Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Lavergne, TN
Students enrolled: 2,081

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lavergne High School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
AMAZING high school. Best kept secret in the county. It's sad because this school gets put down when being compared to other parts of the county, but the teachers work so hard to help the students. My son loves it and wouldn't go anywhere else. The principal is rough and needs to respect the teachers more, but they carry on and that's why this school has become an amazing place to be. Do not be afraid to send your child here. It's the best and they will love it.

Lavergne High School 5

Posted December 30, 2013
- a parent
I can't say enough great things about Lavergne High School.The parent involvement is great and the teachers are amazing.


Lavergne High School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school! Great wonderful parent involvement, great staff and excellent teachers who are committed to my child's educational success.

Lavergne High School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a student
Lavergne High is a great school. I like the staff, the teachers and the principal.

Lavergne High School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
LHS is a great school. I love the dual enrollment program and the new Bible class they have started this semester. My child has grown so much and created wonderful relationships with students and staff.


Lavergne High School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
Lavergne High school is a wonderful school. My daughter has been attending since her freshmen year and she loves it.

Lavergne High School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a student
My school is GREAT. I love this school and they have a great staff and principal. Mr. Ash has done a lot of good improvements and i would recommend going to this school. Its a lot of fun and learning is fun and easy.

Lavergne High School 5

Posted December 26, 2011
- a student
I am a student at Lavergne High currently and I witnessed the change in administration as that seems to be a big topic here. It really wasn't that bad. It all has to do with how well your child or yourself deals with change. The new administration has done wonders for Lavergne high. The school has been refreshed with a new coat of paint and new decor as well as a new faculty. If you look at recent scores in testing of the school, you would see that they have improved rather dramatically. I have learned more in the last year than i have in the previous two. As for the new staff i give it at least an A minus. As for the new Principal and his administration.. they tried their best their first year. They had to try different things to see what would work best. This year they are more organized and everything seems to be running like clock work. I personally am in extra-curricular activities (band) and those also are getting better. Mr. Freytag and Mr. Crumley do an excellent job with the band. All of the coaches and club presidents also do an outstanding job at Lavergne. This school really gets worse critic than it deserves and that is coming from someone who is on the inside.


Lavergne High School 4

Posted September 25, 2011
- a student
Though it's not the best high school in terms of parental involvement, that alone should not determine the success or failure of a student (though there are strong correlations between high parental involvement and high grades achieved by a student). The teachers are phenomenal, and are some of the best I've ever had. The teachers in the LHS English Dept., in particular, demand a lot from their students, and helped me hone my critical thinking skills, which prepared me greatly as an undergrad. However, the Math department could definitely use some improvement as far as its faculty is concerned (some of the teachers give grades out as opposed to making the students earn their grades). Overall, great teachers, great extra-curriculars, and great learning environment (especially with the old principal gone now)

Lavergne High School 4

Posted March 22, 2011
- a community member
Some students and teachers have demonstrated such an incapacity to change that they are willing to condemn anything that is unfamiliar. The new administration has made both good and bad contributions, and as they are relatively new to the school, some leniency should be allowed as they edit and make changes. The messy orientation is no reason to slander the people. It was a very good idea that crumbled under an influx of unexpected people. The error won't be made again.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lavergne High School
250 Wolverine Trail, Lavergne, TN  37086
(615) 904-3870
Last modified Lavergne High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lavergne High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top