Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holston Middle School 2

Posted January 18, 2016
- a community member
Teachers do not communicate with parents. Technology is disconnected and used inefficiently. Assignments are not clear. Meetings with teachers are non-productive. The staff leads the students to believe it's ok to settle for fair grades instead of work for great grades. Disappointing!

Holston Middle School 4

Posted May 13, 2011
- a community member
I love this school! I am sad to be leaving it, but I am prepared, thanks to my wonderful teachers! The thing i like most about the Holston staff is that they're not afraid to laugh along with us! They have a sense of humor (at least, most of them do)! The counselors also have aided me greatly in planning for my future. They look after me, and they protect me (I have first-hand experience). I couldn't feel safer at another Middle School! :)


Holston Middle School 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
We have had a great first semester at Holston. The honor's classes are challenging, and the teachers do a wonderful job of staying in touch with parents. The kids seem to all combine well from the various elementary schools. My son loves his school - and that is saying something in middle school!

Holston Middle School
no rating

Posted April 03, 2010
- a parent
This school is the absolute worst in Knox county, and the county schools are not that good to begin with. My child went to this school for 3 weeks. the first week he was there he was beaten up by two 8th graders. The principle did hardly anything about it. the second week he was pushed down and sprung his wrist, the third and final week, he was stabbed in the ear and then followed into the hallway slammed up against the locker and knocked unconscious for a second or two. The school principle only gave the other student 2 days suspension. This school seriously lacks discipline. They treat bullying as if it is 'No big deal'. Just tell your kid they need to fight back and they will leave him alone. This school is the worst. Do everything you can do to not send your kid to this school

Holston Middle School 2

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
We have had the experience of our child's grades dropping from A's and B's to D's and F's. Unfortunately not a single teacher notified us of this problem even to this state. I realize that it is my responsibility as well as my child's to get the the work that my child, but I tried numerous time to get online to see what my my child is missing. We have also had a major problem with bulling at Holston, but as usual my principal didn' t make a big deal out of this problem. My child was disciplined, not steed for the child who was causing the drama. If I could go back to the summer of 07' my child wouldn't be in Holston Middle School. Related to lack of discipline, lack or communication between teachers and parents. I would've done anything to keep my child out of Holston.


Holston Middle School 2

Posted December 26, 2009
- a parent
My first impression of this school was walking into the front office and the secretary was sitting in the office having a party with what looked like a bunch of cheerleaders. She looked like she just walked off the street - very unprofessional. I stood at the counter to sign my child in and a student did it instead of staff. I am not sure why students are being allowed to handle attendance issues. I have had to deal with the Principal on a couple of bullying issues and he is less than helpful. He speaks in a condescending manner. He kept telling me what a successful school Holston is, but yet when I look at the published test scores, it is less than stellar. Time to pull his head out of the sand. If I had a choice, my child would not be attending this school.

Holston Middle School 4

Posted November 26, 2009
- a student
Holston is a good school from my point of view, but it's not perfect. The teachers arte respectful and care about us while they can be strict and mean. I love Holston!! :)

Holston Middle School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a community member
I feel that Holsten is doing, a better job teaching. My Grand Child is staying on the Honor Roll. I also think Holston Middle should address, a Teasing, and Bullying Zero Tolerance. It is hard enough for a child to study and have to confront children that taunt, them everyday. Thank-You From A Proud Mamaw


Holston Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2008
- a student
This has been one of the best schools i have been to. Holston middle school makes me want to excell in life. I have learned a lot this year. The principals are just trying to do their job. No there is not as much extracurricular activites or not as much parent involvement. But it 's not like at all the other middle schools they are so good in those areas.

Holston Middle School 3

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
Last year in 6th grade my son had great teachers and loved school. This year as a 7th grader he hates school. He cries about it. His teachers have not been helpful thus far. A big difference from last year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holston Middle School
600 North Chilhowee Drive, Knoxville, TN  37924
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (865) 594-1300
Last modified Holston Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top