushed down and sprung his wrist, the third and final week, he was stabbed in the ear and then followed into the hallway slammed up against the locker and knocked unconscious for a second or two. The school principle only gave the other student 2 days suspension. This school seriously lacks discipline. They treat bullying as if it is 'No big deal'. Just tell your kid they need to fight back and they will leave him alone. This school is the worst. Do everything you can do to not send your kid to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

We have had the experience of our child's grades dropping from A's and B's to D's and F's. Unfortunately not a single teacher notified us of this problem even to this state. I realize that it is my responsibility as well as my child's to get the the work that my child, but I tried numerous time to get online to see what my my child is missing. We have also had a major problem with bulling at Holston, but as usual my principal didn' t make a big deal out of this problem. My child was disciplined, not steed for the child who was causing the drama. If I could go back to the summer of 07' my child wouldn't be in Holston Middle School. Related to lack of discipline, lack or communication between teachers and parents. I would've done anything to keep my child out of Holston.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2009

My first impression of this school was walking into the front office and the secretary was sitting in the office having a party with what looked like a bunch of cheerleaders. She looked like she just walked off the street - very unprofessional. I stood at the counter to sign my child in and a student did it instead of staff. I am not sure why students are being allowed to handle attendance issues. I have had to deal with the Principal on a couple of bullying issues and he is less than helpful. He speaks in a condescending manner. He kept telling me what a successful school Holston is, but yet when I look at the published test scores, it is less than stellar. Time to pull his head out of the sand. If I had a choice, my child would not be attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2009

Holston is a good school from my point of view, but it's not perfect. The teachers arte respectful and care about us while they can be strict and mean. I love Holston!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

I feel that Holsten is doing, a better job teaching. My Grand Child is staying on the Honor Roll. I also think Holston Middle should address, a Teasing, and Bullying Zero Tolerance. It is hard enough for a child to study and have to confront children that taunt, them everyday. Thank-You From A Proud Mamaw


Posted March 19, 2008

This has been one of the best schools i have been to. Holston middle school makes me want to excell in life. I have learned a lot this year. The principals are just trying to do their job. No there is not as much extracurricular activites or not as much parent involvement. But it 's not like at all the other middle schools they are so good in those areas.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2007

Last year in 6th grade my son had great teachers and loved school. This year as a 7th grader he hates school. He cries about it. His teachers have not been helpful thus far. A big difference from last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

I can't say I am overly impressed with the school overall. The teachers don't seem to be particularly motivated. The lack of extra curricular activity is sad to say the least. The lack of discipline is hard to comprehend. The principal's lack of communication, even when you approach him directly is absolutely unforgiveable and disturbing to say the least. A good school needs good leadership. The school has a website which I don't believe had been updated or developed since the day it was created! My daughter is about to start 8th Grade here and I just hope to God that they do their job this year and prepare her for High School! Pull your socks up Holston!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

I think the school is very blended and this may make it rough since some of the kids are shipped from other areas where the community is not so diverse. It is a fairly good school but the parent involvement is probably low due to low teacher communication with parents. True at these ages the kids need to be responsible, but the parents should be involved at some point by the teachers good or bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
17%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students45%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students66%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students82%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students23%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students47%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students72%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students85%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
97%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Black 21% 23%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 594-4429

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Chilhowee Dr
Knoxville, TN 37924
Phone: (865) 594-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT