Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Haven Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 288 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2009

My child has attended WHE since Kindergarten she will be starting 4th grade this year. I have been very impressed with the staff and sense of community in this 'neighborhood' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

This school needs at least one extra curricular activity. They have a whole court that is so old that it is all rusted. It is in a very good location.They used to have scouts which they should bring back. They need to have influencial speakers,like career day That was so much fun. They need to convince knox county schools to at least let them go on one field trip.West haven has been standing for what 60-70 years. They need a younger principal who caninteract with the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2004

This school is as good as it gets. The staff are very friendly and child oriented. I was a student at this school and now my children are. There are still teachers that know and taught me. These teachers are unforgettable. I know that when my children are at school, they are safe and well taken care of. They are learning at an incredible rate. There is not another school like it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2004

West Haven has a pride about it that not all schools still have. Sure its great to attend a new school that has kitchens in the kindergarten classrooms, but there is a sense of a small community school still there in the halls of West Haven. Teachers there work hours on end to plan lessons and make sure all kids can learn to their optimum level. I have passed at 6:00 p.m. and teachers are still there working. Students are busy in every classroom working hard. Their motto is so true. Work hard expect success rings true still at West Haven.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

I agree! and not only does every teacher know your child by name, you get to know every child that attends by name. it is like one big family! my children have really enjoyed their time at west haven elementary and as the last one goes on to middle school in the fall, they will greatly miss the teachers and other staff that they had contact with each day. thank you west haven!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

This is a wonderful school! I would highly recommend West Haven Elementary school to everyone. When we first went to the school for a tour. Mrs. Greenley (the Principle) greeted us at the door. We just walked in (not a scheduled tour). She introduced herself and showed us around the school. We visted the school 2 other times before enrolling our daughter. She remember all of our first and last names. The children at West Haven are very well behaved. They show respect to the teachers. All of the teachers are wonderful! They really do know all of the childrens names! You see and feel the love for each child from the teachers. This is a very caring and loving school. We are so happy that we made the right choice. You can't go wrong with West Haven Elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

It is nice to walk into my child s school and every teacher knows my child its extra security to me and everyone there makes you comfortable it is how I remember school when I was young and that is what I wanted for my children and thanks to west haven elementary they will have it. They are big about safety and its small enough for them to control and as for the teachers they are very nice and every teacher there works togeather
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
11%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
22%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
19%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students53%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students65%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students71%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students46%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students27%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students60%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students55%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students85%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 67%
Black 26% 24%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 594-3743

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3620 Sisk Rd
Knoxville, TN 37921
Phone: (865) 594-4467

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT