Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 727 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

I have had 2 children in this school now and am very disappointed with it. After a change of some teachers and administrators, I had hopes for improvement, but this has not been the case. Teachers refuse to contact parents when there are issues in the class with the child being off task. My son repeatedly tells me other children are distracting him and that the teachers don't explain the work well. I'm over this school and praying that my transfer request comes through this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

I am a Mother of 2 girls that went to this school and as a parent I was nervous at first but all the teachers were wonderful with everything I asked or my daughters if they needed help they were always there If your child wants to learn this is a great school for them they had fun learning and the rewards for having good grades was a very nice touch I just want to say thank you and sad they are in high school now again thank you for everything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

I think this school is amazing I am a student here. At first I was scared to go here , but when I got there it is like any normal school. I also learned a lot here and had no problem doing it. It is your child's choice to learn or not to learn. I chose learn and I was very successful.I know Northwest has a bad reputation, but that was the past and we are quickly recovering. We have new principles and new staff all we have to do is get parents involved and you need to encourage your child to listen! In honors this year I was challenged to think like I never had before and I learned a lot from the lessons and you can to!


Posted January 24, 2011

Not pleased at all. My son is in the 6th grade at Northwest and in Honors level classes. He has ADD and we have discussed this, at length, with his teachers. We have asked for their cooperation in managing his grades and asked that they keep us informed of his progress. Despite our requests, our son's grades in 2 classes have dropped to an "F" and there has been no contact from the teachers of these classes. (In one class, he dropped from an A and a B in the other.) The teachers stress that they will upload the students' grades on their website so that parents can monitor their grades, but many teachers go 2 or more weeks between updates. This can make it very difficult to make corrective action in time to help the child succeed. I had hoped to avoid this school because of what I'd heard, but we weren't fortunate enough. It's sad, but the school just doesn't seem to have the teachers dedicated to help improve the image (and performance) of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I have a son who is currently in the 7th grade at Northwest, and another who will be entering the school in the Fall. I am very pleased with what my son has achieved since being at Northwest. It is an awesome school, with a great administrative staff. I am involved at the school in many capacities, and am very pleased with the progress that Northwest is making. They are only getting better every year. It saddens me that a bad repuatation from 5-10 years ago can stay with a school forever. This is a community school, that are loosing so many students in the community to other , what they think are better Middle Schools. I also work for Knox County Schools, and I am very concerned about where my children get their education. We are very happy with Northwest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

I am a senior in high school now, and quite frankly when I went to northwest, it was a little unsafe. However, I would never ever in a million years change the school i went too, northwest gave me some of the greatest moments i have ever had in my entire life, the teachers I had were absolutly wonderful and they sent me on the right track to high school where I am now, they dont sugar-coat things and that teaches so many real world lessons, I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2007

I went to Northwest Middle School 2 years ago and the school is a great school to send your child to because the teachers have great teaching methods.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2007

Northwest is a wonderful place to send your child and the value added scores that the school just received indicate that children are learning. All students are not going to learn the same amount at the same time. i am pleased that the scores show that learning is going up in the school for all children in all subjects. I am glad that my son and daughter attend Norhwest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

Since my child has been at Northwest, she has had a wonderful experience. She is excelling in class and feels confident as she gets ready for high school. Truancy falls on the parent, not the school. Keep up the tremendous turnaround. Northwest has change so positively in academics and discipline since the administrators took over the mess Mr. Ward let happen while he was there. The morale, attitude, and environment is so improved with both staff and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

Northwest is making such a positive impression on my son. He loves to go to school and is excelling in class. I am glad that I sent my son to Northwest instead of switching schools! Mr. McCollum and the staff at the school are alway willing to help and assist without hesitation. This is the best I have seen Northwest and That goes back 15 years!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

northwest has bad academic scores and a high truancy rate. I strongly dislike it!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2007

Northwest was my first choice in deciding where to teach. NMS students astound me daily with their inquisitive natures and desire for knowledge. I rarely assign formal homework, yet my students come to class with curriculum-related nuggets of information gleaned from newspapers, the internet, or life experience. My kids DO homework though I rarely assign it! Our TCAP scores show gains in most areas and surpass many area schools in some subjects. The 'failing' status assigned to us this year resulted from difficulties in attendance and a failure to make adequate yearly progress in one subgroup. Having interacted as a parent, a teacher, and a student with a number of Knox County schools, I find the faculty at NMS superior. My colleagues are devoted, caring, knowledgeable, and dynamic. Former students accurately report academic progress to me spontaneously. When a child reflects upon successes and failures and reports them honestly, That's success!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 3, 2007

I have not been pleased with the school for the last 2 years my child attended. Few teachers care whether your child is taught anything, is safe, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

This school is making a tremendous turnaround with academics and discipline. You can finally send your child to Northwest and be assure of a safe environment and opportunities to learn. The administrative team is easy to work with and go out of there way to let you come in the school and visit. I am glad I decided to send my child to Northwest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Don't be fooled by the label of 'Failing School' northwest has many great things going on and judge them by your childs education not NCLB. Mr. mcCollum and his staff have done a fantastic job of reinventing school academics and discipline. Significant change will take time. The fifteen years of multiple principals, discipline and academic chaos cannot be solved overnight. Knox county has finally gotten an administrative team over at Northwest that is making a difference. Leave them in place. Our kids now love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

Northwest is a great school to send your child for a good education. The administration, and teachers work hard to insure a quality education for all the students. My experiences with Northwest are all pleasant. Mr. McCollum is very accessible and has a firm but fair discipline code in place. The TAP and AVID programs are making a difference with our kids as evidenced by the rising test scores. Go into Northwest now and the difference in the school environment is awesome. Keep up the Great Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

hi i wanted to write to tell every one the truth about northwest middle i think the school is great. the teachers my son had on team 6 A is wonderful teachers. my son learn alot and as far as wanting to set up a meeting with one or talk with one they got back with me by the end of the day. my son didnot have any problems. he had a great year. his grades was exalent. as far as homework he had his share of it. sometimes alittle to much but he done without any trouble. and if he did need any help from the teachers they did help him until he understand it. if you did go and had to talk to any of the priciples they took time and listen and took care of the problems .everyone their is great people
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

This school has made a tremendous turnaround. The administration with Mr. McCollum in charge have the discipline under control. This school now allow our kids to learn and be safe. This school is now one of the better middle schools. Parents need to get involved and visit Northwest. They will be in for a very Big and pleasant surprise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

Northwest is doing great! For those parents worried about the rumors on Northwest, that is in the past. Mr. McCollum and the administrators, and teachers have created an atmosphere of suoervision, learning, and discipline. It is fun to take your kids to Northwest once again. The community needs to see to it that they keep this administrative team in place, keeping the teachers, and fixing the school's zone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

Northwest is a great school. Too much stuff from the past has effected the reputation of Northwest. That is too bad because The students that are going there will tell you that the discipline and learning there is great. Mr. McCollum has done a terrific job of turning that school around.Several several children in the neighborhood said they liked Northwest better then Gresham or Powell where they had gone before. I have been very pleased with the academics and discipline policy with the school. The parents just need to be more involved and help spread the word about the positive change at Northwest. the only parents That are upset at Northwest now are the ones going to pick up their child for being disciplined. That had not occurred in the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
20%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
14%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
27%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
8%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
White32%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners11%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students41%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners12%

Science

All Students54%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learners11%

Social Studies

All Students79%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
African American12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students36%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students53%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students72%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
White24%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students33%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
White37%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students58%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students73%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 67%
Black 32% 23%
Hispanic 10% 7%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • German

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kelvin McCollum
Fax number
  • (865) 594-1339

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • German

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5301 Pleasant Ridge Rd
Knoxville, TN 37912
Phone: (865) 594-1345

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



West End Academy
Knoxville, TN



Columbus Home School
Knoxville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT