Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pond Gap Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 336 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2013

My daughter just completed Kindergarten at Pond Gap. We had a great experience...great teacher...great staff....my daughther loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

In kindergarten, the teacher had a meltdown. There was no kid control. My son has had adjustment issues ever since. Never knows what is expected of him. I don't know what goes wrong. Communication with the parent is spotty at best. He knew he could pull off bad behavior there, so he did things he never did anywhere else. My son got labeled. Then we got labeled. Too many kids, too many 'policies' that don't always work for every child. We just went over to private school. My pocket book is crying, but my son's grades are up and his attitude towards learning is excellent now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

Great school, my daughtor has learned a lot. The teachers are great, the students want to learn. The staff keeps a safe clean school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

correction: not in his head. For example: Seven year olds should be learning to add by taking the largest number in their head and adding on the smallest. Like 16+4..start with 16 and add up 4 more. My son had no idea how to do this, and so I've been working with him this summer. Some can say oh how great! lovely! a parent teaching...I say then pay me for doing the teachers job! I already have two jobs plus raising my three kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

Used to be a great school, but has really gone down with recent principal. She's very harsh with parents and very unwelcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

What a staff! They are wonderful and want to help our children. New PTA program this year, they really need parental involvment which does lack at this tiny school. 325? Since the school is small it is hard to get the funding and parental support it really needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

My child attended this school for 4 years. It is one of the worst schools in TN. The teachers and the principal are awful. They do not work with parents at all. They disrespect students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

Good. Not poor and underfunded! Nice kids and friendly staff, spesh Mrs.Ray . I was a bit of a quiet kid but everyone let us fit in all right. Same for my lil sis in 1st grade. A stong reward system and overall excellent. I've been there so I should know!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 28, 2005

Very poor and under funded school. Then teachers are great it is the other students that are a concern to me. Very violent school and poor behaved students.. I feel sorry for the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

My son started attending Pond Gap when he was in the 3rd grade and now he is a sophmore in high school. My daughter is in 2nd grade at Pond Gap now. They both have had Ms. Howard and she is such a delightful and gifted teacher. I consider myself lucky to live in this school distict and that my children are exposed to such a variety of other cultures and ways of life. Pond Gap has a wonder and caring staff. The teachers are always friendly and helpful. How many other principals have you seen out in the afternoon making sure that the students get to their bus and cars safely? Mr. Frye or a member of the staff does it every day. I feel good knowing my child is a student at Pond Gap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

This is my sons first year at Pond Gap. I was kind of worried to relocating him to the Knoxville school system since we came from the Oak Ridge school system. But I have to say I'm really impress with his teacher and the Pond Gap staff. The staff is doing a great job. He really likes the school since he got into the Gifted and Talented Program and the Science Club. The school is an old building but is very clean. (inside and out) Great Job Pond Gap!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

This is a Title 1 school, I'm not sure what that means, but I know it's not a good thing. My daughter is in Kindergarten and 1 teacher quit before school started and Knox County didn't replace her, so there are 25-28 children in each class! This is not good and not fair to the students or the teachers. The teachers try but individual attention is difficult for them to give to so many kids. All 3 of the K teachers have Master's degree's, I found that to be very impressive, since I know they aren't getting paid very much and they chose to work at this school anyway. They do have a lot of extracurricular activities and I enjoy the involvement with the parents. I find many of their rules overzealous and annoying, such as the solitary table at lunch if a child slightly misbehaves.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
18%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
28%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
20%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
18%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students25%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students40%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students63%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White14%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students36%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students27%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White23%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students83%
African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students13%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
White5%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students36%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
White21%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students26%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White17%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students85%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 67%
Black 36% 24%
Hispanic 14% 6%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 909-9012

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Hollywood Dr
Knoxville, TN 37909
Phone: (865) 909-9040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Columbus Home School
Knoxville, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT