Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
I have dealt with this school for bout 8years and they have always been great to me an my 3 children that has went and previously 2 still in enrolled.Shout out to Matthew Cannon in Ms.Hudson's class an Aliyah Tucker in Ms. Thomson's class.

West Hills Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
I feel like no kids should have homework now i do agree in practicing with my kids n helping understand things they may need help in


West Hills Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
I have never ran into any kinds of problems with this school my kids have always been treated fair here at this school

West Hills Elementary School 1

Posted November 16, 2014
- a community member
Very, very disappointed in this school. It has been said, a few years ago this school was phenomenal, now, its below average in the teaching, treatment and expectations. It IS true . . . If you're "the pick", the "perfect child", the "favorite" . . . You breeze through. But lord help you if your teacher doesn't like you, you fail to "fit in" to their expectations of what a child should do/be, and the teacher "fails" to keep you engaged. You are labeled, bullied and brow beaten on a daily basis. You are tormented by not only the teacher but other students, and that's ok. However, the child who is a bit different than others, more active and seemingly bored in the class is ridiculed. This is SAD for a public school! Shame on West Hills! Shame on the guilty teachers, shame on the school system for clearly failing the children, parents and society! VERY dis-pleased with this school, their teachers, principal and counselor.

West Hills Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
My child was a student here from kindergarten until a couple years ago, and he tells me that he had a mostly positive experience. The only part that disappointed me was his fourth grade year. He had a teacher who had transferred from fifth grade at the beginning of the year and was honestly too strict. Also, the teacher obviously had favorites, and my child and many others were given a less favorable experience because they were not her preferred students. Other than fourth grade, my child and I were completely happy with west hills.


West Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2010
- a parent
I have a gifted child, and they have gone out of their way to accomodate her. This is another school with haves and have nots. The have nots tend to have no parental involvement and they don't come to school ready to learn. The staff here is fabulous!

West Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
West Hills Elementary is a school where learning is done with love and understanding. The teachers, staff, parents and students are one big family. The school benefits from the diverse popoulation in many ways. The students are very accepting of indiduals who are different from them, whether it is a disablitly or background. As an former educator (stay at home mom currently), I love the special scehduling West Hills has for encore classes. We have two Art, Music and Gym teachers which allow for my children to have a more encore classes and the teachers to have daily planning time with their teams. West Hills Elementary's administrative staff has an open door policy with parents and a team approach in every thing they do for the school and children. I feel privaledged to be part of the West Hills Elementary family.

West Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
I really enjoy my daughter going to this school as well. She has excelled beyond belief. The staff is very educated and believe in our children. It takes more than a great mind to be a teacher and the staff at WHES have heart as well.


West Hills Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2006
- a parent
West Hills is more than our school, it's our extended family. I have never had a problem that hasn't been resolved quickly and with compassion. The TAG program is amazing and it's leaders enthusiasm is contagious!I wouldn't send my children anywhere else!

West Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2006
- a parent
Being a part of West Hills School is like being part of one great big family! The principal is so wise and compassionate. She does a beautiful job of matching student personalities with the teacher that is best for each child. As you walk through the halls, you can't help but catch the excitement of learning from each classroom! The teachers do a tremendous job of providing a quality education in a risk-free environment. It's great to belong to such a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Hills Elementary School
409 Vanosdale Road, Knoxville, TN  37909
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (865) 539-7850
Last modified West Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top