Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rocky Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2013

My son attended every year from K-5 at Rocky Hill. He was identified as a special needs child by his first grade teacher and given an IEP that followed him through Rocky Hill. The assistant Principal at the time we were there was an amazing woman who spoke to each teacher and parent with such kindness and grace. We were blessed and our son had surprising continued advances in his time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

We love Rocky Hill!!!! The principal Smith is wonderful! The teachers are great!!!! It is our third year here and we can not imagine to be in different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

My son is in 3rd grade at Rocky Hill. We absolutely love the school, the teachers and the principal, Mr. Smith! I cannot say enough about how wonderful I think the school is. Even the after-school program at the school is fabulous. We feel very blessed to be zoned for Rocky Hill Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

My daughter attended kindergarten at Rocky Hill this year, and i must say i was very much impressed with this school. My daughter is going into first grade on a third grade level. I am very very pleased
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

My child's experience at Rocky Hill hasn't been as great and successful as I thought it would be. Some of the teachers have really disappointed us as far as my daughter's education goes. Needless to say, I will be taking her out of that school and places her where I feel she can get a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

What a Wonderful Experience it has been for my son to attend Rocky Hill Elementary from K- 5th Grade. The teachers are fableous and so is the rest of the staff . I can not say enough good things about the school. We are extremely happy with our experience at Rocky Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

Our kids have had a fantastic experience at Rocky Hill! It is now recognized as the best elementary school in the county based on test scores, and it is a fantastic place with skilled teachers, caring staff and lovely families! It also boasts the county's best special ed services for kids with autism -- one of the teachers there wrote a book about inclusion. When you add into the mix West High School (rated best in the county by Newsweek), it is a great sequence of schools. We visited the Farragut schools when househunting but chose Rocky Hill because of the smaller size and are so glad we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Rocky Hill is absolutely amazing!!! Our son just finished kidergarten and it was the best experience that we could have possibly asked for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

Rocky Hill is an amazing school. Their music teacher goes above and beyond. They get the kids in an orderly fashion and treat them like best friends. Their fifth grade teachers astound me. They let the kids have the arts with music and art. They let them have the physical activity with P.E. They have Guidance. They have junior Achievement.[A program that teaches kids about business.] Their TAG [talented and gifted] is a joy to have.they have extra music programs, like Soul singers and Chorus. If the parents want to help. they get to help.If your the kind of parent who likes to help out, this is a perfect school for you. If you don't, you certainly don't have to. Rocky hill is amazingly wonderfully outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

The school K - 4th is great. However the fifth grade teachers are Very uptight and not pro-student it seems. They are stern, dicatative, and intolerant. Does the fifth grade teachers prep students for military school? I understand preparation for middle school but their rules were silly, especially when the teachers pet students were allowed dock other students behavior. I prefer to have the Teacher evaluate behavior. In addition except for a select few 'in' parents/students be prepared for defensive attitudes. Thank you K - 4th teachers. 5th grade - you need to relax a little! Sorry Rocky Hill - you need to counsel your fifth grade teachers to be more compassionate and student friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

Rocky Hill owns all. It is the best school possably in the whole entire state. The teachers are terrific. They know when to teach and mess around. They are all fun and nice to be around. I would reccommend Rocky Hill to any k-5 student in the U.S.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

Rocky Hill is an excellent school which is child centered for maximum learning. The faculty is tops in training , and very informed about current trends in education. The parent involvement is very high with a strong structure of representatives who participate in all facets of their child's education. The students are basically well behaved and self disciplined.We have an excellent art , music and P.E. program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 67%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Morrell Rd
Knoxville, TN 37919
Phone: (865) 539-7844

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakmont School
Knoxville, TN




The Village School
Louisville, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT